Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Wednesday, September 13th 2017 – Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, Janice Spina and The Non Smoking Lady Bug

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

When we lived up in the mountains above Madrid we did have frequent power cuts when we first bought the house and one or two times were were snowed in. In the summer water could become scarce on occasion and so I always had five or six 5 litre water casks, dry food staples and candles etc. Not very usual around here but I will admit to having a go bag. If anything happened to a member of our family and we had to dash off at a moment’s notice we have everything we need to hand and can be out the door in five minutes.

Madelyn Griffith-Haynie takes this to the next level, which is planning for a disaster scenario and is particularly important if you have children. Most of us could go a week or so without eating much food but a child cannot.. nor can we survive long without fresh water.. Here is just one of the areas she covers which is vital if you are cut off for very long from outside help. Madelyn also covers more everyday events that we should be more prepared for.

Available online are lots of lists of necessary supplies and foodstuffs in the event that some BIG “Stuff Hits The Fan.” I’ve linked a few in the Related ‘Round the Web section, found at the bottom of almost all of my articles.

As comprehensive as some of them are, only a few go much beyond what the average Joe or JoAnna needs to gather to be ready for the kinds of emergencies that seem most likely to occur at some time in future.

Those of us with ADD/EFD (and cousins) must add our own symptom-specific needs to those lists.

The most obvious of these is MEDICATION.

Many of us take medication that is Scheduled, and our not-so-wonderful, short-sighted law-makers have made it impossible for us to have a month’s back up (or even an extra week!).

We have to get a new prescription every single month, and no sooner (and often have to wait as long as a week – or TWO – for our pharmacies to get it together to order our medication!)

Have you asked your doctor what you will do to remain medicated in the event of a national emergency?

Find out what else you should have on standby and how to prepare for regular unexpected events: https://addandsomuchmore.com/2017/09/08/emergency-prep-for-lives-that-have-a-lot-of-them/

I think most of us are aware how emotionally charged reading can be and take full advantage of our tottering TBRs… Apart from millions of people around the world who have never been taught to read, even those in our own worlds never pick up a book or read a short story. Some of us were lucky enough to have family and teachers who ignited our love of books early. Janice Spina points out all the great benefits there are to reading and it is a reminder of what an amazing gift it is we have.

Books for all ages!

When we read a book it is like traveling around the world, or to outer space, or to a land that only exists in a writer’s mind, or into the mind of a killer, or into the animal kingdom, or on a visit to an exotic location, or into the world of faeries or science fiction.

We can go wherever we choose to go! All we need to do is pick up a book about whatever interests us. There are millions of books online, in book stores or libraries to choose from. We can escape for as long as we choose to read.

Did you know that reading is good for you? It not only increases your word vocabulary and stimulates your mind, but also gives you a feeling of wellbeing and promotes good health, dispels feelings of loneliness, improves your memory, promotes better patterns of sleep, and don’t forget – it brings families closer when they share and read books together.

Head over and read more about this gift we already have: https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com/2017/09/12/reading-is-good-for-you/

Smorgasbord Blogger Daily

Since we are on the subject of reading, I thought that this post from the Non Smoking Lady Bug might just get you thinking, and I hope you will head over and share your views on the subject matter. Having been an Indie author for nearly 20 years I have now little expectation of being picked up by a mainstream publisher. That is okay, and I do believe that those who have reviewed my books have enjoyed them which is a great reward.

Whilst I would love one of my books to make it into the film world, I understand that there are thousands of titles written by far better authors than I am waiting in the wings. But, I have been a reader for 60 years and have enjoyed books by many of the bestselling authors of our time. And I have also read books by Indie authors who I have equally enjoyed. Many are bestselling authors who have created fan bases who keep coming back for more. They are well written, edited, formatted and designed for both print and eBooks and that is key for any book, Indie or otherwise.

I will leave you to head over and read all the article, and the comments, which are also interesting.

Many bloggers publish their own books these days. I wanted to help, wanted to support my fellow bloggers and bought many -too many- of the so called Indie books. I always left nice reviews, because that’s what we bloggers are supposed to do. We don’t want to lose a reader and a follower, with that in mind, we stretch the truth as far as possible. We praise, and leave polite comments, even if we don’t care for something. Blogging politics at it’s best.

Indie writers and Indie books! I didn’t even know they existed before I entered the blogging world. The number of bloggers who promoted their own books overwhelmed me at first and took me by surprise. “Surely, they must be good, or they wouldn’t do that.”

But then if you think about it. If a book is good, a publishing house would be interested in it, or not?

When I just started blogging, I felt surprised, when the first “Author” followed my little blog. I felt star struck, couldn’t believe my luck. It was just logical for me to order her book; it felt like it was the right thing to do. After all, she was following my blog.

I love books, love to read and couldn’t wait to read some of the self-published books. I read the first, then another, and another after that. Different books, different stories…same result. I didn’t care for it. The books never even made it in the donation pile.

