Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore Update – #Reviews – #Paranormal Marcia Meara, #Sci-fi Thorne Moore, #Gothic #Supernatural Adele Marie Park

Welcome to the mid-week edition of the Cafe update with recent reviews for authors on the shelves.

The first author today is Marcia Meara with a review for Harbinger: Wake-Robin Ridge Book 3.. .a series I can recommend.

About the book

Continuing in the tradition of Wake-Robin Ridge and A Boy Named Rabbit, Marcia Meara’s North Carolina mountain series takes a shivery turn with the Appalachian Legend of Ol’ Shuck, the Harbinger of Death.

“. . . he felt the wet slide of the dog’s burning hot tongue on his face, and the scrape of its razor sharp teeth against the top of his head. A white-hot agony of crushing pain followed, as the jaws began to close.”

The wine-red trillium that carpets the forests of the North Carolina Mountains is considered a welcome harbinger of spring—but not all such omens are happy ones. An Appalachian legend claims the Black Dog, or Ol’ Shuck, as he’s often called, is a harbinger of death. If you see him, you or someone you know is going to die.

But what happens when Ol’ Shuck starts coming for you in your dreams? Nightmares of epic proportions haunt the deacon of the Light of Grace Baptist Church, and bring terror into the lives of everyone around him. Even MacKenzie Cole and his adopted son, Rabbit, find themselves pulled into danger.

When Sheriff Raleigh Wardell asks Mac and Rabbit to help him solve a twenty-year-old cold case, Rabbit’s visions of a little girl lost set them on a path that soon collides with that of a desperate man being slowly driven mad by guilt.

As Rabbit’s gift of the Sight grows ever more powerful, his commitment to those who seek justice grows as well, even when their pleas come from beyond the grave.

One of the recent reviews for the book

This story takes place in the Blue Ridge Mountain area of Wake-Ridge, N.C. It covers two time periods; each one is story of survival. The main characters are everyday folk just trying to move on with life in their own way. They put up walls to prevent being hurt again. Sarah Gray is a librarian in Florida has decided to purchase a cabin and pursue her dream of writing. So the adventure begins. She has no idea that this move would both fulfill her life and also scare the living daylights out of her. Tragic events of the past are revealed and dealt with. Love conquers all.

A selection of books by Marcia Meara

Read the reviews and buy the books: Amazon USAnd : Amazon UK – Marcia Meara on: Goodreads – Blog:Marcia Meara WritesTwitter: @MarciaMeara

The next author is Thorne Moore with a review for Inside Out.

About the book

Triton station, Outer Circles headquarters of Ragnox Inc, on the moon of Neptune, is as far as the intrepid can go. It’s a place to make money, lots of money, and for seven lucky travellers, bound for Triton on the ISF Heloise, that’s exactly what they intend to do.

Maggy Jole wants to belong. Peter Selden wants to escape. Abigail Dieterman wants to be free. Merrit Burnand wants to start again. Christie Steen wants to forget. No one knows what David Rabiotti wants. And Smith, well, Smith wants everything.

Does it really matter what they want? The journey to Triton will take them eleven months – eleven months to contemplate the future, come to terms with the small print of their contracts, and wish they’d never signed. But changing their minds is not an option.

Sometimes it really is better to travel… than arrive.

One of the recent reviews for the book

Sally Spedding 5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual and intense adventure  Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 July 2021

As other reviewers have stated, although am not a Sci-Fi person, the whole premise of this 468 page book seemed so unusual, I bought a paperback copy and soon got stuck in. The story intensifies as more personalities are made known, and gradually, layers are peeled back to reveal motive and a possible future. This author, having taken a huge imaginative leap with her growing cast of characters, each with their own agenda, has steered them all towards an ever-more dangerous scenario.  

Also by Thorne Moore

Read the reviews and buy the booksAmazon UK – Amazon US
UniversalGoodreadsWebsite/BlogThorne MooreFacebookThorne Moore Novelist – Twitter@ThorneMoore

The final review today is for Adele Marie Park and Wolfe Manor

About the book

Once she lived a normal life, a good, boring life, but a safe one…

Abandoned as a baby on the steps of Wolfe Manor, Fianna was raised with love, secure inside its walls. Now her bubble of safety is about to burst. Can she save the home and school which once cocooned her when old fears overwhelm? Facing students at the start of a new term is frightening enough without nightmares resurfacing which terrify Fianna.

She may have a degree in teaching but will this skill help her?

The return of old friends sends Fianna spiraling down the rabbit hole of her past. Wolfe Manor may call her to be what she was born to be, but can she find out in time to save it from an evil only she can defeat? Or if she fails and Wolfe Manor falls, what happens when the evil faces humanity unchallenged?

One of the recent reviews for the book

Jun 23, 2021 Leyla rated it five stars

I do not wish to lay out the plot of the novel as I believe that anyone interested in reading it should be attracted to its mystery and amazing atmosphere!

Adele Marie Park has done an exquisite job constructing her main character, along with building a gothic atmosphere which shall captivate the reader from page 1. The sense of anguish and claustrophobia coupled with the other characters, that are protective and secretive in the beginning, has masterfully been introduced.

The paranormal is a subject present in the story. And I loved how the author was able to describe how this phenomena/demon is negatively impacting the main character.
I adored this book and highly recommend it! Whether you usually read paranormal stories set in a gothic set or not, you will definitely enjoy it! 

Also by Adele Marie Park

Read the reviews and buy the books: Amazon UK – And: Amazon USFollow Adele: Goodreads – Website: Firefly WordPressTwitter: @Binky567

 

Thanks for dropping in today and I hope you will be leaving with some books…thanks Sally.

 

 

 

 

29 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore Update – #Reviews – #Paranormal Marcia Meara, #Sci-fi Thorne Moore, #Gothic #Supernatural Adele Marie Park

  1. Harbinger and Inside Out are two of my favourite books ever! I recommend both of them wholeheartedly. Now I must look into Adele’s Wolfe Manor. Smashing selection, Sally. xx

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – 29th August – September 4th 2021 – New Book Promotions, Out and About, Fleetwood Mac, Reviews, Health, Shortstories and Humour | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

I would be delighted to receive your feedback (by commenting, you agree to Wordpress collecting your name, email address and URL) Thanks Sally

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.