Posts from Your Archives – 7 Tips on How to Sleuth out Email Solicitor Requests by D.G.Kaye

Delighted to welcome Debby Gies, author D.G. Kaye with another link from her archives.

And if you would like to participate in this series you can find out how at the end of the posts.

7 Tips on How to Sleuth out Email Solicitor Requests by D.G. Kaye

I’ve noticed in these past 6 months as I began my author guest post series and after being invited to other writer’s blogs to guest appear that my website had garnered a lot more attention. This has been great, but like everything else in this world of technology, when more people become aware of our blogs, we also tend to attract more attention from spammers and/or people requesting to be on our blogs.

In the past few months I’ve been receiving at least 5 emails a week from people I’ve never heard of, but claim, ‘they love my website” and would love an opportunity to guest appear on my blog. This may seem flattering at first, but you have to search for the intent in these offers.

First, I’d like to state that the authors and books I promote on my blog are of my choosing. I like to help promote friends and authors, especially, to give back to the many who support me. These interviews take up a good chunk of time to prepare questions for and put the draft together, so I don’t advertise on my blog to contact me for interviews. However, several people I have no affiliation with persist to offer me a chance to have them over to my blog.

So today I want to share what you should be looking out for if you are also receiving such offers. For some of you, you may find these offers lucrative, but still, there are things you should check out before considering.

What to Look Out For

  • Salutation – Did they use your name or greet you with “Hello siteowner” or something similar?
  • Did they leave their name and website address so you can look at their work?
  • Have they ever visited or commented on your blogs?
  • Does what they write about have anything to do with what your blog represents?
  • Do they keep sending you emails to convince you why you should be having them on your blog?
  • Are they professional in their email to you or sounding aggressive?
  • Here’s a big flag: Do they ask you to add a permanent link to their website on your page?

These are key things to check out when you are approached to consider email offers to host someone you aren’t familiar with. You may find it flattering that someone is reading your work and approaching you, but you have to feel out what it is they’re after.

Personally, if those requesting a spot on my blog don’t address me by name, I will suspect their email is a generic send-out. If they don’t even leave a website to check out their work, don’t waste your time searching or replying.

Many of the emails I receive are from people who do content writing for companies and the website they leave is the product’s website containing a post they’ve curated for that company. Since I’m also considering doing some content writing for extra income, after taking a course late last year, I can spot these offers easily.

Most often, these emails inform me that they write about similar things as I do, and when I go over to a link they’ve left me to check, I find the topic has nothing to do with what I write about. Some of these people are mainly looking for a place to post about a product they’re likely to make an affiliated commission on. I have nothing against them for trying, but my blog isn’t a place where I promote random products or people unless I have used that product or know the person asking for a plug.

There are plenty of avenues to find appropriate places to offer content writing for without having to bother authors to promote their products. Some of these people are professional, but not many. So when these pitches are telling me how they’d ‘be a great fit for my blog and they aren’t, I do email them back and tell them why they are not. Some people persist and then I don’t bother replying again; some are so unprofessional I don’t bother replying at all.

If you’re someone who appreciates these offers and may find them to be beneficial to your blog, by all means try them out. But do keep in mind the important tips I’ve talked about to help you determine the offers that are legitimate and the ones that will be beneficial to your blogs.

© D.G.Kaye 2017

Thanks to Debby for sharing this post from her archives and as always words of wisdom.

Books by D.G. Kaye

51ipqxbodml-_uy250_crophave-bags-will-travel

The most recent review for P.S. I Forgive You by Tina Frisco: https://tinafrisco.com/2017/10/02/return-and-reviews/

P.S. I FORGIVE YOU by D.G. Kaye My 5-Star Review

A Courageous Revealing

Parenthood does not come with a user manual. Children learn parenting skills from the adults in their lives. They generally emulate what they see and experience. If their lifelong experience is a negative one, they might be inclined to perpetuate it. But this does not have to be so.

In her compelling memoir, P.S. I Forgive You, D.G. Kaye reveals the habitual neglect and abuse she and her siblings suffered at the hands of an envious, threatening, narcissistic, and deceitful mother.

It takes courage, strength, and determination to prevail over hardship, especially when it is a constant in childhood; especially when a parent perpetrates neglect and abuse. But it is not impossible to overcome adversity when one focuses their intention.

Kaye shows us how to take the energy consumed by feeling mistreated, hurt, fearful, and guilty, and instead make it work for us by directing that energy toward building self-esteem, fortitude, and positive intention. She tells us how she reacted as a child, and then shows us how, as an adult, she turned a negative into a positive. Acceptance, compassion, and forgiveness are major players in this scenario, a dynamic that tested the author’s resilience, challenged her conscience, and ultimately allowed her to triumph over the all-consuming adverse conditioning perpetrated by her demanding narcissistic mother.

I highly recommend this book to anyone whose childhood was hijacked by a neglectful and abusive parent, and who would like to learn how to break free and live a happy healthy life.
 

