Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Tuesday September 5th 2017 – Lizzie Chantree, Debby Gies, Olga Nunez Miret, The Story Reading Ape/Diana Wallace Peach

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Welcome to the daily round-up of some of the posts that I have enjoyed. The Blogger Daily came about because I was aware that I was re-blogging a great deal. And I do want to remind you not to sign up for notifications for my posts as your email box will be inundated. You can opt for a weekly reminder, but every Sunday there is the round up post that gives you the links as an option.

Today – please put the link to your most recent post in the comments so that those who might have missed it can head over and read.. you never know you might end up with some interesting connections with new people.

The first post today is on a subject close to my heart. It does not take much to make me cry…books, movies, onions!  However, Lizzie Chantree shares the good news about the health benefits of having a good cry. (FYI – if there is a dog in a movie David puts out the tissues in advance!  And I can be embarrassing in the cinema when I have a good sob).

Most people think crying is because of low self-esteem or any other huge array of emotions, but apparently it can make you more productive. Who knew! Embracing who you are and showing some vulnerability can be cathartic.

Crying flushes out bacteria and toxins. As tears leave your body, toxins flow and cleanse your system. Tears also fight against bacteria and do wonders for your overall health! Crying also relieves our emotions and balances our manganese levels. Too much manganese leaves us feeling nervous and irritable.

Find out more about the benefits of crying: https://lizziechantree.com/2017/09/05/crying-it-all-out/

Now a word of warning from Debby Gies who had the most dreadful week as her WordPress site crashed.. Here she explains why and also gives a strongly worded warning.

Friday September 1st was a terrible day for me. It was one of those days when “Murphy” just keeps giving the gift that just keeps giving – Murphy’s Law = Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong. It began with my website crashing and got progressively worse as the day went on in other aspects. But for today we’re going to stick to the website crashing and hopefully, how none of you will have to endure this.

After I finished writing and saving in draft my posts for next the upcoming week’s blog posts, I obeyed the WordPress plugin notification which clearly stated that ‘This plugin is compatible with your latest version of WordPress’, click to update. BUT IT WAS NOT!

Find out more about what happened so you can avoid the same disaster: https://dgkayewriter.com/day-website-crashed-happened-beware-wordpress-plugin-updates/

Olga Nunez Miret writes amazing reviews for the books that she reads and this week she is featuring Tipping Point by Terry Tyler

My review:

I’ve known Terry Tyler, the author of this book, for a while, mostly through her reviews of other writer’s books (we seem to share a similar taste in novels and she’s partly responsible for my starting to read more historical fiction), but although I’ve been aware of her books for some time, and I’ve read very good reviews of them, I found it difficult to decide which one of them to read first. When she offered me a copy of her new novel, the first in a trilogy (and there is a story arc that develops through it, so no, you should not expect a conventional ending if you read this novel, and you should read the series in order if you want to fully understand the story), I took her up on the offer, as I could kill two birds with one stone. I’d read a novel that sounded very intriguing and I would also have read a work by an author I’d wanted to check out for quite a while.

This book is a post-apocalyptic novel set in the near future (2024 to be precise) in the UK. Although some of the specific locations are fictional, the author explains in a note at the end where the original inspiration for some of them came from, and indeed, some are real. The setting is one of the great achievements of the novel. For those of us who live in the UK, it is all too real and familiar (with the shops, facilities, political and social organisation, TV programmes, food, language, and even typical behaviours of the population) and that makes it, in many ways, scarier than novels that are set either in imaginary locations, or in vague settings, that in their attempt at representing everywhere sometimes become too unfamiliar and alienating.

Read the rest of this in-depth review: http://www.authortranslatorolga.com/2017/09/05/tuesdaybookblog-bookreview-tipping-point-project-renova-book-1-by-terry-tyler-terrytyler4-a-post-apocalyptic-story-of-a-britain-that-is-so-familiar-it-is-truly-scary/

A wonderful post by Diana Wallace Peach as a guest of the Story Reading Ape.. Diana has a great deal of experience in creating worlds within her books and she shares this expertise in this article. World Building – Part One – Settings for all Genres.

As a fantasy/science-fiction writer, I’ve stacked up a bit of experience with world-building that I’ve wanted to share, and The Story-Reading Ape’s blog is the perfect venue.

Now don’t run away if you don’t write speculative fiction. Clearly, world-building is a key part of bringing fantasy and science-fiction stories to life, but it plays a role in all fiction, and in some non-fiction as well.
Setting as Character

Most of us probably agree that the physical places within our stories need to feel authentic. But if we create them as mere backdrops to the action, we’re missing an opportunity to enrich our readers’ experiences. In great fiction, setting plays a role in the story. It’s changeable, a help, a hindrance, a metaphor, a mood, possibly even a character in the drama.

Fantasy author Brandon Sanderson is a proponent of the idea of setting-as-character and builds a “character profile” of the world he’s designing. From his character’s point of view, the world has “personality” including strengths, flaws, and quirks.

Regardless of your genre, the world in which your characters live shapes their experiences. Selecting an effective setting is as vital as choosing the right players and plot. The world might be a friend or foe to your protagonists and villains alike as they navigate a dynamic environment.

Read the rest of this very interesting and also helpful post for all of us: https://thestoryreadingapeblog.com/2017/09/03/world-building-settings-for-all-genres-guest-post-by-diana-peach/

 

This entry was posted in It is a Wonderful Life. by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

My name is Sally Cronin and I am doing what I love.. Writing. Books, short stories, Haiku and blog posts. My previous jobs are only relevant in as much as they have gifted me with a wonderful filing cabinet of memories and experiences which are very useful when putting pen to paper. I move between non-fiction health books and posts and fairy stories, romance and humour. I love variety which is why I called my blog Smorgasbord Invitation and you will find a wide range of subjects. You can find the whole story here. Find out more at https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/about-me/

38 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Tuesday September 5th 2017 – Lizzie Chantree, Debby Gies, Olga Nunez Miret, The Story Reading Ape/Diana Wallace Peach

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Tuesday September 5th 2017 – Lizzie Chantree, Debby Gies, Olga Nunez Miret, The Story Reading Ape/Diana Wallace Peach | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  2. Another fabulous collection, Sally! I missed a few today, so I’m glad I caught them here. Thank you!

    This is a recent blog post I shared and appreciate your suggestion to include it here, in the comments.
    “Life can change in an instant. No misdeeds necessary. No signature required.” It is my hope that readers will connect with my words in a way that is cathartic and soothing. I hope they can travel back with welcomed reflection, find solace and wisdom in the present, and feel inspired for the journey that lies before them. This is my hope and prayer. https://natalieducey.com/2017/08/30/life-can-change-in-an-instant/
    Thank you! XO

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Ancestry DNA Results, Ultimate Bucket List and Black Cats | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

