Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore – New Author on the Shelves -#Epic #Fantasy The Goblin Trilogy by Jaq D. Hawkins

A welcome to the cafe to Jaq D. Hawkins with her books and today I am featuring The Goblin Trilogy that showcases the books in the series.

About the Trilogy

A saga spanning three generations in a feudal world governed by magicians.

Will you dare to enter a world of darkness among the goblins to join into The Dance?

The complete collection of the Fantasy trilogy that brought Epic series to a new generation. World building based in the foundation of Traditional Fantasy.

Dance of the Goblins

The goblins lived unseen by man for many generations and were forgotten, consigned to legend, but a fluke sighting when a man wanders into the entrance of a forgotten underground transportation system revives an ancient war between the species, originated by misunderstanding and prejudice of a species which appears alien to the superstitious humans.

Demoniac Dance

A young girl running away from an unwanted marriage finds a new life among the mysterious magicians in the land across the river. What she didn’t bargain for is the presence of the goblins who have befriended her benefactors.

Power of the Dance

Khemael is a creature of beauty and grace with a mostly human appearance. His love of stretching his leather-like wings and flying freely in the world of men brings far too much attention to the existence of the goblins. Haghuf knows that the inevitable responsibility will fall to him to destroy Khemael who, in the world of the humans, would be called his grandson.

Worlds of magic await to be discovered in the complete series, The Goblin Trilogy!

Old school Fantasy for readers of The Lord of the Rings, Dragonlance, Songs of Ice and Fire, and Wheel of Time.

One of the recent reviews for the trilogy

Penny Blake 5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and unusual fantasy trilogy  Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 December 2020

This series sucks you straight in from the first page and I simply couldn’t put my kindle down – I think it took me two weeks to read all three books and I don’t get much time for reading right now! The characters capture you from the start and I loved the idea of the Goblin anarcho-communist society preserving the old ways underground while the humans blunder about above but hope coming in the form of the dance which connects all life and so human to goblin as well.

I like the rawness and realism of the dystopic retro-future it is set in – the writer doesn’t pull any punches regarding the ‘medieval mindset’ of many of the humans and the ‘primal mindset’ of the goblins and this makes some scenes uncomfortable (think maybe the darker bits of Margaret Weiss or Mercedes Lackey or more recently R A Salvatore has ventured down that road) but I love that – I hate it when fantasy writing paints everything with a golden sheen of utopic perfection and ignores the awkward truths and moral grey areas that exist in any society.

There are strong and lovable characters here and they exist in context within a very real world, I had my heart in my mouth a few times but there was nothing that made me want to put the books down and I do have a fair few triggers so hopefully that gives you a flavour without any spoilers. Other reviewers have said it’s not a children’s series -but I think that’s obvious from the cover! (Which is beautiful, I love the artwork almost as much as the books!) My only down-point was that I wanted the story to go on after the last book so I hope there will be more goblin tales in the pipe line!  

The kindle verson of the trilogy has been marked down to half price and should be available to buy for this great offer by later today.

Read the reviews and buy the set: Amazon US – And: Amazon UK

A selection of other books by Jaq D. Hawkins

Read the reviews and buy the books:  Amazon UK – And: Amazon US – Follow Jaq:  Goodreads – Website: Jaq D. Hawkins – Blog: Goblins and Steam Punk – Facebook: The Wake of the Dragon – Twitter: @JaqDHawkins

About Jaq D. Hawkins

Jaq D Hawkins is the author of several Fantasy novels, which include Dance of the Goblins, Demoniac Dance and Power of the Dance. There is a combined volume of the full Goblin Trilogy available. Her most recent release (August 2019) is a comedic science fiction novel, an adventurous farce through time and space called The Chase for Choronzon.

She has also written the Airship Mechanoids Steampunk series which begins with The Wake of the Dragon and will continue with The Winds of Winter Storms in 2019 and a third volume that takes the series into the realm of Khempunk due out in 2020.

She lives in England with her family, which includes several cats, and works on amateur filmmaking when she isn’t writing. Most of the time she juggles deadlines between the two. She is a strong advocate of human rights and equality, which is reflected in many of her stories through diversity in central characters.

 

Thanks for dropping in today and I hope you will head over to check Jaq’s books out in more detail.. thanks Sally.

 

35 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore – New Author on the Shelves -#Epic #Fantasy The Goblin Trilogy by Jaq D. Hawkins

  1. Thank you so much for introduction Sally! I’ve just marked the Kindle version of the Trilogy down to half price for the next few days. It should take effect by this evening.

    The goblin world does hold a special place in my heart and there may be more stories added to the series eventually. In the meantime I have a few related short stories posted at https://jaqdhawkins.wordpress.com/about/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Weekly Round Up 21st -27th March 2021 | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

I would be delighted to receive your feedback (by commenting, you agree to Wordpress collecting your name, email address and URL) Thanks Sally

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.