Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Monday 24th July – Hugh Roberts, Jan Moore and Darlene Foster, Mary Smith and Sue Vincent

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to the first blogger round up of the week with some of the posts that I read over the weekend. To start us off another informative ‘How To’ post on blogging from Hugh Roberts... to reblog or not to reblog?.. that be the question…

One the nicest things another blogger can do is to share one or more of our blog posts. I remember when one of my posts was reblogged for the first time. As a new blogger, it was one of the most wonderful feelings I had, and I was excited that my post was now in front of thousands of new readers. Even today, I still get those same feelings whenever one of my posts is reblogged.

Unless you’ve chosen to turn off all your WordPress notifications, then you will get an email notification from WordPress when one of your posts is reblogged. It will tell you the following information –

Read the rest of this informative post on blogging: https://hughsviewsandnews.com/2017/07/19/what-to-do-when-one-of-your-blog-posts-is-reblogged-bloggingtips/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Darlene was invited to be a guest on Jan Moore’s site Work on Your Own Terms

Jan’s site is dedicated to helping women enjoy meaningful work that fits their lifestyle and providing mentorship on midlife reinvention. Check it out, you will find it interesting.

Guest Post by: Darlene Foster – Daydream Believer

I can´t remember when I didn´t have the urge to travel and experience new worlds. My dear grandmother bought me a colouring book featuring children from around the world in traditional dress. I loved that book and wished, with each page I coloured, I could visit these places one day. Studies have proven daydreaming is good for young people because it plants seeds that often become reality. Of course, those dreams don´t come true without hard work and determination.

I had a good life in Canada. I grew up on the prairies and eventually moved to the beautiful West Coast where I worked as a recruiter and later as an employment counsellor. I loved my home, friends, family and job. However, the desire to travel the world was never far from my mind.

Read the rest of Darlene’s guest post here: http://workonyourownterms.com/daydream-believer-you-can-be-one-too/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Mary Smith recently offered her book No More Mulberries FREE and achieved amazing results. Here is her breakdown that anyone who is planning on doing likewise will find useful, including the paid for services that she employed.

I thought I’d give an update on my No More Mulberries promotion when, for five days, I offered it FREE to download.

I know it seems counter-intuitive to give books away and some authors are opposed to the idea and for a long time so was I. I knew it was something many indie authors did but I really didn’t like the idea of all my hard work being simply given away.

The redoubtable Jackie Weger, founder of eNovel Authors at Work, of which I am a proud member, persuaded me. She took me gently by the hand, pointed her snake gun at me and said, “Do it!” I did it.

I’m delighted with the result. Over the five days almost 5,000 people downloaded the book, mainly in USA and UK but also in Canada, Australia, India and Italy. Okay, so they didn’t pay me for it but money isn’t everything, is it? I love the idea so many new readers now have a copy of No More Mulberries on their Kindles.

Read the rest of the post and discover how Mary achieved this result: https://takefiveauthors.wordpress.com/2017/07/22/free-promotion-update/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Sue Vincent with a useful post for new bloggers and those of us who are still trying to get to grips with the various applications… Our spam folders can be a source of irritation as it fills up with all sorts of enticements.. some of which you might never have heard of.. Sue offers some advice and also tips on how to manage this ravenous beast.

There is a debate about whether or not you should manually moderate all comments before allowing them to appear on you blog. I personally do not moderate every comment. I do moderate every first comment from a reader and it is usually fairly easy to spot who is genuine and who is a spammer.

Spammers should not be allowed on your blog if you can possibly prevent it. They will, if you are not keeping an eye on the ball, fill your post comments with their advertisements for everything from Russian brides to sex aids, training shoes to financial scams.

Should a spammer get through the many barriers WordPress has put in their way, a vigilant blogger will soon spot their comments and consign them to the spam folder with a single click. Once sent to spam, Askimet generally gets the message pretty quickly and all future comments from that source will also be sent to spam.

Find out more about your spam folder and how to manage it: https://scvincent.com/2017/07/21/take-control-a-beginners-guide-to-spam-and-how-to-spot-it/

Thanks for dropping by and please share the link to your most recent post by sending by email to sally.cronin@moyhill.com or by leaving in the comments section of this post. Sally

20 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Monday 24th July – Hugh Roberts, Jan Moore and Darlene Foster, Mary Smith and Sue Vincent

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Monday 24th July – Hugh Roberts, Jan Moore and Darlene Foster, Mary Smith and Sue Vincent | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Great picks today Sal. I’ve already read them all, no surprise that we travel in same circles, lol. But loved Darlene’s post, inspiring me dream to move somewhere sunny. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thanks for sharing these great posts, Sally. I was most interested to read Mary’s stories about how many people downloaded her book when it was on promotion. It is amazing and the up side is that she will get some reviews out of it and people spread the word.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Tony Bennett, new releases, reviews and series | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

