Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore Update – #Reviews – #Poetry Colleen M. Chesebro, #psychologicalthriller Lucinda E. Clarke, #Memoir Brigid P. Gallagher

Welcome to the first of the cafe updates this week with recent reviews for authors on the shelves.

The first author today is Colleen M. Chesebro with a recent review for Word Craft Prose & Poetry.

About the guide and collection

Are you ready to learn how to craft Japanese and American poetry? Consider this book the first step on your journey to learning the basics of how to craft syllabic poetry. Inside, you will discover many new forms, syllable combinations, and interpretations of the different Japanese and American forms and structures of haiku, senryu, haiga, tanka, renga/solo renga, gogyohka, haibun, tanka prose, the cinquain, and its variations, Etheree, nonet, and shadorma poetry.

So… what are you waiting for? Let’s craft syllabic poetry together!

A recent review for the guide and poetry collection

Jul 26, 2021 Adele Marie Marie rated it five stars

Whether you already write poetry or, like me, want to learn how to create poems, then this book, Word Craft Prose and Poetry by Colleen M Chesebro is the only book you need.
The chapters are introduced with the history of the poetic form which is fascinating and useful. The author takes care to gently introduce you into the world of the form and then gives coherent examples and easily followed instructions.

I adore this workbook and will enjoy trying out all the poetry forms contained inside. 5 stars for Colleen M Chesebro as she works tirelessly to bring poetry into the mainstream showing that, if you wish, you too can write beautiful forms of poetry with words that will lift the spirit or give understanding. Truly a magical book. 

Also by Colleen M. Chesebro

Read the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US And:Amazon UKGoodreads: Colleen at Goodreads – Website Wordcraft poetryAuthor blog: Colleen Chesebro Twitter: @ColleenChesebro

The next author with a recent review is Lucinda E. Clarke  for the psychological thriller – A Year in the Life of Belinda Brand.

A Year in the Life of Belinda Brand by [Lucinda E Clarke]

About the book

Belinda Brand becomes an overnight sensation when Hollywood offers to make a film of her runaway bestseller. A confident, modern woman, she has the world at her feet – and a secret she is convinced no one will ever discover. Leah, her gentle and long-suffering stepmother will guess, but she would never betray her, or would she?

When menacing notes appear after the Awards ceremony in London and then follow her across the Atlantic, Belinda realizes someone is threatening to expose her.

As she struggles to stay calm, her best friend disappears, Belinda’s celebrity life turns into a nightmare and there is no one she can trust.

If the Brand family thought they could lead a quiet, normal life, they were wrong. Danger continues to lurk in the shadows.

A fast-paced, page-turning psychological thriller, full of surprises, twists, and turns.

For fans of Karin Slaughter, Claire McGowan, Valerie Keogh, and Liane Moriarty.

One of the recent reviews for the book

Rebecca H 5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced and fantastic!  Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 July 2021

This is the fourth book in this brilliant series of psychological thrillers. This time it’s Belinda, Leah’s errant stepdaughter who features in the starring role. Amazingly, she has written a bestselling novel and won an award. Fame beckons and soon she is winging her way to LA as the film rights to her book have been sold and she will be fêted as the author.

Ostensibly in charge is her rather devious agent Pamela, who also has her own problems.
Naturally, things were going wrong before Belinda even left London. She had been receiving threatening letters and foolishly believed that she would be safe in America, especially with her friend Rosheen for company. How wrong could she be?

This is another fast paced and well plotted story with so many twists and turns I was quite breathless! I really didn’t want to put this book down at all. Kidnappings, crooks, car chases, sleazy film moguls what a roller coaster of a tale. I loved seeing Leah making an appearance towards the end and let’s hope all’s well that ends well but … who knows with a master storyteller like Lucinda E Clarke in charge. A super series. Highly recommended.

A selection of books by Lucinda E. Clarke

Read the reviews and buy the books : Amazon US – And : Amazon UK – Blog: WordPress Lucinda E. Clarke — Follow Lucinda: GoodreadsTwitter: @LucindaEClarke

The final review is for Brigid P. Gallagher for her memoir that shares her experiences and also strategies to overcome chronic illness in Watching for the Daisies.

About the book

Millions of people around the world suffer from fibromyalgia; the majority of them are women. As yet, there is no cure.

In this memoir, Brigid P. Gallagher shares her experiences on:

  • The busy life she followed before succumbing to this debilitating disease
  • Stopping and soul searching for answers to her vast array of symptoms
  • Entering a new life of SLOW

Drawing on her knowledge and experience as a Natural Medicines therapist, she seeks out therapies to aid her healing and integrates a variety of self help techniques and lifestyle changes. She also unearths a love of solo travel including Egypt, India, Rome, Lourdes, Carcassonne and Bali…

Brigid learns many insights about LIFE on her journey, the most valuable being: “First learn to love thyself.”

In 2006, she began a new career in Organic Horticulture eventually teaching part time in schools. Although she has now retired from teaching, she continues to pursue her lifelong passion for gardening and watching the daisies.

One of the recent reviews for the book

Helen Stephenson 5.0 out of 5 stars A healing journey shared Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 July 2021

Watching the Daisies is a gentle description of Brigid’s pursuit of both spiritual and physical healing. Throughout her healing journey she posts little tips, those insights which have been prompted by that phase of her life.

I was delighted when she turned to gardening, a skill which she shared with many children through her work.

Brigid’s family, and her various homes, are described with real love and she delights in describing all the beautiful places she has visited and people she has met.

A gentle read, with a charming guide who is continually adding to her treasure trove of healing knowledge, with a totally open mind.  

Brigid P. Gallagher, Buy: Amazon UK – and: Amazon US – Follow Brigid on : Goodreads – Blog: Watching the Daisies – Twitter: @watchingthedai1

 

Thanks for dropping in today and I hope you are leaving with some books..Sally

 

 

 

40 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore Update – #Reviews – #Poetry Colleen M. Chesebro, #psychologicalthriller Lucinda E. Clarke, #Memoir Brigid P. Gallagher

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore Update – #Reviews – #Poetry Colleen M. Chesebro, #psychologicalthriller Lucinda E. Clarke, #Memoir Brigid P. Gallagher – DEEZ – News about Art, Books & more

  2. Three more lovely reviews. I have all of Lucinda’s books waiting for me, have bookmarked Colleen’s and now I’m bookmarking Brigid’s and hope to benefit form her practical positivity to chronic illness. I’m not far off finishing the editing of my first draft of my latest book and after passing that on to my critics I intend to wallow in some delicious reading time. Thanks, Sally! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Weekly Round Up – 1st -7th August 2021 | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  4. Excellent lineup Sal. Looking forward to reading Colleen’s book and the rest of the series by Lucinda. They are all awaiting me patiently on my (new) Kindle. Yes, after 8 years my old Kindle died 😦 Could no longer hold a charge. I’ve already enjoyed Brigid’s book. Congrats to Brigid, Lucinda and Colleen for great reviews ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I would be delighted to receive your feedback (by commenting, you agree to Wordpress collecting your name, email address and URL) Thanks Sally

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.