My Experience of Organising A Book Launch

Kevin Morris with the pros and cons of a physical book launch with our followers now global rather than local..

newauthoronline

As many of you will be aware, I held a book launch for my recently published collection of poetry, “My Old Clock I Wind” on the evening of 5 July.

I am pleased to report that the evening went well.

There were, however a number of “lessons learned”, which I have set-out below.

I hope this post proves helpful to others considering a physical (as opposed to a virtual) book launch.

Pros:

1. The venue (a pub called the Railway Bell) is within easy reach of Gipsy Hill station, making it simple for those attending the launch (and using public transport) to access it.

2. The venue being a pub, meant that it was easy to arrange for the provision of alcohol (and other drinks) to my guests. I provided wine and orange juice, while my guests had the option to purchase additional refreshments at the bar.

3. The management…

View original post 687 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

12 thoughts on “My Experience of Organising A Book Launch

  1. HI Sally, this is a really enlightening post Kevin. It sounds to me that he dotted all the i- s and crossed the t-s and I am glad it was a success.
    One of the things that resonated was all the attendees were known to him. you hear so much stuff about how to create a huge storm and I think part of it is flannel. therefore I found Kevin’s honest very gratifying.It is hard to attract entirely new readers and I personally believe it is something most authors struggle with…. but on the bright side it is probably like an avalanche. Once you get momentum there is not stopping it.
    Talent will always out, but I think there is a element of luck and being in the right place at the right time involved too. The only way to make progress is to do something which he has so kudos to him and congrats. I am thrilled it was successful.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m pleased that my post was helpful. If you have a local library that hosts local authors, you may wish to consider using their facilities. If you decide to use another venue, it may be that the library has a notice board where you can advertise your event, (my local library is currently closed for refurbishment so I couldn’t avail myself of this option) Good luck with your book launch. . Best, Kevin

      Liked by 1 person

    • Local book launches as Kevin says can be successful especially if you have a close knit community.. I prefer to spread my online book launches out over several weeks with individual guest posts or interview every couple to three weeks. Obviously an initial launch on my own blog. I think that this keeps the book in front of readers longer.. with a different perspective about the book, its characters and story line in each interview the message does not go stale.. Also you are taking advantage of other peoples readers which can add 1000s to your target audience.. just my opinion. And

      Liked by 1 person

      • Awesome, Sally! I will definitely let you know and will be proud to be on the shelves of the bookstore! I am way behind in congratulating you for being a winner at Blogger’s Bash. But then I already knew you were a winner – just so nice to see it acknowledged with the award.

        Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

