New Sunday Show Interview series – The Ultimate Bucket List – A test run with Sally Cronin

It is time to bring back the Sunday Show interview series after a summer hiatus, and as usual I have come up with a new theme. The Ultimate Bucket List. 

It is also a great opportunity to showcase your blog or books.

I was reading recently what the top ten activities were listed on the average person’s bucket list (things to do before you die) and this particular list caught my eye as it was both entertaining and seemed to include most of the common wishes that my friends have talked about.

If you have an author you have already achieved one dream that it seems most people desire.. at #8 is the desire to write a book. And for some of us (say she hopefully) at #10 is the wish to be successful at what we work at.

There are the usual madcap, highly dangerous, get you close to kicking the bucket entries such as #7 where you have to throw yourself out of a perfectly functioning plane!  But surprisingly there were some less lethal desires such as #5 to see all the wonders of the World.

I was rather pleased that I had also accomplished #4 which was to learn a new language and #2 climb a mountain. Most people apparently opt for Everest, but I have been slightly less ambitious but in our younger years we have hiked up some pretty impressive mountains in the Alps and also in the UK.. All of which provided stunning views and pledges to give up smoking!

I have also accomplished #3 which is to run a marathon but not sure doing in four chunks over two weeks counts!

What I did find interesting and I think you will too, is that the #1 wish on the bucket list is to find love… whatever age you are. I thought that was tremendous, as apart from most of the other activities on the list, except for being successful… this one could be for life rather than for a few minutes, hours or days.

Anyway you can read all the explanations of the individual wishes here: https://www.onlytoptens.com/all/top-10-bucket-list-ideas/

The Sunday Show Interview and Promotion.

In this interview series I would love to know what your top TWO items are on your bucket list and if you have not written one yet, then perhaps it is time to get your thinking caps on.

When you have given the matter some thought you can send to me. I have done an example below to give you an idea of the format.

By the end of the series, if we have a lot of guests, (hint, hint) we should be able to compile a pretty comprehensive list of activities with something for everyone.  I will pull all the wishes together into our own Ultimate Top Ten Bucket List that might take the place of the the one I have featured.

You are all writers of blogs, books, fiction, non-fiction, poetry etc.

The readers will want to be convinced that these activities are worthy of putting on the ultimate bucket list, so please give full details of what it is, where if applicable and definitely the why and how.  As you can see not all wishes are physical and do not worry if you feel that your chosen item is everyday for others. This is your wish list and you can put anything you like in it.

Also it is taken for granted that you as an individual would do all you can to help others achieve their dreams, help animals in dire trouble and love and support your family. This particular list is about YOU.  The top two wishes that you have reserved just for yourself.

We have traveled and lived in many countries, and apart from falling thousands of feet at the end of a small bit of silk, I  have been very lucky to have achieved quite a few of the activities on this particular bucket list. But I do have a list that I am slowly working through, but many of the activities that involve the health and welfare of others, depend on me obtaining the income and influence to effect change. Which is why I have a specific wish at the top of my list.

Let me give you an example of #1 on my bucket list for myself.

Only kidding….

I have had several people tell me that Just an Odd Job Girl, which was my first novel would make a great movie in the style of Bridget Jones Diary. That is amazingly flattering but also very difficult to achieve. Sylvester Stallone sent the script around for the first Rocky films to around 400 agents. His one proviso was that he played the lead role in the film and this was a stumbling block. However, eventually he succeeded and the Rocky Franchise was established.

To make this happen I have to get the story into script format. I had hoped to do this myself but there are only so many hours in the day. One of the great benefits of blogging is that you develop a community around you who have many creative writing skills. For example, on of my previous ambitions was to translate one of my books into Spanish. That is now in process with the lovely author and translator Olga Nunez Miret. Now I am looking for a scriptwriter who might be willing to take the task on to script Just an Odd Job Girl.

Once that is done I will then begin the submission process with agents here in Ireland, including the one who I began my writing career with in 1999. Then I was a first time author without media exposure, but now I have 11 books and a radio presenting career behind me and a growing social media presence. I am hoping this will help me get in the door at least. I will also be sending a copy of the script to certain actors who also have production companies and I have it in my mind that Pierce Brosnan would make a fantastic male lead for the story….. and guess what.. he has a production company.

This is where it verges on the fantasy realm, since it is still a million to one chance that it will go further. But, I would love to see this story on the big screen and with a shot at the Oscars (hahaha) since another experience on my wish list is to go to the Academy Awards. Now wouldn’t that be grand!

To give you a guideline for how many words per wish … between 250 and 400.

Which leads me onto #2 on my personal bucket list… Get back into this dress and jacket! Unfortunately the How bit for this one would run to several pages… so for now just the end goal!

Don’t worry if your top two personal goals on your bucket list are the same as others. You may find that another writer’s how and where might help you achieve your dream.

I will be putting the usual introduction, bio, books, links, images etc. At this stage.. all I would like is for you to contact me at sally.cronin@moyhill.com and let me know you are interested in participating. I already have a few volunteers so get your name into me as soon as possible.

If anything I have said is unclear and you have questions about what is expected from you then just ask.

