Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Tuesday August 1st 2017 – Kosher Kitchen, Jennie Fitzkee, Sue Vincent, Darlene Foster and Debby Gies

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to the first of August’s blogger daily posts. The first post is a fascinating look at Jewish history as well as the recipe for The Rivers of Exile: Nine Day Pie by Dolly of Kosher Kitchen.

Image © Kosher Kitchen

Traveling through the streets of Paris with his entourage, Napoleon passed a synagogue and heard heart-wrenching wailing from within.

“Why are my Jews crying? – asked the emperor, – What happened to them?

“Sire, – rushed an aide-de-camp, “they are lamenting the destruction of their Temple.”

“What? Their Temple was destroyed and nobody told me? Where? When?”

“Your Majesty, I believe it occurred about seventeen hundred years ago in Jerusalem, and every year on that day they get together, fast, and mourn their loss.”

“Alors, – exclaimed Napoleon, “people who remember their past as if it happened just now, will definitely live to see their future!”

Read the rest of the story of the destruction of this holy place and the traditions now practiced as well as the recipe for the nine-day pie: https://koolkosherkitchen.wordpress.com/2017/07/28/the-rivers-of-exile-nine-day-pie/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

I have shared several posts by Jennie Fitzkee about her over 30 years teaching pre-schoolers about books and art, instilling in them a love of both and of course of reading. In this post Jennie gets to tick an experience off her bucket list.

Last week I met Eric Carle. Let me say it a little louder, “Last week I met Eric Carle!” The man, a world renowned children’s author and illustrator, is 88 years old. His history is fascinating. So is he.

My author bucket list started to grow when Peter Spier died this year. His Star-Spangled Banner, Circus, and Rain books have been staples in my classroom for decades. I always meant to write and tell him so… His death was my wake-up call.

And then I learned that Eric Carle would be speaking with Annie Lionni, granddaughter of Leo Lionni.

Woah! Leo Lionni, as in Swimmy, the first book I ever read aloud in my classroom. The book that changed my life in teaching.

Read more about this wonderful audience with Eric Carle and how Jennie comes face to face with one of her heroes: https://jenniefitzkee.com/2017/07/31/meeting-an-author/

 

Next.. Sue Vincent hosted an interview between Amanda and her creator Darlene Foster. Amanda has travelled the world in six books so far and the latest took her on an adventure to New Mexico.  This interview offers an opportunity to meet the real Amanda for her fans.

DF Hello Amanda. Thanks for agreeing to be interviewed as your readers are eager to learn more about you.

AR Thank you, Mrs. Foster. It is so awesome to be interviewed. I’ve never been interviewed before.

DF I used to be a recruiter and I interviewed people for a living, so I will start this interview like I always did. Can you please tell me a little about yourself?

AR Yes, thanks. I can do that. (Clears her throat) My name is Amanda Jane Ross and I live in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am in grade six and attend Guy Weadick Elementary. It’s named after a cowboy who started the Calgary Stampede, you know. I live with my mom, Evelyn Ross and my dad, Don Ross. They are both accountants and work a lot. I enjoy cooking and trying new recipes. I love to read and I do some writing. But what I really love the most is travelling to other countries.

Find out more about Amanda and her past and future travels: https://scvincent.com/2017/07/29/guest-author-darlene-foster-interview-with-amanda-from-the-amanda-travels-series/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

 

And finally…. I could not resist sharing this from Debby Gies who has discovered the grammatical way to indicate surprise, wonder, and other less polite expressions!  Do you know what a Interrobang is?  No I didn’t either but our intrepid grammar explorer reveals all.

Have you ever heard of a punctuation mark called an Interrobang? I know I never had until I came across it in one of the best Grammar and Punctuation books I’ve ever read, and still reading – Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing by Mignon Fogarty.

I’ll be doing a review on this book in the next week or two, but I wanted to share what I discovered about this punctuation mark here today.

As Fogarty’s book explains, it wouldn’t look proper to add both an exclamation and question mark at the end of a sentence, but some expressions warrant it. Although it’s not advised to use this mark in formal writing, it’s approved to use in informal writing and communications when we’re wanting to emphasize in exclamation and make a statement with a rhetorical question in surprise at the same time.

Discover what an Interrabang looks like and its origins: https://dgkayewriter.com/punctuation-familiar-interrobang/

I am sure you will enjoy exploring these posts by clicking on the links and please leave comments with the bloggers so they can read.. thanks for dropping by.. Sally

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life., Smorgasbord Blogger Daily by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

15 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Tuesday August 1st 2017 – Kosher Kitchen, Jennie Fitzkee, Sue Vincent, Darlene Foster and Debby Gies

  1. A thousand thank yous Sal for once again including my post today. I’m truly fascinated that writers and authors alike who have visited have not heard of this punctuation mark. Eureka! Now if I could find a way to incorporate the mark in my blogs I would! 🙂 xoxo

    Like

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Tony Bennett, Houdini and Doyle, Bad Habits, Childhood and Greece | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

