Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – New on the Shelves – And The Whippoorwill Sang by Micki Peluso

Please give a warm welcome to Micki Peluso who is joining the Cafe and Bookstore with her memoir And The Whippoorwill Sang which is now in Kindle format.

About the book

It is a day like any other, except the intense heat wave has broken and signs of early fall are in the air.

Around the dining room table of her 100 year old farmhouse Micki Peluso’s six children along with three of their friends eagerly gulp down a chicken dinner. As soon as the last morsel is ravished, the lot of them is off in different directions. Except for the one whose turn it is to do the dishes. After offering her mother a buck if she’ll do them, with an impish grin, the child rushes out the front door, too excited for a hug, calling out, “Bye Mom,” as the door slams shut. For the Peluso’s the nightmare begins.

Micki and Butch face the horror every parent fears—awaiting the fate of one of their children. While sitting vigil in the ICU waiting room, Micki traverses the past, as a way of dealing with an inconceivable future.

From the bizarre teenage elopement with her high school sweetheart, Butch, in a double wedding with her own mother, to comical family trips across country in an antiquated camper with six kids and a dog, they leave a path of chaos, antics and destruction in their wake. Micki relives the happy times of raising six children while living in a haunted house, as the young parents grow up with their kids. She bravely attempts to be the man of the house while her husband, Butch is working out of town.

Hearing strange noises, which all the younger kids are sure is the ghosts, Micki tiptoes down to the cellar, shotgun in hand and nearly shoots an Idaho potato that has fallen from the pantry and thumped down the stairs. Of course her children feel obligated to tell the world.

Just when their lives are nearly perfect, tragedy strikes—and the laughter dies. A terrible accident takes place in the placid valley nestled within the Susquehanna Mountains in the town of Williamsport, Pennsylvania. On a country lane just blocks from the family’s hundred year old haunted farmhouse, lives are changed forever.

In a state of shock, Micki muses through their delightful past to avoid confronting an uncertain future—as the family copes with fear and apprehension.

One of her six children is fighting for life in Intensive Care. Both parents are pressured by doctors to disconnect Noelle, their fourteen-year-old daughter. Her beautiful girl, funny and bright, who breathes life into every moment, who does cartwheels in piles of Autumn leaves, who loves to sing and dance down country roads, and above all loves her family with all her soul. How can Micki let this child go?

The family embarks upon yet another journey, to the other side of sorrow and grasps the poignant gift of life as they begin. . .to weep. . .to laugh. . .to grieve. . .to dance—and forgive.

Two of the many excellent reviews for the book

This is an exceptional story, providing a glimpse of the author’s life with her family. I don’t read many memoirs, but I found And the Whippoorwill Sang extremely hard to put down. The style is engaging and the sequence of events keeps the reader flipping pages.

From her marriage at seventeen, through the births of each of her children, several moves across country, and the ups and downs of family life and marriage, Micki Peluso tells her story candidly. Throughout, the reader knows of the coming tragedy that claims the life of one of Micki’s daughters, heartbreak that makes it bittersweet reading about Noelle and her close-knit family.

I’m sure writing this story was difficult. I was emotional reading the tale so I can only imagine how hard it had to be dredging up memories and trotting them out for the world to see. This is a superb book, and despite the inherent sadness of where the story heads, there is much joy throughout. As someone who lives in Pennsylvania, I found the sections set in that state particularly interesting. I loved reading about the “haunted farmhouse” the family lived in for many years. I’m not sure I would have been brave enough to stay! I also really appreciated the conclusion of the book in which Ms. Peluso shared how each family member fared in life.

Well-written with humor, sadness and frankness in equal measure, And the Whippoorwill Sang is a powerful read.

on February 22, 2017

I love this heartwarming family tale,‘And The Whippoorwill Sang by Micki Peluso!’ It is beautifully written and I could not put this book down.

It is about a large family handling the constant changes in their lives as the grow up and the heartbreaking lost of one young daughter. The story is part family struggles; part lost, and part romantic comedy. Think a touch of the TV show The MIDDLE’s Mike and Frankie.
Micki Peluso’s descriptive style as well as her description of emotions and places add charm and meaning to the story. She defines each of her children and family members well. I feel that I really know this family.

