Writing about NOISE!

One of the features of our recent trip to London was the noise levels even though construction was silenced over the Saturday and Sunday. I found myself feeling bewildered and out of sync. We have been living in isolation for the last 15 years up a mountain and even here on the Wexford coast behind our garden gates all is calm….Jessica Norrie is living in a construction nightmare at the moment with jack hammers and party wall amplifiers. Noise pollution is rarely written about with regard to our mental and physical health but in fact it is one of the leading causes of chronic stress.. #recommended

jessicanorrie

How do you write your blogs? Are your subjects meticulously planned out weeks in advance? Book reviewers structure posts by publication date or genre, gardeners by season, travellers by route. Mine are more random, with the proviso to involve words, reading, writing, language. When I taught, we defined four language skills in order of acquisition: listening which comes long before speaking (think of a baby absorbing and imitating sounds), much later reading and a little after that or concurrently, writing. For an adult, those skills may be conflated or even reversed – most adults feel more comfortable reading than trying to speak, although the phonetic way they do it plays havoc with their pronunciation. And many adults, as we shall see, can’t listen.

house 16Anyway, recently, I can’t do any of those. I can’t listen to words or music, because of noise from masonry drills and other power tools…

View original post 809 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

5 thoughts on “Writing about NOISE!

  1. Some nightmares are made of noise and this qualifies as one. I am very sensitive to noise and aware of its power to stress. My work recently moved me from a call center to a quiet space in another office, and I had not realized how the constant buzz of voices had been bothering me. Even though I worked hard, it felt like I was having a day off! My sympathies to you!

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