Read all the reviews and buy the books: http://www.amazon.com/author/dgkaye7

and Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/D.G.-Kaye/e/B00HE028FO

More reviews and follow Debby on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/dgkaye

About D.G. Kaye

d-g-kayeI’m a nonfiction memoir writer who writes about life, matters of the heart and women’s issues. I write to inspire others by sharing my stories about events I encountered, and the lessons that come along with them.

I love to laugh, and self-medicate with a daily dose of humor. When I’m not writing intimate memoirs, you’ll find me writing with humor in some of my other works and blog posts.

When I was a young child, I was very observant about my surroundings. Growing up in a tumultuous family life, otherwise known as a broken home, kept me on guard about the on-and-off-going status of my parent’s relationship. I often wrote notes and journaled  about the dysfunction that I grew up in. By age seven I was certain I was going to grow up to be a reporter.

Well life has a funny way of taking detours. Instead, I moved away from home at eighteen with a few meager belongings and a curiosity for life. I finished university and changed careers a few times, as I worked my way up to managerial positions. My drive to succeed at anything I put my mind to led me to having a very colorful and eventful life.

Ever the optimist, that is me. I’ve conquered quite a few battles in life; health and otherwise, and my refusal to accept the word No, or to use the words ‘I can’t’ have kept me on a positive path in life.

I love to tell stories that have lessons in them, and hope to empower others by sharing my own experiences.

Quotes:
Live Laugh Love . . . And Don’t Forget to Breathe!”

                 “For every kindness, there should be kindness in  return. Wouldn’t that just make the world right?”

Connect to Debby

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/dgkaye
About me: http://www.wiseintro.co/dgkaye7
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/@pokercubster (yes there’s a story)
Linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/dgkaye7
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dgkaye
Google: http://www.google.com/+DebbyDGKayeGies
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/dgkaye
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/dgkaye7

How to participate in Posts from your Archives

We all have posts that we wrote a year or so ago, or even longer, that are not read as much these days, as new posts take up your readers time.

However, why not share them over here to my readers?

Not only is this a chance to showcase your posts, but also your blog and books. Start off by sending me four links to the posts you would like to see given another boost and I will take it from there – sally.cronin@moyhill.com

Thank you for dropping in and please feel free to share. I hope that if you do not already follow Debby’s blog you will not head over and check it out.

63 thoughts on “Posts from Your Archives – 7 Tips on How to Sleuth out Email Solicitor Requests by D.G.Kaye

  1. It’s wonderful to read this post again, especially since I just received another request from someone I don’t know. I’m a softheart and find it difficult to turn people down. But most of those I’ve featured in the past haven’t followed my blog, didn’t connect with me on social networks, and I never heard from them again. You’re absolutely right, Deb. Preparing these features takes a lot of time and often goes unrewarded. Thanks and hugs to both you and Sally for this terrific post ♥♥

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I don’t have that problem, Debby….Booo Hoo…..Not that I blame them who in their right mind would want to appear on a crazy, whimiscal, retired, party- loving old girls blog but if I they ever do I will refer to your very good article on how to spot a chancer at 10 paces 😉 Seriously a great post Debby as always 🙂 And a shout out to Sally who rocks 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Funny I am reading this post now…I have lately been getting several emails a week asking for many of these. Most I just delete, but no I’m not going to update a post with some random blogger’s permalink, even if it appears to be in line with my subject. 99% are just nuts. If you ask them if you can post to their site, you’ll hear crickets. I just delete and ignore! What a great post!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I wish I’d seen this yesterday! I just responded to a request to advertise on my site “because you are an excellent fit with our sponsors” – yet I couldn’t find what they wanted me to advertise on their site. And answering took time I could have used elsewhere. Thanks to both of you for this post with tips for the next one.
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Pingback: Tips on How to Sleuth out Email Solicitor Requests by D.G.Kaye – The Militant Negro™

  6. Pingback: Posts from Your Archives – 7 Tips on How to Sleuth out Email Solicitor Requests by D.G.Kaye | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  7. Because I get a lot of emails like that, I’ve added the following to my submissions page at:
    https://thestoryreadingapeblog.com/contact-me/if-you-are-not-already-in-my-authors-hall-of-fame/
    NOTE:
    If you are a Professional Company writer / blogger / blog post writer, or, represent any organisation who sells assignments writing to students,(College, University, etc), and/or, you are seeking to publish posts containing links to your sponsors, affiliates, or assignment writing organisations
    DO NOT APPLY Your posts WILL be rejected!
    My first response to their emails is to ask them:
    For Legal Reasons, please confirm, you are not, in any way, contravening the above conditions.
    That’s usually the last I hear of the majority of such ‘applicants’
    😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is the first time I have read this post Debby and It was great, warm, wise and took no prisoners. (So what else should I expect you might ask!) Well I have taken it on board and all that remains to say is THANKS VERY MUCH MISSUS!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – Dionne Warwick, Hurricanes and Archives. | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