When I got this book I was worried about how I would be emotionally while reading it having lost members of my own family. I rarely read non-fiction. But in truth, I was able to fully relate and see parts of my own life that would have been upsetting, now with clarity.

Read all the reviews and buy the book: https://www.amazon.com/Whippoorwill-Sang-Micki-Peluso-ebook/dp/B007OWPBGK

Also by Micki Peluso

One of the reviews for The Cat Who Wanted a Dog.

D.L. Finn rated it Five Stars on Goodreads

This is a children’s book based on a true story about a cat named Toby. What is unique about this book is you can color in it, too–so it is worth buying in print form just for that. I got this to read to my grandchildren ages ranging from: eight to one and a half years old. I sat down individually with each of them starting with my six-year-old granddaughter, who is just starting to read and loves cats and dogs. This was the perfect story for her, plus the bonus she could color in it after! She had the crayons out the minute we finished reading.

Everyone else got to enjoy her coloring, including her eight-year-old brother. He listened quietly and asked a lot of questions about the animals. He was very engaged in the tale of Toby. Although, he passed on the coloring portion he liked the story. The youngest, at one in a half, could not sit through the story, but was more than ready to color and loved the pictures of the cat and dog. She is usually being told not to color in books, so a nice addition for her! What an endearing story, that we could all relate to no matter what our age! I will be reading this many times to my grandkids, and it will be a little different each time as the coloring continues.

Micki Peluso has also contributed to anthologies.

Read all the reviews and buy the books: https://www.amazon.com/Micki-Peluso/e/B002BLZ7JK

Read more reviews and follow Micki on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1156697.Micki_Peluso

About Micki Peluso

I have written since I learned to hold a pencil. But life interfered with serious writing until a tragedy struck my family. This time I took up the pen and wrote as a catharsis to my grief–where spoken words failed, written words helped heal my wounded soul.

My first short story of the incident was published in Victimology:an International Journal, launching a career in journalism. When writing for newspapers there were no more rejections, a nice surprise. I became a staff freelance writer for a bi-weekly award winning newspaper and freelance slice of life writer for my local paper, serving a city of 600,000 people. The diversity of writing for newspapers let me experiment in many areas of writing from essays, commentaries, interviews, humor, pathos, analogy, and short fiction.

I have recently published my first non-fiction book, . . .AND THE WHIPPOORWILL SANG, dedicated to the one I lost. Published by LspDigital, it is a funny, poignant celebration of life rather than a eulogy of death. My newly released children’s book, ‘The Cat Who Wanted a Dog’ is a coloring and illustrated book for ages from 4-9 years old.

Connect to Micki on social media.

Blog: http://mallie1025.blogspot.ie/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/micki.peluso
Twitter: https://twitter.com/mickipeluso

Thank you very much for dropping in today and please extend the welcome to Micki by sharing her books.. thanks Sally

38 thoughts on “Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – New on the Shelves – And The Whippoorwill Sang by Micki Peluso

  1. Pingback: Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – New on the Shelves – And The Whippoorwill Sang by Micki Peluso | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. I know Micki for a few years now. We have become good cyber friends, and hopefully one day we will meet in person. I know she is coming to the party and we are looking forward to enjoying the company of many other wonderful people that I know thanks to the internet. Thank you for hosting such a great event, Sally. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Micki Peluso is an incredibly talented author and has become a dear friend as well. Despite enduring the unthinkable tragedy of the loss of a child, amazingly she has kept her finely tuned sense of humor intact. Aside from winning Tales2Inspire awards for the two T2I books pictured above, she won several more for her slice-of-life humorous stories now published in Tales2Inspire ~ The Crystal Collection (Stories that Tickle the Funny Bone). This is a gal who doesn’t just LOVE to write, she NEEDS to. write. Go gal, go!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Copy that!! My TBR is taller than I am and I’m tall. I’m trying to read the short ones first now so I can get the number in line.I may not be able to live long enough to read them all lol and I keep seeing more that I want.:)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – End of Summer Parties, Great guests and Music | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up. End of Summer Party. – The Militant Negro™

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

