Michael Bond, creator of Paddington Bear, 1926-2017 #inmemoriam #MichaelBond #Paddingtonbear

Geoff Le Pard as do all of us with fond memories of Paddington Bear were saddened at the news of the passing of his creator Michael Bond.. Geoff has more than one reason to be grateful to that marmalade loving bear… so please head over and add your memories..

TanGental

I don’t struggle for posts, not usually and mostly I know from a way out what I’ll write about. But today my plans were thrown when the news came through that Michael Bond, creator of Paddington Bear had died. Regular readers will know of my love for that little Peruvian Ursus. But, at the risk of trying your patience, dear readers, I have to repeat this post as I have a lot for which  to thank Mr Bond and his clever creation. My life would have taken a  very different course, of that I am certain but for Paddington, and Mr Bond.

***

If I look back up the bannister of my life there have been very few splinters to discombobulate me during my smooth progress to the present day. And that is in large part because of a little Peruvian, marmalade guzzling, antique shop frequenting bear called Paddington. He is, after all…

View original post 1,009 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

13 thoughts on “Michael Bond, creator of Paddington Bear, 1926-2017 #inmemoriam #MichaelBond #Paddingtonbear

      • No need to be embarrassed Robbie..When I was in my early 20s my mother admitted that the one thing that she had always wanted as a child was a teddy bear.. my grandmother was a widow and money was tight. My mother also adored Gregory Peck so we invited her to Sunday Lunch and told her that the person she most wanted to meet in the world was coming.. When she arrived there was a 5 foot teddy bear sat at one of the chairs.. She kept that on the bedroom chair beside her for the next 20 years before passing it on to a young child. xxxx

        Liked by 2 people

      • My son went travelling back in 2014 and I joined him for a boys trip around NZ. He was coming from Peru and me from London and we had this vaguish plan to meet in Auckland airport. When i was whiling away the time at Heathrow to catch my first plane I passed the Harrods shop; sitting on the shelf was a mini Paddington. How could I not? So, as I waited at the gate, in NZ 23 hours later, I held out my little friend. Sam, as he appeared smiled and said, ‘I’d not have recognised you but for him!!’ He was our mascot throughout…

        Liked by 2 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

