Smorgasbord Guest Writer – What we repeatedly do… by Julie Lawford

I’ve come to appreciate that the weight-loss I want to achieve must be a by-product of whole-life lifestyle change. It’s not a project which has an end date, after which normal service (peanut butter on toast for breakfast, crisps and chocolate bars for dinner etc) can be resumed. I know that sounds obvious, but for lifetime overweighters like me, this change cannot be about being on a diet. This suggests that one day, one is no longer on a diet.Whether we like it or not, our new healthy eating habits cannot be a temporary regime. They must become our permanent lifestyle – they must be what we do all the time, how we cook all the time, how we shop all the time, what we eat all the time, what we decline all the time.So this time, rather than following rules, counting points and being on a diet, I’ve focused on layering on the healthy habits; nailing one habit, then adding another, and another, and another, and keeping at them until they become my normal, default position. For me, it’s not been an all-or-nothing game (which approach dieters are inclined to take, making massive changes all at once, often with disappointing outcomes). It’s been a measured, one-step-at-a-time approach.It’s said, variously, that it takes 28, 60 or 90 days to embed a new habit. I don’t know which number is the right one but I do know that those good behaviours that at first require extraordinary reserves of self-control and self-discipline, do eventually seep into your psyche and attain the status of ‘habit’.

Source: Smorgasbord Guest Writer – What we repeatedly do… by Julie Lawford

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

2 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Guest Writer – What we repeatedly do… by Julie Lawford

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

