Nostalgia about England’s canals isn’t what it’s going to be – Guest Post by Ian Hutson…

A guest post from Ian Hutson, esconsed on his watery home on the canals of Great Britain… apart from hair raising aquaduct crossings.. there is also the prospect of increased interfernce with life on the water by ‘regulatory bodies’ also well known for having a hand in your pocket looking for cash. #recommended

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

There’s probably a few years in the old horse yet, but…

Living full-time on a boat on England’s canals will, sometime relatively soon, go the way of policemen who would tell you the time, the way of doorstep milk deliveries, of corner-shop grocers, of politicians with spine, integrity or statesmanship, of coal mines of our own, a car industry, the NHS, schools that produced young people who can perform basic arithmetic and correctly spell medium-length words, and even of popular music with lyrics and a tune. We have no idea why we got rid of all of those things, we loved them dearly, but they’re gone now forever. My option to live as I have just begun to do is being steadily eroded and a gentle, ever so politically-correct, £££-based, well-regulated, legal but morally questionable disappearance is being arranged and even advertised as being for my own benefit. The…

View original post 2,103 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

4 thoughts on “Nostalgia about England’s canals isn’t what it’s going to be – Guest Post by Ian Hutson…

  1. Many thanks for reblogging! It’s a slow process, but it’s akin to the “gentrification” of areas of towns and cities – the whole focus now is leisure leisure leisure, with more and more control. I’ll cling on to the bitter end – and leave scratch-marks as I get dragged away! 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Sally,
    Thanks for putting me onto this and I’m about to head off and read the extended version. The grass looks so green to this brown-grassed Australian. Would love to roll in it.
    I also wanted to touch base with you about the Great Get Together which is heading around the UK this weekend in honour of murdered MP, Jo Cox. The idea is that you host a get together for your neighbours and post your photos etc. I only heard about it late last night, so I’m holding a get together at Beyond the Flow instead and thought you might be interested and could also spread the word. Also, I’m not sure where you are based at the moment, and if in the UK, have you seen any of these celebrations? I need to recruit my spies to report on the action.
    Here’s the link to my post: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2017/06/18/great-get-together-goes-global-moreincommon/
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

