Some of Thailand’s most unusual foods.

Carol Taylor shares some of the exotic and I have to be honest (unlikely to be eaten by Sally) foods in her adopted home in Thailand. If you like your frogs crispy then this is for you.. oh and did I mention the insects in batter? Anyway this post will serve to promote a new series starting tomorrow.. Cook from Scratch with Sally and Carol… I provide the ingredients (no frogs) and Carol will be turning them into several amazing dishes. Any insects will be purely decorative and there by choice not design! I hope you will join us for Salmon in all its glory just after midnight.

Retired? No one told me!

I got to thinking…….Ha Ha….Yes, you are right every last one of you, when I do that it’s dangerous!

On a weekend boat trip to the Red Lotus Lake, I was amazed when I learnt what you can make with the Lotus flower. It was so beautiful here just miles and miles of water covered in these lovely lotus flowers. Little did I know until our friendly boatman told us that these wetlands not only had fish but flora which was edible.

077

A long time ago the petals were used basically as fag papers..just like my dad used Rizzlas I used to sit and watch him with a child’s fascination as he rolled his tobacco into cigarettes.

The flowers are also edible and make lettuce cups look positively boring. The seed pods are lovely to eat just pop those little circles out..take off the outside and eat.

and some say they taste like…

View original post 632 more words

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

24 thoughts on “Some of Thailand’s most unusual foods.

  1. Thank you for the reblog Sally and I am looking forward to our collaboration and yes everyone there maybe the odd unusual dish but most will suit your palates 🙂 Promise 🙂 I hope you enjoy this new series 🙂 It will be fun and informative 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my dear friends here in France is a young woman from Thailand. She has been operating a food truck since the beginning of the year. No frogs though. 😉 I have visited Thailand, albeit briefly on the way to Vietnam and didn’t see any insects on the menu. 🙂 However, in Vietnam there was a sausage patty made from fish that was very popular. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