Read the rest of the post and leave your views there please: https://nonsmokingladybug.wordpress.com/2017/09/08/rotten-tomatoes-for-indie-books/

That is it for today and the last Blogger Daily for about 10 days as I get on with my WIP… thanks Sally

42 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – Wednesday, September 13th 2017 – Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, Janice Spina and The Non Smoking Lady Bug

  1. Hi Sally, a really interesting selection of posts here. I read the one about rotten tomatoes for Indie books with great interest. I have been blogging for just under one year and during that time have met some wonderful bloggers and writers. I usually follow a blog for a while and will only really continue to read posts by a particular blogger if they interest me and are well written. I have discovered so much talent out here in the blogging/Indie author community. I have also found that if I enjoy the blog I always enjoy the book written by that blogger. I am a huge reader. I taught myself to read at 4 years old and I had read every children’s book in our large library by the time I was 9. About five years ago, I had given up on traditional books and taken to only reading children’s and adults classics. The reason for this choice was that I could never finish a book. I could general work out the ending before I was 1/3 into a book. Traditional books have lost their uniqueness. They are written largely to a formula (except for Stephen King and some of his recent books have been horrible). Discovering Indie books has changed this for me and I am reading vociferously again. If I don’t like a book, I don’t review it at all. Apologies for this long comment, but I did feel that post was rather sweeping about so many books and writers.

    Liked by 6 people

    • I think you will find that your followers for your blog and those that buy your books and review are not doing it just to be nice. You needn’t worry about that. And the fact those that followed me four years ago are still following me today and buying my books gives me some comfort. It does show that we still have some way to go to prove that most Indie authors are just as worthy as any author. hugs xxx

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Thank you so much for including me in this round-up, Sally. Again, I am honored.

    I jumped over to read and comment on Non Smoking Lady Bug’s post before leaving this comment and saw your comment asking her not to give up on Indie-pubs. Thank YOU for making me aware of it so I could leave my comment offering a different perspective as well. Gracious and open-minded of you, as an Indie-author, to have included what amounts to “a negative review” of Indie publishers. That’s what I love about your blog!
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 5 people

  3. Sal, great choices today! You’re a class act! I might decide to tell that one who clearly needs a cigarette! that even Stephen King was rejected over 250 times before his first book was picked up. We live in an era where we don’t have to wait for a publisher’s approval to publish. She should get her head out of the dinosaur era! She has no conception what it takes to be a writer, let alone what’s involved in self published, marketing, etc. I thought that BS stigma was lifted off Indies by now. Even trad published authors are pulling some of their books to self publish. I’m much too angry to comment on that blog so thanks for allowing me to let off some steam here today. ❤

    Liked by 4 people

    • I must admit Debby that I thought that I had left it behind many years ago.. and when I see the books that come through to us to be formatted and published, it is clear the work, effort, time and care that has gone into writing them.. I interviewed many authors on air and under the skin they were all the same, passionate about their writing however they were published, and there are great and not go good in both groups.. but at least they put themselves on the line to be judged. And feel free to let off steam anytime. hugs xx

      Liked by 3 people

  4. Pingback: My thoughts on Indie books – Robbie's inspiration

  5. I love Madelyn’s blog. Just discovered it through Debby and it’s informative and interesting. Lots of fantastic posts on there.

    So… I’ll go ahead and acknowledge the elephant in the room shall I? Or, ladybug, as the case may be. 😉 I did read but didn’t comment. I thought the “stigma” of indies had lessened a bit. I suppose I was wrong. This is the second erm…negative opinion (I’m sorry, this was kind of an attack) on self-published authors I’ve seen today. One on Twitter and this one. The ladybug didn’t seem to have any middle ground there. Just full-on “ALL self-published authors suck. Period. End of story. I wish they’d get what’s coming to them (bad reviews). If they were any good at all, they’d be traditionally published.” Hmm. Not a very balanced argument. I understand what she was saying but I think the post and her comments were beyond negative. As far as indie authors go, I have read some terrible books and I have read some amazing books. As far as traditional authors go, I have read some terrible books and some amazing books. I know many authors didn’t even attempt to go after an agent or get traditionally published before self-publishing. I did not (and don’t intend to for any future books). I’m not saying I would have gotten published by a traditional publisher, but I didn’t try. I made a choice not to go that route. *shrugs*

    Well, we indies are, apparently, not good enough. We are chaff and should be thrown away unless someone somewhere decides we are grain. I call bullshit on that. 🙂 ❤ Carry on, my fellow indies. Be the best damn writers you can be. Write, edit, revise, polish, publish. Be grain, my friends!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you Sarah.. and I totally agree with you. I had it from family and friends when after two years with an agent I decided to self-publish 18 years ago – as I commented to Robbie… the seven publishers actually liked the book but felt that I was unmarketable because I was 46 and had no public entity.. In fact you will find that more often than not it is the bottom line that is the issue here and not the book that has been submitted. Trends are considered, are there likely to be more books from this author that will be bestsellers, and dare I say are they attractive enough to market in the media that is so geared to age and looks. Unless you are a celebrity, your memoir, how extraordinary is not going to make them money. These are just some of the factors taken into consideration by publishers even before they have opened to the first page of your manuscript. However, I have been saying from day one that you have to produce the same quality of book whether you are Indie or Trad published and if you do then you have every right to be proud of it and to market it with confidence… xxx♥

      Liked by 3 people

      • Traditional publishing is, for sure, a fickle business.

        You make a fabulous argument – spot on. And that is the bottom line here, Sally. We can write and talk and blog about indie authors all we want but, at the end of the day, the thing that will speak loudest is quality indie books.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Round Weekly Round Up – Sir Tom Jones, King Arthur, Brussel Sprouts and Author Media Training | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

