Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Tuesday 8th August 2017 – Lucinda E.Clarke, Steve Tanham, Don Massenzio and Colleen Chesebro

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to some of the excellent blog posts I have read over the last day or so and we begin with a post by Lucinda E. Clarke who wonders why after many years of writing professionally, her manuscripts are being returned with lots of red hieroglyphics.  The structure of the way we speak and write is changing and what was once acceptable is now considered out of fashion.

I am feeling quite depressed at the moment. Why? Once upon a time, I thought I could write. Not as well as Tolstoy, or Shakespeare, but the average, everyday stuff. This is a good thing, I thought I’m not particularly good at anything else. Don’t ask me to draw a smiley face, or cook gourmet meals, I plant, nurture and watch the green leafy things die, I’m best in the back row of the chorus (or off stage altogether) and … I could go on and on about my lack of accomplishments, but I’ll spare you.

At least I can write, pop words onto paper in reasonable order, tell stories and the extra bonus is I can do that as long as I have wiggly fingers and the mental capacity – unlike those super sporty people whose career is on the downward slope by the time they’re 25.

My belief in my one and only ability- I won’t go so far as to call it a talent – was reinforced by all the people who paid me to write: important people who ran banks, government departments, magazines and newspapers, radio and television, corporations and educational institutions. And I mean pay, yes real money not the pennies Amazon dribble into my bank account at the end of each month. This big money paid the rent, bought food, clothed us and put petrol in the tank. It even paid for the odd cruise and trips abroad. It continued for almost 40 years until I retired and began to write books.

Read the rest of the post and share your thoughts on the subject: https://lucindaeclarke.wordpress.com/2017/08/07/i-cant-write-proper/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

We take technical advances in our stride these days with our phones having a built-in obsolescence that demands we upgrade as soon as a new model hits the market. Millions are now connected by an invisible thread that records their every move and key stroke with tailor made adverts popping up as you browse your Facebook feed daily. I clearly have been identified as needing dentures (probably true) a stair-lift and leak proof drawers (not quite). What was even more disquieting the other day was following my review for Dunkirk, the book called the Snow Goose that I viewed on Amazon and the DVD then appeared in my Facebook timeline.. Spooky.

Steve Tanham looks at the dark side of our technology advances and shares the programme he watched that used Uber in India as an interesting example of technology vs. our approach to humans.  Definitely worth heading over and reading and also leaving your point of view.

The Open University (OU) is a wonderful institution. I have watched its progress for decades, and it’s a fine example of the power of education and broadcasting, combined. Last night we happened to watch a BBC Two documentary produced as part of the OU series: ‘Secrets of Silicon Valley‘ by Jonathan Bartlett.

Its premise was that Silicon Valley (referred to as the Tech world) has a dark side; dark in the sense that it is changing society at such a fast rate that our social, political and legal structures are failing to keep up. The Tech companies view this as a good thing, and there is the collective vision – incredibly well-funded in its PR – that this is productive for us all and that the inevitable result, like the industrial revolution before it, will be that we’ll all have richer and better lives. TheTech define their own role in this vision as that of ‘The Disruptor’.

Read the rest of this thought provoking post and share your views: https://stevetanham.wordpress.com/2017/08/08/what-value-the-human/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Don Massenzio with a post on writing prompts. Where do we find inspiration for our stories.. is it our memories, images or headlines.. Find out more about what Stephen King had to say on the subject and where Don finds ideas for his own stories.

1. Use News Headlines

I’ve written many short stories and a couple of books by perusing the news headlines. My first published short story, Heal Thyself, came from a headline that I read and then embellished into a ‘what if’ scenario.

I used this piece as a way to overcome getting stuck while writing the novel. I remember traveling to Chicago for work for a period of time when I wrote this story. It was written completely by hand in a notebook while sitting in airports and on airplanes waiting to get somewhere.

Find out where else Don finds his inspiration and add yours too: https://donmassenzio.wordpress.com/2017/08/08/what-is-your-book-going-to-be-about/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Finally some expert advice on the various forms of poetry that are prompted each week by Colleen Chesebro.  This week, for those of us who are dabblers rather than experts in the art of Haiku, Tanka and Haibun, Colleen provides a masterclass…

HOW TO CREATE THE HAIKU in ENGLISH POETRY FORM

Are you new to writing the Haiku in English poetry form? Please read my page, How to Write a Haiku in English.
HOW TO CREATE THE TANKA POETRY FORM

Tanka poems are based on syllable structure much the same way a Haiku is written in the 5/7/5 format.

The Tanka form is easy to create: 5/7/5/7/7 and is a Haiku with two extra lines, of 7 syllables each consisting of five separate lines.

What makes a Tanka different from a Haiku is that the first three lines (5/7/5) are the upper phase. This upper stage is where you create an image in your reader’s mind.

The last two lines (7/7) of a Tanka poem are called the lower phase. Now here is where it gets interesting. The lower stage, the final two lines, should express the poet’s ideas about the image that was created in the three lines above.

Head over to acquaint yourself with the various formats available to express yourself in verse and then why not accept Colleen’s Challenge: https://colleenchesebro.com/2017/08/08/colleens-weekly-poetry-challenge-45-haiku-haibun-or-tanka-hate-pride/

Thank you for popping in today and please head over to these blogs and enjoy the full posts. Sally

12 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Tuesday 8th August 2017 – Lucinda E.Clarke, Steve Tanham, Don Massenzio and Colleen Chesebro

  1. Sally, thank you so much for featuring my poetry and my novel in this wonderful post. I must tell you that I think my poet participants are some of the most talented word-artists around. I have been enriched by their prose. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – FREE book, Invitation to a Party and brilliant writers. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

