Cruising the Yangtze, Part 2

My second regular saturday reblog is for the lovely Tess Karlinski who is our tour guide for an extended trip to China. Today Tess is onboard the cruise ship on the Yangtze and it is the night of the Captain’s cocktail party.. what a hoot.. there are some real gems in this post (and I don’t mean the lettuc on the buffet) Tess’s description of the captain is priceless as is the throwaway line about men only dancing with a gun to their heads… Anyway, these posts have saved me thousands in airfares and hotels, not to mention some of the inconveniences of travel in China.. but I have reaped all the benefits through the wonderfully descriptive posts and photographs. I do #recommend that if you have not been following this series you head over and catch up.

How the Cookie Crumbles

Image Courtesy of Sally Cronin

(Photo shortage. Nothing to take pictures of and I forgot to ‘preserve’ the buffet. Pictures next post.)

Chinese Saying:

  “If you run out of oil for the hot pot just pour in some wine.”

~ * ~

Sue returned livid from the morning’s excursion to the Red Cliffs. It had been awful, she told me. The group had started with 26 people and ended up with six. Why did some say it had been a wonderful tour when Sue thought it was a waste of time? Why didn’t people tell the truth? There had been nothing to see except fake building fronts.

Lunch Offerings

Cold salads: pasta; orange broccoli; apple and celery; dry bean curd with sour sauce; chicken in herb sauce and red beans with vegetables

Salad Bar

Romaine; red cabbage (chunks and sliced); cucumber slices; grape tomatoes; sliced black olives; real bacon…

View original post 850 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

