Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore – Author Updates #Reviews – #Travel D.G. Kaye, #Thriller Iain Kelly, #Fantasy Jean Lee

Welcome to the Monday edition of the Cafe and Bookstore with recent reviews for authors on the shelves.

The first author is our regular contributor and non-fiction author D.G. Kaye with a recent review for her informative and entertaining travel guide Have Bags, Will Travel.

About the book

D.G. Kaye is back, and as she reflects on some of her more memorable vacations and travel snags, she finds herself constantly struggling to keep one step ahead of the ever-changing guidelines of the airlines—with her overweight luggage in tow. Her stories alert us to some of the pitfalls of being an obsessive shopper, especially when it comes time for D.G. to bring her treasures home, and remind us of the simpler days when traveling was a breeze.

In her quest to keep from tipping the scales, D.G. strives to devise new tricks to fit everything in her suitcases on each trip. Why is she consistently a target for Canada customs on her return journeys?

D.G.’s witty tales take us from airports, to travel escapades with best friends, to reflections on how time can change the places we hold dear in our hearts. Her memories will entertain and have you reminiscing about some of your own most treasured journeys—and perhaps make you contemplate revamping your packing strategies.

One of the recent reviews for the book

marjorie mallon 5.0 out of 5 stars A fun travel/shopping memoir which will have you laughing  Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 February 2021

I read this as part of #ireadcanadian., @ireadcanadian #nowmorethanever.

This is such a hoot, what a laugh! Have Bags Will Travel is such an entertaining read which gives you an insight into D G Kaye’s character, her shopping obsession, packing troubles, germaphobia, and brushes with airport security. Enjoy her recollections on the glamour and glitz, her love to travel and a nostalgic aspect to it all.

Her friend Zan shares her shopaholic tendencies too. The two of them together… can you imagine? A red head, blonde explosion of zaniness! I love the part when they end up at Buckingham Palace and chat to a Beefeater, the royal guard and after which… it gets funnier by the moment.

Have Bags Will Travel gives a historical account of how much easier it used to be to take overstuffed baggage through airports in the good old days. Now, it seems that D G Kaye will resort to anything to get her shopping home.
Zan and D G Kaye also travel to Paris and end up shopping for shoes!
There are manmade toboggan rides in Muskoka, Canada.
Trips to Venezuela: Margarita Island and Caracas with cousin Eileen.
Las Vegas, Then and Now – gambling/casinos, fond memories of the author’s love of the desert.

Have Bags Will Travel is just what we need right now, a good giggle! There is also a section at the back of the book with Helpful Travel tips. A short, entertaining read. Highly recommended, especially for the shopoholics and travel enthusiasts in your life!

Read the reviews and buy the book: Amazon US – And: Amazon UK

Other books by D.G. Kaye

Read the reviews and buy the books:Amazon USAnd: Amazon UKBlog: D.G. WritesGoodreads: D.G. Kaye on Goodreads – Twitter:@pokercubster

The next author is Iain Kelly with a recent review for State of Denial (The State Trilogy Book 2).

About State of Denial.

Election time in The State, the citizens prepare to vote. A journalist from the Capital City heads north to report on growing resistance to the powerful ruling Party. An ex-police detective returns to the City he once fled. Together they become entangled in a burgeoning opposition movement. Soon they learn the Party will do whatever it takes to remain in power, and one life is all it takes to spark a revolution.

One of the recent reviews for the book on Goodreads

Feb 23, 2021 Paul McCracken rated it Five Stars it was amazing

This is another great instalment of the State trilogy after being hooked by the first book. It picks up from where it left off and is not just a filler to lead into book 3.

Kelly impressed me again with his style and excellent world-building. The characters continued to develop and they all found themselves in their unique situations, adding to the overall story.

This is a great sci-fi thriller with political elements.

The other books in the trilogy and a short story collection by Iain Kelly

Read the reviews and buy the books:Amazon UK – And:Amazon US – follow Iain: Goodreads – website: Iain Kelly WritingTwitter: @iainthekid

The final author today is Jean Lee with a recent review for book two in the fantasy series, Fallen Princeborn: Chosen

About the book

CHARLOTTE’S FAMILY MAY NO LONGER REMEMBER HER NAME, BUT HER ENEMIES WILL NEVER FORGET.

Charlotte just wanted to start a new life with her sister Anna out of the reaches of their abusive uncle. When their journey led to Anna’s disappearance from human memory, Charlotte hunted for her sister and the mysterious creatures that took her behind an ancient Wall that hid a land of magic the world had long forgotten. Charlotte woke the Princeborn Liam Artair, and with his return the conflict between factions of the magical Velidevour turned cursed and deadly.

Now Charlotte must end this conflict before the land of River Vine and the inhabitants she’s befriended are consumed by Orna, Lady of the Pits, who is still very, very eager to see her beloved return. And Orna is not the only one who wants hold of the Princeborn Liam’s heart. These Velidevour come armed with firey wings, crimson claws, and pale fire, and like dead magic, they know no kindness.

The Bloody Days are soon returning, and they will not end until a choice is made, a choice that could tear the heart of River Vine apart.

Fallen Princeborn: Chosen is a direct continuation of Fallen Princeborn: Stolen. Recommended for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust, Brigid Kemmerer’s A Curse So Dark and Lonely, and Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Mist and Fury.

One of the recent reviews for the book on Goodreads

Jan 08, 2021 Yesha- Books Teacup and Reviews rated it five stars it was amazing

Fallen Princeborn: Chosen was fantastic dark fantasy that revolved around Charlotte and Liam’s growing relationship and trust in each other, their battle with Lady Orna and her minions who somehow has returned with vengeance and blood lust, and Liam’s family who are bigger trouble than Lady Orna. It was about good vs evil, dysfunctional family, betrayal, trust, love, letting go of past, and finding strength in love.

Villians were interesting, not just Lady Orna but Liam’s family as well. I was still puzzled how Lady Orna came back so fast from pit and acquired new kind of power that was deadly. Her incompletes were creepy but even creepier was Liam’s family. This family was full of crazies.

World was well written. It was interesting to read more history of land and water, its people and their powers. Aether created all the magical beings in this world but worst were princeborns and we know more of their crimes in this book. Stellaqui were interesting creatures. I enjoyed reading about them and their old high sage. Celenstines were most powerful of all. By meeting them readers could see what was those magical rings that Lady Orna wore and now other princeborns were wearing.

Overall, Fallen Princeborn: Chosen was intriguing, fast paced and well written adult fantasy with punchy prose, rich world and non-stop action.

Read the reviews and buy the book: Amazon US – And: Amazon UK

Also by Jean Lee

Read the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US – And: Amazon UK – Follow Jean Lee : Goodreads – website:Jean Lee’s World – Twitter: @jeanleesworld

 

Thank you for dropping in today and I hope you will be leaving with some books.. thanks Sally.

31 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore – Author Updates #Reviews – #Travel D.G. Kaye, #Thriller Iain Kelly, #Fantasy Jean Lee

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore – Author Updates #Reviews – #Travel D.G. Kaye, #Thriller Iain Kelly, #Fantasy Jean Lee - Xandoblogs

  2. I got such a kick out of Debby’s book. It was the first one that I read of hers. Iain’s books sound thrilling and, of course, I’m a sucker for fantasy. Congrats to all three authors on the wonderful reviews. Thanks for sharing, Sally.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Three more great reviews. I’ve just popped over to Amazon and bought Debby’s – I’m well aware of her neat delivery of wit and humour from this blog alone. xx

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback (by commenting, you agree to Wordpress collecting your name, email address and URL) Thanks Sally

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.