Healthy Eating……Turmeric Drinks

Something to wake you up this morning with a spicy bomb… courtesy of Carol Taylor who offers some options on how to enable the body to absorb turmeric and its active ingredient curcumin.. Carol links back to my post earlier in the week on the spice and its health benefits and if you read both you will appreciate how very special this spice is for inflammation, brain health, heart health and as recent research is identifying certain cancers. #recommended

Retired? No one told me!

lady holding veggies

I think most of us have heard of Turmeric by now. It is most commonly used in Asian food and comes from the root of the Turmeric plant. Used in curries it has a warm, bitter taste and has many culinary uses apart from just flavouring or colouring curry powders. I use it when I make mustard which is where mustard gets its yellow colour from also butter and cheeses. I also use the Turmeric leaf when I make the Indonesian dish of Beef Rendang. The root is widely used around the world to make medicines.

Turmeric

This is my little home grown Turmeric plant grown very easily from a piece of Tumeric I bought from the market. I just broke a piece of the rhizome and planted it.

turmeric-943628_1920

When buying spices it is always best to buy organic or buy your spices locally if you know who the farmer is and you…

View original post 592 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

3 thoughts on “Healthy Eating……Turmeric Drinks

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

