Smorgasbord Health 2017 – Food in the news – #Turmeric :Curcumin – Cancer, Alzheimers, Inflammation

Smorgasbord Health 2017

Today’s article caught my eye because I was looking into research into herbs and spices. I have taken curcumin capsules in the past as a course to test for side effects before recommending to a client. It has been used as a traditional Indian medicinal treatment for centuries and is know for its anti-inflammatory and high anti-oxidant actions on the body. Both these effects help combat a number of common health issues such as heart disease, arthritis, cancer, depression and the long term health of the brain, specifically Alzheimer’s disease.

Whilst I am a firm believer in alternative therapies, you cannot make claims for natural medicines without it going through extensive research. However, as this article reveals even the medicial profession and also researchers are fairly confident the self-administered curcumin treatment by Dieneke Ferguson was the reason behind her remission from cancer.

After five years of living with cancer and the ravages of side-effects from repeated unsuccessful treatment, Dieneke Ferguson thought she was finally losing the battle. She had a serious relapse and there seemed little hope.

Dieneke had been diagnosed with the blood cancer myeloma in 2007 and had undergone three rounds of chemotherapy as well as four stem cell transplants.

‘I have been on all sorts of toxic drugs and the side-effects were terrifying,’ she says. ‘At one point I lost my memory for three days, and in 2008 two of the vertebrae in my spine collapsed so I couldn’t walk. They injected some kind of concrete into my spine to keep it stable.’

Yet, despite all this, ‘nothing worked: there was just too much cancer — all my options were exhausted, and there was nothing else I could do,’ she says.

Then Dieneke started a new treatment — not another high-tech, expensive drug, but a remedy based on something many of us have in our kitchen cupboards. Where all others had failed, this one worked, and five years on, Dieneke’s cancer cell count is negligible.

The treatment? Curcumin, which is a key component of the spice turmeric. Dieneke’s recovery was so extraordinary that it recently made the pages of the eminent British Medical Journal as a one-off case report of how a natural ingredient was somehow keeping cancer at bay.

‘When you review her chart, there’s no alternative explanation [for her recovery] other than we’re seeing a response to curcumin,’ Jamie Cavenagh, professor of blood diseases at London’s Barts Hospital and co-author of the report, said.
 

Read the rest of the article: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-4726136/How-curry-spice-helped-dying-woman-beat-cancer.html

Curcumin/Turmeric – some facts.

You cannot consume enough cooking strength turmeric to get the benefits of the curcumin.  There are a number of capsule supplements that contain Turmeric extract with a higher concentration of active curcumin. Because curcumin is poorly absorbed by the body you need a supplement that has nano-particle sized turmeric which makes it much easier for it to get into the bloodstream.

Some supplements aid absorption by adding black pepper (piperine) but it is believed that bioavailable supplements that rely on smaller particle size are just as effective if not more so.

However taking the supplement after a higher fat meal also can aid the absorption.

I don’t usually recommend specific supplements but I do recommend that you get the advice in a reputable health food shop and ask for the most effectively absorbed.

Thanks for dropping by and hope you found the post useful.. Sally

 

30 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Health 2017 – Food in the news – #Turmeric :Curcumin – Cancer, Alzheimers, Inflammation

  1. I have known them since I was a young girl. Since I come from a plant medicinal family, I do use most of the spices for my food depending what I am preparing. Each and every spice is a medicinal plant. fruits and veg also are. Even flowers are. I remember when I was a young girl, since being kids, we ran and fell down and got wounds on our knees. Painful, we cried. there was a type of flowers that mum grew in the garden. dad took the petals smash them, put them on a bandage or on a long piece of fabric, and put it on the wound and tying the bandage or piece of cloth in the back of our knees. He never took us to doctors for dressings. And we all grew up into adults. We still have our knees, strong and healthy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I certainly swear by them. I have a herbal medicine cabinet with something for everything. I also firmly believe in you are what you eat and giving the body what it needs to fight your battles for you.. thanks for sharing that.. sounds like a wonderful childhood.. more children should get smudged by nature growing up to develop their immune systems.

      Liked by 1 person

      • indeed I did had a beautiful childhood, cannot complain about it. My dad is now of a very old age and he controls his diabetic and high blood pressure with fresh herbal medicines though he does take doc’s medication. He is over 85 now and still strong. My mum went to rest 11 years ago. I am planning on going back home next year since I want to write a book about herbal medicines. I don’t want my dad to leave without helping me. Since it will finish with him this work, but it was not his profession but he knows it, and no one in my family took it on board. I want a book done to remind us all of what was there for us and how it all started. I hope I will be able to realise my dream.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health 2017 – Food in the news – #Turmeric :Curcumin – Cancer, Alzheimers, Inflammation | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  3. We are definitely on the same wave length Sally… I have been researching turmeric and have a recipe for turmeric bombs which you can drop in your tea or coffee nearly finished writing it up for some time next week xx I have an idea to run past you..will e-mail you xx Good post once again

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just wrote an article for the Aug. issue of The Magic Happens, all about how I brew my coffee using turmeric and cinnamon. I drink “golden milk” all the time and love putting turmeric, fresh grated or powdered, in nearly everything I eat. A friend of mine even makes ice cream using it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly Robbie. I think that you should just not underestimate the power of the mind and body. Perhaps when told there is no hope we go into survival mode and ‘lift that bus of a child’ mode. That is one of the dangers of modern medicine … our reliance on it and the believe that doctors know best has dampened our own instincts to fight. xxx

      Like

  5. Pingback: Healthy Eating……Turmeric Drinks | Retired? No one told me!

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Tony Bennett, new releases, reviews and series | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

