This is your Brain on Sleep – Stages of Sleep

Did you sleep well last night.. I had some particularly vivid dreams and that will teach me not to eat cheese late at night.. we all have our triggers for a restful or disturbed night’s sleep and I suggest you head over to Madelyn Griffith-Haynie for her in-depth guide to something that is essential for our physical and mental health. #recommended

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

Cycling through the Sleep Stages
Part of the Sleep Series

© by Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, A.C.T, MCC, SCAC

“Sleep is not a luxury or an indulgence but a
fundamental biological need, enhancing 
creativity,
productivity, mood, and the ability to interact with others.”

~ Russell G. Foster, a leading expert on chronobiology

zzzzz_in bed_blue 298x232Gettin’ those Zzzz’s

Until the mid-twentieth century, most scientists believed that we were asleep for approximately a third of our lives — experienced, primarily, in a uniform block of time that was the opposite of wakefulness.

THAT was pretty much it.

Their assumption was that sleep was a homogeneous state.  It’s most salient feature was considered to be the fact that you were NOT AWAKE.  Duh.

The main side-effect of sleep deprivation, so it was believed at the time, was that you got sleepyOh my.

  • It was assumed that we needed…

View original post 3,231 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

9 thoughts on “This is your Brain on Sleep – Stages of Sleep

  1. You are a doll to give this article a second life by reblogging, Sally. Thank you so much. I wish everyone struggling with insomnia (and their doctors) would read it. Only a percentage of people diagnosed with insomnia have been diagnosed correctly. ::sigh::

    I’m not a fan of the “psychological” sleep advice that abounds today – and some of that advice will actually make it harder to fall asleep and stay asleep. ::double sigh:: Understanding the neurology will take them much further.

    I didn’t go into sleeping pills in the article, but I’m sure YOU know that the latest news is that they might be counter-productive. *Much* better to understand how sleep works and learn to work WITH it.
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 1 person

      • Listening to YOUR body – yes! There are “norms” to get us started, but every ‘body’ is slightly different.

        I’ve never tried sleeping pills since they are statistically likely to exacerbate chronorhythm disorders and I don’t want to chance it.

        I have noticed that the “drowsy” antihistimines (during high allergy periods) do seem to help me fall asleep more rapidly and the “non-drowsy” will keep me awake longer. Alcohol usually leaves after-effects the next day – even if I have only two drinks while I’m out for the evening.

        For the most part, at this point in my life, I tend to avoid substance-induced sleeping.
        xx,
        mgh

        Like

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

