Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Friday 11th August 2017 – Lucinda E. Clarke, Debby Gies (FREE Book) Steve Costello, Carmen Stefanescu and Christy Birmingham

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to Friday’s Blogger Daily with a small selection of terrific blog posts in the community today.  Starting with author Lucinda E. Clarke and her guest Lesley Hayes.

My guest this week lives in Oxford, England and is a psychotherapist by profession and a prolific writer. I enjoy her books which I would describe as deep, leaving lots of room for thought long after you read the last page. Again, Lesley is one of the earliest virtual friends I met on Facebook and we’re both in the Indie Authors Support and Discussion group. We re-tweet regularly and I do recommend her books they are truly inspiring.

My name is Lesley Hayes and I write… It feels like the opening to a confession at Writer’s Anonymous, and in a way that’s appropriate. Writing is a kind of addiction, a craving that can attack the soul with the sharp bite of a need demanding to be answered in the dead of night, at dawn, or at any unguarded point throughout the day. I began writing stories while I was at school, neglecting every other subject (apart from History, which intrigued me with its many lies and mysteries) and ducked university at the age of 17 to work on Honey magazine, where my first short story was published. It was the beginning of a long and fruitful love affair with writing for publication, which has weaved in and out of everything else I’ve done over the ensuing years.

Head over and find out more about Lesley and her books: https://lucindaeclarke.wordpress.com/2017/08/10/meet-lesley-hayes/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Debby Gies posted today with a #FREE offer of her book Words We Carry until August 15th.

About the book

“I have been a great critic of myself for most of my life, and I was darned good at it, deflating my own ego without the help of anyone else.”

What do our shopping habits, high-heeled shoes, and big hair have to do with how we perceive ourselves? Do the slights we endured when we were young affect how we choose our relationships now?

D.G. takes us on a journey, unlocking the hurts of the past by identifying situations that hindered her own self-esteem. Her anecdotes and confessions demonstrate how the hurtful events in our lives linger and set the tone for how we value our own self-worth.

Words We Carry is a raw, personal accounting of how the author overcame the demons of low self-esteem with the determination to learn to love herself.

Head over and read some of the sample reviews and follow links to dowload: https://dgkayewriter.com/words-carry-relationships-self-esteem-free-promotion-amazon/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Steve Costello is offering some author promotion in the form of Synopsis Thursday.. here are the details.

What an odd title to apply to Thursday! Well, not really because this is a new opportunity for authors to tell the world about their books. Here’s how it works.

You send a synopsis and link to your current or forthcoming book in 500 words, or less if you prefer and I will present it on my blog. In addition, I will promote the first one I receive each week (for seven days) on my social media accounts which are steadily growing.

No catches, that’s it, send a synopsis today.

Head over to Steve’s blog and introduce yourself: https://authorstevecostello.com/2017/08/10/synopsis-thursday/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

I was delighted to be interviewed by author Carmen Stefanescu this week and here is a snippet with a few more of my secrets with others in the rest of the post…

1 . What 3 words best describe you?

Inquisitive, Supportive, Joker

2. I’m sure we all have writing rituals, even if we’re not conscious of them! Do you have one, I mean do you need music playing in the background, have a certain snack at arm’s length, write with a certain type of pen/keyboard, drink coffee/tea/milk/juice while writing?

I am pretty easy going with my writing process, but once I get started I like to work through without interruption until I have finished a chapter, short story or post. I may come back to edit later, but I like to know that it is all there.

Find out more about my secrets! and check Carmen’s blog out: https://shadowspastmystery.blogspot.ie/2017/08/author-interview-and-spotlight-sally-g.html

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

And finally a post from Christy Birmingham on how we should be looking at care for the elderly. My philosophy is that “We will all be there one day”.. and on the premise that we should treat people the way we wish to be treated… we need as a society to get our act together.

Many people feel that the elderly are somewhat inconvenient. These people do not, or have not, experienced the wealth of getting to know an elderly relative or friend. Remember, the elderly do not exist in a static state. They weren’t ‘born old.’ They have lived a life of full experiences, lived through social situations and adventures you can only imagine, no matter how modest and humble they might seem at this stage in their life. Age brings with its dignity, and dignity brings with it independence. The elderly deserve respect, the utmost respect we can give.

What follows is a list of ways we can respect our elderly friends or family, to make them feel what they are, truly and completely vital to the fabric of a great society.

Read the rest of this important post: https://whenwomeninspire.com/2017/08/10/respecting-elderly-relative-latter-stages-life/

That is all folks for this bumper issue.. have a wonderful weekend and there will be a few posts going out including more stories from Geoff Cronin in Milestones.. Haiku and the weekly round up on Sunday.  Thanks Sally

18 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Friday 11th August 2017 – Lucinda E. Clarke, Debby Gies (FREE Book) Steve Costello, Carmen Stefanescu and Christy Birmingham

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Friday 11th August 2017 – Lucinda E. Clarke, Debby Gies (FREE Book) Steve Costello, Carmen Stefanescu and Christy Birmingham | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Sally! You’re a superstar 🙂 Thank you very much for the inclusion here with my post on elder care. Great to hear about Debby’s promo and the other author updates! I don’t know Steve so I will be sure to check out his blog too. Happy Friday! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on When Women Inspire and commented:
    It’s such an honor to be included in Sally Cronin’s Blogger Daily! If you don’t already follow her Smorgasbord blog, I highly recommend you do so. Also, check out the other authors in this update if you’re up for some new reads 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – FREE book, Invitation to a Party and brilliant writers. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

