Publish The Book You’ve Already Written, Your Blog Posts

Annette Rochelle Aben reminding us that your blog content of short stories and poetry or even a series on health can be converted to Ebooks. I have shared my three short story collections on my blog before publishing. Just a note of warning as mentioned by The Story Reading Ape, you cannot sign up to Amazon KDP and have shared the content elsewhere.. Even though I am my own publisher and have no affiliation with Amazon other than a book seller, they still chase me from time to time. It is an excellent idea and it also gives you instant feedback. If your readers enjoy your work then others will too.. Head over to Annette to read her post and also the comments from those who have already done so.

Annette Rochelle Aben

Had an interesting email conversation the other day. A fellow blogger was asking how I felt about them using their blog posts as material for books they would publish. I was totally supportive!

Their biggest concern was that people had already seen it, so what would be the point of putting it into a book. A most thought provoking statement indeed,  but once again, I did not see that as an issue.

Let’s say that you, like me, have written poetry and that you, like me, have already used that poetry on your blog. Even if you have thousands of followers, I can guarantee you that not all of them have seen everything you have posted. I can also guarantee that everyone you know or are related to, cannot be counted among those who follow your blog, or who have read your posts. So, it’s not like millions of people…

View original post 574 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

12 thoughts on “Publish The Book You’ve Already Written, Your Blog Posts

  1. Annette’s post is a good one, so thank you for sharing it Sally.

    Besides sharing in ebook form, authors can, of course also produce a print copy of their work. (there is, I believe merit in doing both).

    Not long after having started out on my writing journey, I was contacted by Amazon regarding work which was enrolled in KDP Select, while also being available on my website. I removed the content from my blog which satisfied Amazon who did not remove my book from the KDP Select programme. Recently I have placed my books on Amazon (but not in the KDP Select programme) thereby avoiding any complications!

    Liked by 5 people

    • I agree Kevin and I certainly think that perhaps print is an option for certain types of books but the cost is of course more and we usually advice first time authors to publish with an Ebook first and then it can easily be converted to print should there be an interest in print. Also being digital it can easily be amended if needed.
      With an author like yourself who is already established with a fan base and a long publishing history it makes sense.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great Thought provoking post Annette and sally- as we always have so much content to work through from other people’s excellent blogs it would seem to make perfect sense to compile subjects together and enjoy then at leisure.

    Liked by 3 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

