Smorgasbord Guest Writer – The Bitter Truth about a Sweet Tooth by Julie Lawford

I am delighted to welcome author Julie Lawford to the blog to share some of her extensive archived of health posts. The first post is close to my heart… and shares Julie’s own experiences with sugar and some of the recent findings on this sweet and addictive invader.

For decades, losing weight has been all about cutting fat. ‘Official’ health guidelines directed us to ditch the full-fat milk in favour of semi- or better still, skimmed milk. Butter was demonised and we were told it was better for us to smear synthetic spreads across our bread. Low fat products filled the supermarket shelves and most of us were unaware that once the fat was excluded, in order to endow them with any taste, they had been packed full of… sugar. How is any of that better for us?

You’ll probably be aware that the official guidelines have recently undergone a seismic shift. Fats – especially good fats are IN, and sugar – despite the protestations of the food industry – is now OUT. Sugar has been rebranded the biggest dietary evil of our time.

Let me pin my colours to the mast here. I believe this to be absolutely true.

I’m not presenting myself as an expert on the matter. But I’ve been persuaded of the arguments and benefits by reading and learning from sources such as:

  • Pure, White and Deadly: How sugar is killing us and what we can do to stop it; by John Yudkin
  •  Sugar – The Bitter Truth; a lecture available here on YouTube, given by Robert Lustig
  • Fat Chance: The Hidden Truth About Sugar, Obesity and Disease; by Robert Lustig
  • Action On Sugar (website here) and Cardiologist Dr Aseem Malhotra (website here)

The arguments are, believe me, compelling. Sugar rewards you emotionally, but does nothing for your body, and it was undoubtedly a major factor in my weight gain – and that’s not even taking into account the whole diabetes issue and a host of other damaging outcomes. The information is all out there – Google it.

Some time ago I had already significantly reduced my intake of chocolate, mainly because I realised I was addicted and was consuming far too much on a far too regular basis. I know. I know. People think I’m mad, but for the last three years, I’ve eaten chocolate at only two times of the year, for a couple of weeks at Christmas and Easter. Four months ago, along with a host of other dietary changes, I resolved to cut it out altogether. I took the decision not to re-introduce it for Christmas 2015. I’d enjoyed having those two indulgent periods of the year to look forward to, but they had rarely lived up to expectations and I’d become aware that for me, chocolate no longer filled the emotional hole it was supposed to fill.

Cutting it out resulted in a substantial reduction in my sugar intake, but it wasn’t enough. I don’t like sweet pastries and I don’t crave cakes particularly, but I have a weakness for biscuits/cookies, sweet cereals and a variety of confectionary. I had the killer Sweet Tooth.

Ah… biscuits/cookies… If I had them in the house, I would easily eat 4 or 5 with every cup of coffee. When I stopped buying them, there were days when I would prowl the kitchen looking for something – anything – sweet to plug the gap. But that passes fairly quickly, although I do recall squeezing spoons of toffee sauce one evening! But the truth is, the less of the sweet stuff you have around you, the easier it is not to consume it. And once the cravings diminish, you’ll be amazed, and you’ll wonder how sugar ever had such a hold over you.

There were two sweet things that hung about for a little longer… (1) I struggled with a nice, healthy bowl of porridge – I couldn’t enjoy it without a big squeeze of Golden Syrup and (2) I was still consuming sweetened yoghurts. Neither of these seemed particularly bad to me (it’s amazing how you can delude yourself, isn’t it?) – after all, I was eating porridge, and yoghurt, wasn’t I? But they had to go. Now I can enjoy porridge with a sprinkle of salt (yes, really!) and some blueberries or banana, and I’ve replaced sweetened yoghurts with my favourite creamy indulgence – Fage Greek Style (ahem, full fat) yoghurt, packed with friendly bacteria, which is utterly sublime.

What surprised me most was how both my compulsion and my taste for sweet things has gone. I don’t miss anything – and that amazes me. Cravings disappeared quickly and on the one or two occasions when I’ve had a small taste of sweet, out of politeness or because I didn’t want to be too pedantic about it, I’ve found the taste… not pleasant. Sweet is now… too sweet. That, my friends, is massive – the fact that once you’re no longer slamming your taste-buds with a tsunami of sugar, they don’t cry out for it, and when they get it, they don’t much like it any more. Massive.

It’s become so obvious to me that we are trained from childhood and endlessly influenced by advertising and the media, to crave sugar and regard sweet things as treats. Now there are savouries which I regard as treats – although my goal is to ‘treat’ myself with other things, not edibles. But, as they say, it’s a journey.

I would encourage anybody to take a run at this. Like any addiction, it’s tough at first, but eliminating sugar has so many positive effects on the body, that it’s worth persisting.

I’m not, as I mentioned, totally pedantic about it. My focus was on eliminating the main sweetened food groups – cakes, biscuits, breads, cereals, confectionary, deserts, sweetened drinks and fruit juices (but NOT whole fruit) – and avoiding added sugar in processed or ready meals, mainly by avoiding processed or ready meals. Doh. If there is sugar here and there, as there is, say, in salad dressings and other condiments, I’m content to overlook this. But at a guess, I believe I must have eliminated 95% or more of added sugar from my life, and I’m happy with this.

