Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Tuesday 15th August 2017 – #Ireland, Bit of Irish Sparkle, Ali Isaac, Brigid Gallagher and Sheila Kiely

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Time to shared a few of the outstanding posts that I have read today. If you would like to highlight one of your own posts then please send me a link to sally.cronin@moyhill.com

I thought today I would share some Irish themed blogs with you since there are some amazing ones around. Ireland is known for its wonderful scenery (suspiciously green) its coastline and wildlife, music and food and drink.. I hope I have managed to get a little of everything in today.

And to begin with a bit of music and a new blog to me.. which offers a Bit of Irish Sparkle.. count me in. Meet Dawn who is showcasing some recent Irish Country releases.

There have been a few new releases on the Irish Country music scene in the past couple of weeks so I though I would share some of my favourites with you.

Firstly a wonderful singer, Patrick Feeney and “Step it out Mary”, I love the girl Irish dancing on the beach and throughout the video. Patrick Feeney is known for his humour and often dresses up as characters for his video’s. For me, I’m not sure it works so well in this video but I love the song and the video all the same.

Head over and watch the wonderful selection of videos and the first one in particular is very catchy: https://atouchofirishsparkle.com/2017/08/11/new-music-friday/

Now a familiar face… Ali Isaac with her new series for anyone planning a visit to Ireland. Ali is sharing some of the places that she and her family enjoy and thinks you will too. Even for us already living here will get some useful day trip ideas from this series too. First on her list is Deerpark, County Cavan and Ali not only describes how you can get the most from this beautiful place but includes some great photographs.

I‘ve been coming here for years with my family, and love it just as much now as when I first ventured in among the trees. The Slí na Sláinte is a 5.5km circular walk through the forest, which passes the Virginia Golf Course, and follows the edge of Lough Ramor, but there is also a shorter 3km route, too.

The forest was established by the second Lord Headfort, Thomas Taylor, in the early nineteenth century; he planted ash, elm, oak, larch, spruce and Scots pine and some are still standing today. Now, the forest is managed by Coillte, but there is little interference with nature’s gardening plans.

The crumbling old boat house is all that remains of a once thriving ferry system which connected the small town of Virginia with Munterconnaught, dating as far back as the seventeenth century, when Virginia was established as a strategic staging and resting place for coaches travelling between Enniskillen and Dublin.

Head over and read the rest of the post and see the stunning surroundings for yourself:https://aliisaacstoryteller.com/2017/08/14/planning-your-visit-to-ireland-deerpark-forest/
 

Another blog which showcases all that is great about this island is by Brigid Gallagher.. She is on a blog break but she left this for us last week.. We have a seal sanctuary close to us at the harbour where they rescue and rehabilitate baby seals, but around Ireland there are opportunities to see these slippery creatures in their natural environment.. up close and personal.

The 41st Burtonport Summer Festival programme included “Seal Watching Trips” to see one of Ireland’s largest seal populations, with Jim Muldowney of Dive Arranmore.

“The islands and rocks of Dungloe Bay are home to around 300 seals including pups at this time of year”, the programme suggested. I felt compelled to book a place.

The weather was a little windy and clouds filled the sky, as we set off from Burtonport Harbour. “Elsie Jayne,” a purpose built dive boat, provided a choice of seating both indoors and out; I chose to embrace the ocean breeze in the outer seating area.

Jim provided a very interesting commentary throughout the trip. Passing Rutland Island, we learned that more than 600 people worked for Rutland Fisheries in the 1780’s, when herring fishing was at its peak.

Sadly, the fishing industry went into decline and the island is no longer inhabited, except for seasonal visitors to a number of holiday homes.

Head over and make sure you have taken your seasick pills… and go seal watching: https://watchingthedaisies.com/2017/08/04/the-wild-atlantic-way-seal-watching/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

We have had music, somewhere to visit to enjoy the Irish countryside and to enjoy Irish wildlife in the coastal waters. You must all be famished by now and so here is a recipe from an Irish food blog for Vegetarian Curry (yes we do enjoy international cuisine here and the ingredients are Irish). Sheila Kiely shares a recipe from one her cookbooks.

What I’m looking for when I cook is simplicity, accessible ingredients and taste. I will do anything to avoid chop, chop, chopping and keep the prep. simple. I love all vegetables but I hate prep. especially awkward peeling and then hard chopping. Case in point turnips. To my shame I probably only cook turnip a couple of times a year. It is delicious when cubed, tenderly cooked and smothered in butter or mashed with white pepper. I am sorry turnip, you’ve been neglected because you are such flipping hard work. But you are delicious and you are worth it. Turnip I shall revisit you anon. But there is no turnip in this recipe.

Read the rest of the post and make note of the recipe for this simple to make Vegetarian curry, also browse Sheila’s archives.. I am sure you will find plenty of easy and delicious recipes to enjoy: https://gimmetherecipe.com/2017/08/14/vegetarian-curry/

And now you will be wanting a drink to go with your meal. There are a few other things we are known for in Ireland and Guinness is one of them… some people go that extra mile on a Saturday to get their pint..

I hope you have enjoyed today’s selection and that you have a good evening.. see you again soon.. Sally

 

19 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Tuesday 15th August 2017 – #Ireland, Bit of Irish Sparkle, Ali Isaac, Brigid Gallagher and Sheila Kiely

  1. I love your Irish theme today, Sally! I think it would be an excellent idea to do something similar with bloggers from other countries, although I could see maybe language issues Here! Thanks for including me here. Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – The Good Life #Waterford History and amazing guest writers | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

