Smorgasbord Reblog – The other Inconspicuous form of Bullying – Emotional Bullying

This is an important post from Debby Gies about the often subtle but deadly form of bullying.. Emotional manipulation can be devastating and some times you can be unaware that someone is actually taking their own inadequacies out on you.

We’ve all heard stories about bullying, It happens in homes, schools, and on the internet. But what about a form of bullying in our every day lives we may be experiencing ? Often these symptoms aren’t recognized or more often, not even considered a form of bullying.

This often deceptive hidden form of bullying can occur through the way some people interact with friends or loved ones. When people talk down to others, making them feel insignificant, threatened or forced to abide by what is being directed at them, that is bullying.

Is there anyone in your life that responds to a heartfelt request from you with assertion or aggression demanding their way is better and all negotiations are off the table? Do you have someone in your circles who calls all the shots when it comes to making plans and out of a sense of not wanting to stir conflict you pacify their demands just to keep the peace? That’s bullying too. Why do we continue to remain in the circles of these confrontational, demanding people? Is it because we’re intimidated by them, don’t want to create waves in our relationships with them or are we just accustomed to the relationship as it is?

I can certainly attest to having being a subject of some of these somewhat toxic relationships in my own life. The people who make the plans, not wanting feedback but expecting everyone in the group to comply is a common factor in many relationships. There always seems be one of those leader types who wants to lead the pack by their decisions without debate. It’s easy to fall prey to these people especially if we are compassionate or sensitive souls who don’t wish to challenge directives with countering suggestions of our own. These types of relationships are not healthy. Whether we are easily intimidated or just wishing to keep the peace, we have to discover methods which allow us to stand up for our own thoughts or at the very least make changes to slowly distance ourselves from these dominating personality types.

Head over to find out the strategies that Debby shares to deal with this time of bullying: https://dgkayewriter.com/inconspicuous-form-bullying-emotional-bullying/

Books by D.G. Kaye

 

Read all the reviews and buy the books: http://www.amazon.com/author/dgkaye7

Read more reviews and follow D.G. Kaye on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7390618.D_G_Kaye

Connect to D.G. Kaye through her website.https://www.dgkayewriter.com

Thank you for stopping by.. please head over and leave your comments on Debby’s blog. Thanks Sally

32 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Reblog – The other Inconspicuous form of Bullying – Emotional Bullying

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Reblog – The other Inconspicuous form of Bullying – Emotional Bullying | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Psychological therapy, and Spiritual support helped me immensely. Got the divorce, created boundaries with many others, including my parents and continue to do so when it is called for. What helped the most was realizing that there was more of them than there was of me and how to NOT allow that to make me feel defeated. Learning the life skills that helped me keep my head above water, didn’t change them, but altered the way I allowed them to affect my life.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hi Debbie,
    Great piece and it is one I can very well identify with, but then you know that. I’ve started your Conflicted Hearts. I think our mother’s must of been sisters or at least taught how to treat their children by the same sadist. When you have a low self-esteem, you don’t recognize that you are being bullying. You believe it is you who is wrong. Individuals like you, that are willing to share their lives and does open the door for other to follow. Thanks for keeping your voice out there. HUGS

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much Chuck. That’s a big shoutout from you who completely, and sadly, understands how these people work. I too can’t wait to get to your book. I’m always fascinated by how stories like ours end. When I wrote CH I left it open because I published while my mother was still living – a scary event. My sequel, P.S. I Forgive You was written after processing my life and my mother’s upon her death, desperate to find resolution with myself to free myself from guilt. That’s important because just walking away, albeit a huge feat in itself, doesn’t free us internally of what we carry, only eliminates their access to ourselves. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • You are right Debbie; there comes a point in our lives, we totally shut the door turning our backs or we return and deal with it to the betterment of ourselves. I would guess you did the later. I did too, but it way too long in my life. I like to share with individuals that are struggling with these issues. I had a friend tell me if I wanted to overcome my anger for my parents, to pray for them. I did, yet I didn’t feel any change. I remembered in the Gospel it says, for God to forgive someone who has hurt us, we must forgive them ourselves. When I was able to do that, the anger immediately left. You don’t have to be a person of faith to get the same results. Work on forgiving those that hurt us and it will no longer control your life. HUGS

        Liked by 2 people

      • Chuck, you said exactly what I wrote about in my latest book, P.S. … it took many decades but I finally made peace with myself and forgave myself that’s what compelled me to write. If we can help others with our words then we are doing something good. 🙂 xx

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: Smorgasbord Reblog – The other Inconspicuous form of Bullying – Emotional Bullying — Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life | Meir Weiss' Blog

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Tony Bennett, new releases, reviews and series | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  6. 1 Corinthians 15:33 says, “do not be misled, bad associations spoil useful habits (ftn. corrupt good morals) and Proverbs 13:20 says, “The one walking with the wise will become wise, But the one who has dealings with the stupid will fare badly.” The company we keep can help us succeed or tear us down. This is such a great post, because no one really brings attention to emotional bullying. This type of bullying can be so detrimental to your self-esteem and overall happiness. It’s best to rid yourself of any associations that don’t build you up.

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