The anti-sugar lobby began to find its voice last year. Now it must demand that food manufacturers lower the quantity of sugar in their products – and it can’t do that without support from the general public. It’s bound to take some time. I would urge you not to wait for the food industry to catch up. By far the easiest way to reduce your own sugar intake immediately is to turn you back on those highly sweetened products.

Oh, and one small piece of advice. If you decide to begin this process, don’t just put or throw away the sweet stuff in your cupboards… douse it with washing-up liquid first!

©Julie Lawford 2016

About Julie Lawford

Always engaged with the written word, Julie Lawford came to fiction late in the day. Following a career in technology marketing she has been freelance since 2002 and has written copy for just about every kind of business collateral you can imagine. By 2010, she was on the hunt for a new writing challenge and Singled Out – her debut psychological suspense novel – is the result.

Julie is based in London in the UK. Whilst penning her second novel, she still writes – and blogs – for marketing clients.

Singled Out by Julie Lawford

One of the reviews for Singled Out.

Most definitely for those who enjoy a book with an uncomfortable edge, ‘Singled Out’ is one of the most striking novels I’ve encountered in a very long time. With its short chapters, punchy dialogue, intriguing characterisation and wonderful descriptive passages, it’d make a terrific holiday read. And it’ll haunt your reflections long after the final page has been turned.

It is also one of the bravest pieces of writing to have come my way in a long time. In a masterful opening scene, Lawford leaves her readers in no doubt about her ability to grasp material that many writers would avoid, and bring it to the page without reservation. Those who choose to stay the course won’t regret their decision, but should be aware that this narrative demands to be treated with the respect it deserves. Lawford’s pen doesn’t pull any punches. Her ability to write certain scenes from the male perspective is, quite simply, astonishing.

But who is the male in question? From the moment the opening scene strikes home, the reader is faced with a gripping quest to solve this burning question. It is here that Lawford’s talent really comes into its own. She weaves a complex tale with disarming ease and leads her readers from twist to turn with effortless skill, and at a gentle pace offering deceptive comfort to the unaware (until the next shock comes their way). This is writing as a craft.

Lawford also offers her readers a polished, professional product. Its cover is atmospheric and the patience of a careful edit is evident on every page. On rare occasions I come across a novel that restores my faith in contemporary fiction. ‘Singled Out’ is one such title. I’ll never forget it.

Read all the reviews and buy the book: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Singled-Out-Julie-Lawford-ebook/dp/B00RO1GH28/

Connect to Julie Lawford at her website and on social media.

Website: https://julielawford.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/JulieLawford
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/julie.lawford.1
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/julielawford/

My thanks to Julie for her post and please let us have your feedback about your relationship with sugar and all things sweet. Thanks Sally

32 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Guest Writer – The Bitter Truth about a Sweet Tooth by Julie Lawford

  1. Great post Julie. I’ve certainly had my fill of diets in my life time. It has to become a lifestyle and not looked at it as a diet to eat healthfully. I will admit though I’m quite disciplined and often have 1 square of chocolate after dinner and I’m satisfied. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • I know how tough that must be – I used to love iced tea when I visited colleagues and friends in Atlanta – but it is always made so very sweet! Whatever changes you make in reducing sugar will be good for you, so focus on what you’ve already achieved and give yourself a pat on the back. I took it one step at a time too – and you DO get there!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A lovely post, Sally and Julie. I am most fortunate that, while I love to bake and find it hugely relaxing, I don’t really like sweet things much. I don’t eat chocolate at all and prefer cheese and olives to wine gums and smarties. I also eat full cream greek yoghurt and use cranberries and raisins to sweeten my cereal/porridge. My family love sweet things but I make them myself and often reduce the sugar content. We also only have cake once a week on a Sunday, usually.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sounds like you’ve got a healthy balance going there. My need to all but eliminate sugar comes from the fact that I already know I find it harder to cut back, than cut out. But if you can achieve that balance and limit sugar to occasional treats, you and your family are doing yourselves proud.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: Smorgasbord Guest Writer – The Bitter Truth about a Sweet Tooth by Julie Lawford | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  4. I enjoy the occasional sweet treat but don’t crave chocolate or confectionary (not very often). When pregnant in Pakistan someone from the UK offered me some of her precious chocolate. When I refused she asked if I was sure I was pregnant! I said I could take or leave chocolate but would bite her hand off for cheese. I love cheese.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I just loved this post, having recently begun a weight-loss journey myself. It’s amazing how the food industry brainwashes us into thinking sugar=delightful. For me, letting go of sugar has been a slow process- I don’t put sugar in my tea anymore and I use far less in my coffee. I don’t add it to anything except baked goods, which I love to make. I love to share them, too, so that is good for keeping them out of the house! And like you, I have recently learned that salt and pepper (and a tiny pat of butter) on oatmeal is life-changing!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Firstly, thanks for your positive feedback! Secondly… well done on beginning your weight-loss journey and tackling the sugar thing. It’s not easy, but when you get to grips with it, you feel absolutely triumphant. One thing I know is this – that with less sugar in your diet, you definitely lose the taste for it, so once you get on the sugar-free road, it really does get easier. Keep going!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Barbra Streisand, Fairies and Gods and talented authors. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  8. Pingback: Writing Links…7/3/17 – Where Genres Collide

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

