Smorgasbord Posts from Your Archive – How to Change your Twitter Handle from Rosie Amber

We come to the end of Rosie Amber’s current series of posts from her Archives and this week, she draws on the expertise of editor Alison Williams.

Are you catching all tweets relevant to you? Do you wish you could change your Twitter Handle?

Alison Williams explains how an easy to find name, set up correctly, REALLY is useful.
Changing your Twitter username – easy steps

 

When I first braved Twitter I had absolutely no idea what I was doing. Social media in all its various forms has been a huge learning curve for me. And as time has gone on, I’ve realised that I got some things wrong.

One mistake I made when I set up my Twitter account was with choosing my twitter username/handle. I wanted to use my actual name and unfortunately I have a really common name, so Alison Williams wasn’t available, and neither were any variations using numbers that weren’t far too complicated to use. So I decided to use a capital ‘i’ in place of one of the ‘L’s in Williams. Sorted.

Problems arose however when I was tagged in a tweet. For example, a book reviewer reviewed my novel and posted the review on her blog. She tweeted the review and included my username in the tweet. But she assumed that my twitter username was @AlisonWilliams. Of course, it actually wasn’t. So I didn’t see that tweet and therefore couldn’t retweet it. This means I lost out on sharing that review with a lot of people. The same thing happened when an editing client tweeted how pleased she was with the work I did for her – she asked me a few days later why I hadn’t retweeted. I lost out on some free advertising there.

I realised that I needed to change my username to something that, first of all, people could spell correctly, and secondly that would lead people to me on Twitter. So I decided to change my username to @AlisonW_Editor

This means that people tend to copy and paste the username when including me in a tweet, meaning that it can’t be spelled incorrectly. It also means that anyone looking for an editor on Twitter is more likely to find me.

Changing your username is really simple to do. Just go to your Twitter profile, use the drop down menu to select ‘settings’, and change the username listed in the username field. Click ‘save changes’ and you’re done. It doesn’t affect anything on your account; you keep all your followers, and all your past tweets, favourites and lists are still there.

The only issue I had was with my WordPress blog. My account is set up so that when I publish a new post, a tweet is instantly generated. Despite me disconnecting and then reconnecting my Twitter account, the old username refused to budge. It was time to call in some extra help – my twenty-year-old son! Who worked it out in a couple of minutes.

As with a lot of things on WordPress, the simple things are often the hardest to find. So if you have a WordPress blog and want to connect your Twitter handle or have changed your Twitter username, here’s what you need to do:

Go to WP Admin
On the left hand side under ‘Settings’ you’ll see ‘sharing’ – click this
Scroll down until you see: ‘Twitter username to include in tweets when people share using the Twitter button’
In the box alongside this enter your new Twitter username.
Save changes

And you’re ready to go.

Tip: Make your Twitter Handle as close to your “Author” name (or Business Name) as possible so fans can easily follow you.

Here are links to ALL our Wednesday Wing Posts http://wp.me/P2Eu3u-7Lw

You can find more about Alison and her work:https://alisonwilliamswriting.wordpress.com/

Thanks to Rosie for sharing these four posts from her archives and I hope that she will consider more in the New Year.

About Rosie Amber

Thank you for stopping by and taking a break from the chaos of life. Take the weight off of your feet for a while and find something about your day to smile about; thank you for becoming part of my world, if just for a minute or two. It’s a shame you can’t smell the roses, but if you take a virtual stroll around I hope you’ll find a book you might like to curl up with, some useful advice if you’re a writer or blogger, or one of my more personal pieces that you may find interesting.

I was brought up in the beautiful Hampshire countryside. I am married with two children and juggle part-time work with full-time motherhood. I started blogging to combine a love of reading with a desire to embrace social technology; since then it’s developed into a passion to introduce avid readers to new writers, and offer a platform for little-known talent.

I review nearly all the books that I read, and post to Goodreads and Amazon US and UK. Aside from this blog, you’ll see my reviews posted on Facebook and Twitter. I’ve even branched out to do 90 second YouTube book reviews to try to reach the reading youth of today. I take submissions for my personal reading list, and also have a review team with approximately 30 active readers; if you would like to submit your book, please click the ‘Your Book Reviewed’ page, above.

I am so grateful for the support from visitors to my blog, and all you have done to spread the word about it on social media, not least of all nominating me for online blog awards. I was proud to be awarded runner-up in ‘Best Book Blog’ award in 2016, in the hugely popular and far-reaching Bloggers Bash, and third place in 2015 and 2017.

The Rosie Amber blog is an ever-growing, ever evolving entity, and my wish is to continue to provide a great service to readers, writers and blog addicts everywhere.

Connect to Rosie

Blog: https://rosieamber.wordpress.com/
Blog: https://rosieamber.wordpress.com/rosies-book-club-resources/
Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/Rosie-Amber-413145378724802/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/rosieamber1
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/c/RosieAmber

If you would like to share some of your archive festive posts in December then please send one or two links to sally.cronin@moyhill.com.

Please do not send self-promotional book posts as there are several other ways to promote your books here. I am looking for posts on life, relationships, health, creative writing, food, music and travel.. If you have a short story to share that is great too.

Thank you for dropping by and look forward to your comments for Rosie.

20 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Posts from Your Archive – How to Change your Twitter Handle from Rosie Amber

  1. Thanks Debbie, perhaps a difficult choice for some, you don’t need to change it if you are already selling lots of books or don’t use Twitter much. Your loyal fans will find you. This is perhaps for others who want to go further with Twitter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord: Change your Twitter Handle – The Militant Negro™

  3. Pingback: Do you regret the original twitter handle you chose and would like to change it.. let Rosie Amber help | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  4. Mine was done in a fit of…I don’t know probably couldn’t use the one I wanted…Now I think I should change it especially as I discovered that a very famous, dearly loved leader (not) has the same handle..Did I have mine first and he copied me??? Does everyone think I have the same ego as he does is more to the point..Maybe I should go hide ….Haha

    Like

    • Ah Carol, I can’t remember what yours is, I did use it the other day, I think. It probably depends it you want to gain more exposure on Twitter or not. Twitter works for me, where other social media platforms don’t.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Twitter seems to work me I am getting used to it now…It’s so time- consuming keeping up with all this promotion isn’t it? But liked your article very helpful…Thankyou Rosie.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. This is most useful, Sally and Rosie. I am saving it for future use. Funnily enough, when I started with blogging and twitter just over 1 year ago, it never occurred to me to use my name. I thought I needed something interesting and representative of my content so I chose @bakeandwrite.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Weekly Round Up – ABBA, Constantine The Great and Brown Rice! | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

I would be delighted to receive your feedback. Thanks Sally

