Orange sponge cake and chocolate cheesecake

Two recipes that require testing.. volunteers please… Robbie Cheadle had a few hours to spare…. #recommended

Robbie's inspiration

We had no visitors this weekend. With everyone having been really sick this past week I decided that everyone needed to rest and take it easy. I am also determined that no new lurgies get introduced into my house until Michael is 100% better. So this weeks confectionary experiment was only for us and I decided to make a lovely golden orange sponge cake that I hadn’t made for a long time.

IMG_2335

Orange sponge cake

The cake came out perfectly, fluffy and light and I decorated it using sifted icing sugar and a cake stencil that my Sister-in-law gave me for my birthday.

Ingredients:

125 grams melted butter;

300 ml sugar;

4 eggs, separated;

5 ml orange zest;

375 ml self raising flour;

125 ml cornflour;

2 ml salt;

125 ml freshly squeezed orange juice.

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Prepare a spring bottom tin and line it with wax…

View original post 400 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

4 thoughts on “Orange sponge cake and chocolate cheesecake

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

