PTSD Awareness Post 2017 – Part II

We have come a long way in the last 100 years in recognising and diagnosing PTSD but we still tend to associate with those who have seen combat or experienced extreme trauma. However, as you will read in Madelyn Griffith-Haynie’s comprehensive post on the subject…50% of women have experienced some form of traumatic event and one in ten of those women will develop PTSD. There is some very interesting research on the link between cortisol and PTSD.. and even if you have not experienced an event that has impacted you, it is likely that you know someone that it has and this post will be very helpful.

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

June was PTSD Awareness Month
Adding to our awareness – Part II

© Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
Updated Refliections Post
Self-Health Series
– Part I HERE

“Emotions are very good at activating thoughts,
but thoughts are not very good at controlling emotions.

~  Joseph LeDoux

Since my Sleep Awareness post somehow jumped the queue and was posted at the same time as Part-1 of this article, I decided to wait a bit to give readers a shot at catching up.  Again, my apologies for seeming to inundate with info – it was not intentional.

This Part may seem long, but much of the first half is review — so those of you who read Part-1 will be able to skim through it quickly.

Identifying PTSD

PTSD can present in a variety of ways, with more than a few symptoms in common with depression, in…

View original post 2,807 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

10 thoughts on “PTSD Awareness Post 2017 – Part II

  1. Thank you so much for spreading the word that Part-2 of this Awareness Post has been posted, Sally – and especially for SUCH a super introduction.

    Today is the 4th of July and Independence Day in the USA – aka “Firecracker Day,” so the timing is perfect. Our independence was earned for us – and I hope we will all keep faith with all of the brave soldiers by being respectful of their struggles coming back to private life – NOT saving the noise-makers for later.

    As you underscored, however, PTSD is certainly not confined to the traumas of combat or triggered by loud noises. I know that there are many people who are struggling with the traces left by traumas of other kinds who have NO idea that they have PTSD because they have moved beyond (or never had) flashbacks.

    I was one of them – and I promise that we can do a great deal of [emotional] work that will allow us to move beyond it.
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 2 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

