Smorgasbord Reblog – Aging and Wisdom – The New Perennial Age of Women by D. G. Kaye

My friend Debby Gies.. author D.G. Kaye explores the terms used to describe women of a certain age who despite pigeon holing by media and employers, continue to flourish and deny their years. Compared to the mindset of our parent’s era, we are very much younger in our approach to our middle years, and we also have changed some of the rules about how we should look physically.  I am sure that you will get a kick out of Debby’s post and embrace the new term of endearment for us women of a certain age… Perennial.

How many times have we said we don’t feel or look our age? When did middle-age sneak into our lives? Where did the years go?

I’m sure we’ve all begged the answers to those questions once or twice as we women approach our ‘Perennial’ years.

What comes to mind when women use the terms ‘the new 40 or 50′, even 60 or 70? Here’s a clue: it encompasses so much more than just looks.

In my opinion, looks have changed since the last generation, without discounting so many other changes that have occurred through the decades to empower women. Women in their 40s and 50s look much younger than those from decades past. I’m not referring to the advent of cosmetic surgery, but when I look back on decades past, I notice some interesting hairdos and fashion statements. Looking back at the women in my own family and even movie stars with the styles of yesteryear, it’s not hard for me to compare a woman of today in her 40s or 50s appearing younger looking than those before us at the same age. Was it the hairstyles, a more sedentary lifestyle which gave the impression a women in her 30s back when of 30 or 40 years ago looked similar in age to women now in their 40s or 50s?

Back in those days, women didn’t lead lifestyles like they do now, some with powerful jobs, being the bigger bread winner, many working what used to be considered, jobs for only men, or raising a family while carrying a job. “We’ve come a long way baby,” as the old cigarette ad used to say. (Am I giving away my age?)

I have to laugh at the many times my sister and me would bring up the subject of our dreaded childhood weekends we were forced to spend at our paternal grandparents’ house. We’d remark to one another about how even when we were small, our grandmother looked like . . . well, a grandmother. We only envision her old from as far back as we can remember. But lol, I digress.

What made me write this post on women then and now was prompted by a conversation I had on the weekend with one of my sister-in-laws. She shared a topic of discussion that came up between her and her yoga teacher. Her teacher had referred to women in the age group of 40s and 50s as ‘perennials’. Have any of you heard this term used before? I haven’t. But I love it.

I’ve heard of some more unflattering terms such as menopausal, even cougars, but not perennials.

Head over to Debby and check your Perennial Woman Status and if you are a guy with a woman of a certain age then head over to and make sure you are not missing out!: https://dgkayewriter.com/aging-wisdom-perennial-age-women/

About D.G. Kaye

I’m a nonfiction memoir writer who writes about life, matters of the heart and women’s issues. My intent is to inspire others by sharing my stories about events I encountered, and the lessons that come along with them.

I love to laugh, and self-medicate with a daily dose of humor. When I’m not writing intimate memoirs, you’ll find me writing with humor in some of my other works and blog posts.

When I was a young child, I was very observant about my surroundings. Growing up in a tumultuous family life; otherwise known as a broken home, kept me on guard about the on-and-off-going status of my parents’ relationship. I often wrote notes, and journaled about the dysfunction that I grew up in. By age seven I was certain I was going to grow up to be a reporter.

Well life has a funny way of taking detours. Instead, I moved away from home at eighteen with a few meager belongings and a curiosity for life. I finished university and changed careers a few times always striving to work my way up to managerial positions. My drive to succeed at anything I put my mind to led me to having a very colorful and eventful life.

Ever the optimist, that is me. I’ve conquered quite a few battles in life; health and otherwise, and my refusal to accept the word ‘No’, or to use the words ‘I can’t’, keeps me on a positive path in life.

I love to tell stories that have lessons in them, and hope to empower others by sharing my own experiences.

Books by D.G. Kaye

The most recent review for P.S. I Fogive You – A Broken Legacy on Goodreads

Martha Perez rated it Five Stars.

When I started to read this astonishing true story I have to say I’m very proud of D.G. Kaye, this is a heart- wrenching story with so much emotions about a mother and daughter relationship having a narcissistic mother and being so selfish and damaging her daughter. A mother is supposed to love and treasure the gift God gave her instead she gave her pain and sorrow. I honestly relate to this story D. G. Kaye is an amazing woman she is strong to tell such heartrending an emotional story she has so much courage to heal herself and others.

You live with this all your life wondering why? What did I do wrong! You start to question and blame your own self it’s living with a dysfunctional family it’s never your fault it’s all we know until you’re in adult that you realized how messy life is, she has to make a decision to forgive her mother I think it’s up to the person that was hurt to make such a tough choice. I recommend this book you will learn so much!! Definitely a page-turner.

Read the many reviews and buy the books: www.amazon.com/author/dgkaye7

Read more reviews and follow D.G. Kaye on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7390618.D_G_Kaye

Connect to Debby via her blog: https://dgkayewriter.com/about/

This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

35 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Reblog – Aging and Wisdom – The New Perennial Age of Women by D. G. Kaye

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Reblog – Aging and Wisdom – The New Perennial Age of Women by D. G. Kaye | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Brilliant Post by Debby. I always loved my gran but as Debby said she always looked like my gran… from an age much younger than I am now! I have been recently watching Feud about the making of What Ever Happened to Baby Jane- with two brilliant actresses of a ‘certain age’ Davis and Crawford. Now brilliantly played by Susan Sarandon and Jessica Lange- both are about a decade older then the originals when they made the film but look amazing- these actresses look in the 40 whereas they are 70.. so the word definitely is perennial

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Paul for the compliment. And oh, I watched Feud series last year. It was fabulous! And everything you said is true. But still, I will say that Sarrandon took me right into Davis’ character while I felt Lange didn’t make me feel Joan as well. Nonetheless, excellent series. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • You are probably right Debby, I know Davies’ work and Sarandon was spot on, but the only thing I know about Joan Crawford was Mommy Dearest… which was hardly complimentary!

        Liked by 2 people

      • Isn’t that a fact! I’ve seen a few documentaries on Joan (Lucille) and I believe there was some sort of obsessed neurosis she carried. Most likely from her strange and poor childhood that drove her have to be regarded as the best in show. I”m pretty good with these observances as I grew up with my own similar Mommy Dearest. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