This is open to all of you even if you have been interviewed in the past. This is a new theme and you are welcome.. This is an opportunity to showcase your work.

Look forward to hearing from you. Thanks Sally.

 

 

 

 

74 thoughts on “New Sunday Show Interview series – The Ultimate Bucket List – A test run with Sally Cronin

  1. Pingback: New Sunday Show Interview series – The Ultimate Bucket List – A test run with Sally Cronin | Annette Rochelle Aben

  2. Lovely idea, Sally! You have great bucket list ideas! As I was reading the common ones, I recognized myself in throwing self out of moving airplane (I’ll add “attached to an expert”), climb a mountain, and write a book. But I was definitely not into running a marathon. Hiking for that distance, sure. Just not running. 🙂 I would be interested in sharing my 2 top bucket list items. Glad you narrowed it down to personal ones…because otherwise I would have to say mediate world peace and erase hunger. The hard part will be deciding on the top 2. Thanks, Sally! Hugs xxx

    Liked by 2 people

      • LOL kicking the bucket is often on my mind these days – I hear you! Oh I would have to give it a good deal of thought. I have had a lucky life in Music I suppose so a list had never crossed my mind…now I have a book coming out in November I guess we have some aims and ambitions for it and Christina (Jones) and I. World domination, huge success and millions of readers….lol. For me just getting it published after 5 years in the writing has been the icing on the cake, and writing with someone so popular and established as Christina has been a huge thrill for me. xxxx

        Like

  3. I’ve done a lot of fun and interesting things in my life, but there are several things I’ve always wanted to do, and still haven’t gotten to. The #1 item on my bucket list would be to visit Scotland. I make a lot of jokes about men in kilts, but truly, it’s so much more than that. (Not that I wouldn’t be enjoying those kilt-clad guys, you understand.) But everything about Scotland appeals to me, at least from the pictures and movies I’ve seen. The history, the scenic beauty, highland cattle (for some reason, they captivate me), and, yeah. Men in kilts. I do SO want to see it for myself some day.

    In fact, I want to visit Scotland so much, it has sort of slopped over into the #2 spot, as well. My desire to go there is way too big for just one spot! 😀 But maybe, it could share #2 with a trip to Wales, Cornwall, Yorkshire, and all the other settings from the many gothic romances I read during my misspent youth. 😀

    The rest of my list pales in comparison to the above, except for someday owning a cabin on a North Carolina mountainside, of course. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: New Sunday Show Interview series – The Ultimate Bucket List – A test run with Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  5. This is fantastic Sal! What a fun series this will be! And exactly my thoughts about Odd Job Girl, similar to a Bridget Jones type movie. See I told ya that was my favorite book of yours! I hope when it wins an Academy Award you might take me along! 🙂 I will give some thought to my bucket list, I’ve never really thought about it. Now I will. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I would be happy to participate but I will have to think what are my top 2…it is easier to think of 10 things but choosing 2 most important ones for yourself is kinda tough. Lol! Happy to see the Flipboard button.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Ancestry DNA Results, Ultimate Bucket List and Black Cats | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  8. Pingback: Smorgasbord Sunday Interview – The Ultimate Bucket List with Carol Taylor | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  9. Your official countdown just made my day. I achieved number one, I found my true love. This used to be number one on my bucket list as well…but no more. This makes for one very happy woman and if my indication is correct for one very happy man. The worlds problems are solved… Okay maybe not, maybe just in my little, tiny world. Of course the circumstances to achieve number one was fraught with many hurdles.
    My other dream is to visit New Zealand. This doesn’t sound to difficult. But who will take care of our, at present, six dogs? Who is generous enough to finance the trip? Maybe if I sell enough of my children’s books? After all it only takes money.
    I did enjoy reading the various wishes on fellow writer’s bucket list.
    Oh there’s one other thing, but this other thing comes after the bucket list has expired. If there’s a heaven, I want to be with all my animals. Just saying….

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Smorgasbord Sunday Interview – The Ultimate Bucket List – Living the Dream with Sue Vincent. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  11. Pingback: Smorgasbord Sunday Interview – The Ultimate Bucket List – Living the Dream | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

  12. Pingback: Smorgasbord Sunday Interview – The Ultimate Bucket List – Author Steve Costello | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  13. Pingback: Smorgasbord Sunday Interview – The Ultimate Bucket List – Author Luanne Castle with Time Travel and Zeeland | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  14. Pingback: Blogshares and Writing contests

  15. Pingback: Smorgasbord Sunday Interview – The Ultimate Bucket List – Owls and Learning Greek by Amy M. Reade | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  16. Pingback: Smorgasbord Sunday Interview – The Ultimate Bucket List – Something close to my Heart by Paul Andruss | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  17. Sorry I’m late to the party! What a great idea for an interview. You will get so many different perspectives, Sally. Just reading your example opens my mind to the possibilities. I don’t have a bucket list, mostly because I feel like I am living my life the way I want it (in an alternative and exciting way), but recently, and especially after reading your blog post, making a list is probably a fun thing to do. Up to now, I would come up with countries and places I want to visit. After your example, I realize there could be so many more things to achieve, that have (almost) nothing to do with travel!

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

