Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Thursday 3rd August 2017 – Charles Yallowitz, Jane Sturgeon, Nicholas Rossis, C.S. Boyack and Lisa Burton

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to today’s small selection of blog posts that I would like to draw your attention to.  So many wonderful writers of blogs that it is very tough to only pick four or five. I hope you will head over and read the full posts.

First post is from Charles Yallowitz who is trying to plan the next moves for his character Ichabod Brooks. It is clear from the early reviews for the first collection of short stories that readers have enjoyed the stories very much.

So, now I have to think about the future. Not only for the next series since we’re a month or two away from the hopeful release of Legends of Windemere: Path of the Traitors. That series will come to an end, so I don’t have to worry about that. I do have to think about Ichabod Brooks.

I have about 10-12 other short stories that didn’t get written for The Life & Times of Ichabod Brooks. People voted on what sounded interesting and I took the top 11. It didn’t mean the other ones were getting tossed aside though. I want to write them at some point. Maybe not next year, but eventually. 2018 still feels like it’s going to be an epic mess to me since I’ll have a new series to start up and it sounds like the natives consider the end of Legends of Windemere to be a sign that I should retire. So, I definitely have time for this.

Did I have something in mind? Yes, and I was curious what people thought of these future collections:

Find out some of the moves Charles has planned and add your views on the subject: https://legendsofwindemere.com/2017/08/02/the-future-of-ichabod-brooks/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Now for a post from Jane Sturgeon.. The older we get the more reliant we become on tried and trusted behaviours and there is a danger of treating every problem we face as a nail and hitting it with a hammer. Jane uses a wonderful analogy in her post to demonstrate the fact that there other ways to clear the path ahead and create some much needed breathing space. For example I am busy scheduling posts for the next two weeks to create my next writing splurge. Instead of writing them all myself I have some talented guest writers who are providing wonderful content. I am sure you will enjoy Jane’s post.

This morning there was a sailboat heading out to sea. It took him a few hours to come up The Mersey as he battled the incoming tide and strong headwinds. He was under sail and at times his mast was almost parallel with the water. After this went on for at least two hours, a fellow sailboat came into view and with sails down, he was relying on his motor. Needless to say he sailed past the chap who was battling and I don’t need to be a psychic to sense the feelings flying around out there.

Read the rest of this motivating post: https://janesturgeon.wordpress.com/2017/07/24/patience-with-the-tides/

Nicholas C Rossis is well respected for his many books for children and fantasy. He also writes books to help other authors realise their potential, including providing an emotional content to their writing. Nicholas is serialising his book Emotional Beats on his blog and here is a taste.. head over and bookmark all the chapters so far as you will find them very useful.

Back in September, I published Emotional Beats: How to Easily Convert your Writing into Palpable Feelings. As promised, I will be posting the book on my blog. So, here is the next installment, continuing Part 3 of the book: Other Beats. This chapter deals with:

Other Beats – Every now and then I come across a lovely beat that is hard to categorize. Here are some of my favorite ones:

The movers scuffed the wall with the table.
He was hovering inches from her face.
She raised the storefront’s tattered awning.
He sang a sprightly melody.
A rowdy gaggle of youth.
He frittered his life away.
Soon, he was lost in the crush of people now spilling out into the streets in droves.
Behind the curtains came the tapping. The tap tap tap rhythm of a branch against the window.

Read the rest of this chapter and bookmark the previous two: http://nicholasrossis.me/2017/08/03/emotional-beats-other-beats/

Now it is the time for Lisa Burton who is C.S. Boyack’s right hand woman (or so he thinks, as it is really the other way around) to interview one of the characters created by author Ellen L.Buikema in her children’s series The Adventures of Charlie Chameleon.

Hello all you watersprites and merfolk, you selkies and Aquarians. You’ve found this week’s edition of Lisa Burton Radio. I’m your host, Lisa the robot girl, and I have a very special guest with me today, please welcome Frankie the Fishtastic.

“Thank you, Lisa Burton. I am pleased that you have acknowledged my fish-tasticness. This will be a great interview. I also welcome my fellow creatures of the deep as well as those who live on land.”

“My bio says you are the supervisor of the Chameleon family. Do most families have a supervisor where you live?”

“Most families in New Town do not require a supervisor. It was not my intention to watch over the doings of the Chameleon family, but they are so in need. I help them out in this capacity with the understanding that they will never truly understand my gift to them.”

“And where do you stay? Do you live at the Chameleon household, or do you have an office somewhere?”

Read more about the life of Frankie the Fishtastic and Ellen’s Children’s series: https://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com/2017/08/02/frankie-the-fish-on-lisaburtonradio/

And I will get Lisa Burton to sign off for me today.

That’s all she wrote folks.. pass it along.. thanks Lisa….

21 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Thursday 3rd August 2017 – Charles Yallowitz, Jane Sturgeon, Nicholas Rossis, C.S. Boyack and Lisa Burton

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Tony Bennett, Houdini and Doyle, Bad Habits, Childhood and Greece | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

