Smorgasbord Blogger Daily Tuesday 25th July – Geoff Le Pard, Diana Wallace Peach, Marjorie Mallon, Carol Taylor

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to a small selection of the blogs that I have enjoyed over the last couple of days… I do like to armchair travel and in this post Geoff Le Pard shares his adventures in Peru in 1987…

In 1987 the Textiliste and I travelled to Peru for a three week holiday. In the last instalment we had visited the beautiful and beguiling Manchu Pichu. Now back in Cusco we have a rather long winded journey ahead of us before arriving at our destination on the Amazon. As usual nothing is straightforward.

In order to get from Manchu Pichu to Iquitos, our departure point on the Amazon, we needed to return to Lima. That entailed two flights and an overnight stop in Lima.

First up it was Aero Peru, which was far from the sort of national airline I had come to expect from European carriers. The plane was aged, tatty and smelly, in an old-socks-meets-new-sweat sort of way. But we made it, we laughed and chalked it down to experience.

See some fantastic photos and read about Geoff’s sweaty adventures up the Amazon: https://geofflepard.com/2017/07/24/hunting-the-inca-part-6-iquitos-and-the-amazon-peru-travel/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

The next blog which I think you will find useful even if you have been blogging for some time is by Diana Wallace Peach with 7 Steps to a User-Friendly blog.


This isn’t a new topic, but it seems worth a mention every now and then within the WordPress blog community. I love connecting with other bloggers and occasionally a website makes that hard if not impossible to do. Here are a few tips. 🙂

Definitely take a look at these if:

You are leaving likes and comments on other blogs and not getting return visits.
Everyone likes your old posts and seems to ignore your recent posts.
You’ve changed your blog address at any time (WP may still be directing your readers to the old deleted site!)

Read the rest of this comprehensive post on good blogging practices and the 7 basic steps: https://mythsofthemirror.com/2017/07/18/7-steps-to-a-user-friendly-blog/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Marjorie Mallon is looking forward to the release of her YA Fantasy – The Curse of Time: Bloodstone in the last week of August. In the meantime she introduces us to one of the characters in the book…Grasshopper who lives in the Corpus Christi Chronopage.

A big welcome… (If I dare!) to my next interviewee the intriguing Grasshopper, a fine bug of a creature who features in my soon to be released YA Fantasy – The Curse of Time: Book 1: Bloodstone. I have set a tentative date for the release of my e-book – 26th August, so keep a look out for further details and updates about that.

Today, I am interviewing the Grasshopper using the initials MJ – (my author nickname and tribute to my favourite superhero Spiderman’s Mary Jane!)

MJ: Grasshopper, I’m speechless, is that really you? Have you come to eat me up?

Grasshopper: Of course not dear girl, I don’t eat humans, even though I have pincer sharp teeth.

MJ: I can see that… Oh, what a relief! Tell me all about yourself Mr. Grasshopper.

Read the rest of this delightful introduction to Mr. Grasshopper and find out more about Marjories new book: https://mjmallon.com/2017/07/23/sundayblogshare-mj-interviews-the-grasshopper-the-curse-of-time/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

To finish off today some culinary tips from Carol Taylor who blogs from Thailand. Do head over to her blog to read this post and also her other food articles… always something delicious.

Fresh Herbs are something that I always have in my fridge and my garden..Don’t you?

Also, I want to show you that it is not time-consuming to give your food that little extra pizzaz…Food should be tempting, it should be fun and enjoyable as well as being good for you…and the occasional treat…Have it! Enjoy it! Safe in the knowledge that most of the time what you and your family are eating is good, healthy food… but never boring!

Some herbs you can grow at home and pick them fresh knowing that they are pesticide free. How satisfying is that???

They are also something that I sometimes forget that I have or keep meaning to use and end up throwing them away. Does the same thing happen in your house?

It is always those tender herbs like coriander, basil, mint, parsley or chives…The hardy herbs are the ones I always keep in the freezer.

Read more about herbs and how to grow and use them to make your cooking more appetising looking and tasting: https://blondieaka.wordpress.com/2017/07/25/healthy-eating-fresh-herbs/

Thanks for dropping by today.. I hope you enjoyed this small selection and will head over and introduce yourselves.. Sally

 

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

17 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily Tuesday 25th July – Geoff Le Pard, Diana Wallace Peach, Marjorie Mallon, Carol Taylor

  1. Thank you, Sally, I am honoured to be in such great company…..and Peru, one of my dream destinations and brought alive wonderfully by Geoff and always such great tips from Diane her advice always timely and grasshoppers…I love them and I also do read YA books and some I love my grandson always shares ones he thinks I would like..Does that mean I am a kid at heart??

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Tony Bennett, new releases, reviews and series | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

