Smorgasbord Bookshelf – Summer Book Fair 2022 – First in Series – #Psychological Thriller Lucinda E. Clarke, #Paranormal Romance Staci Troilo

Over the course of the next three months I will be sharing the authors who feature in the Smorgasbord Bookshelf with the books that I have reviewed and can personally recommend.

In this first part of the summer fair, I am sharing books that are the first in a series in both adult and children’s books along with one of their five star reviews. I hope that this will encourage you to enjoy the series in full. I will feature every author on the shelves by the end of the summer. I hope you will enjoy.

The first book today is A Year in the Life of Leah Brand: A Psychological Thriller by Lucinda E. Clarke and can certainly recommend its gripping story line.

About the book

Leah’s nightmare began the day the dog died.

A few years earlier a fatal car crash took the lives of Leah’s beloved husband and their two babies, leaving her disabled. Life looked bleak. She was approaching forty, unemployed, broke and desperate.

Then she met Mason. He was charming, charismatic, persuasive, and a successful businessman, well respected in the community. His teenage daughter did nothing to welcome Leah into the family, but life is never perfect.

Then, two years into her second marriage, Leah Brand’s world is turned upside down; inanimate objects in the house move, her clothes are left out for the rubbish collection, pieces of furniture change places, there are unexplained noises and hauntings.

As the disturbances increase, everyone accuses Leah of losing her mind. Soon she begins to doubt herself and she starts to spiral down into a world of insanity. Is she going mad, or is someone out to destroy her? And if so, why?

A gripping, psychological thriller for fans of Mary Higgins Clarke and Louise Jensen.

One of the many excellent reviews for the book

T. R. Robinson5.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing read. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 February 2020

This is an intriguing read that certainly lives up to its designation as a psychological thriller.

All characters are well developed enabling the reader to visualise and comprehend each. While detesting some they will take to others but will often find reason to question the accuracy of their sentiments. Most will be able to empathise with the protagonist who faces many bewildering ‘challenges’ and may often wonder how she manages to keep going.

The story is set within the usual day-to-day routines of most households however, what in many circumstances could come across as mundane and consequently boring for the reader, are anything but. This attests to the author’s unique ability to bring life to all her stories whether adventure, memoir, or thriller. Lucinda is indeed an excellent author.

The reader will find themselves constantly developing theories and then re-developing them as the tale progresses. This makes the book a lively read that retains interest and curiosity. In some ways the reader wishes to be proven right but would also find it disappointing to be so proven. The book does not disappoint in its ability to keep the guessing going up to, and past, the end.

Indeed, though there is some resolution it is not entirely complete and definitely leaves the reader with anticipation for a sequel. That is not to say there is no satisfaction in the ending although it would probably be more accurate to call it an intermission. 

Read the other reviews and buy the book: Amazon US – And : Amazon UK

A selection of books by Lucinda E. Clarke

Read the reviews and buy the books : Amazon US – And : Amazon UK – Blog: WordPress Lucinda E. Clarke — Follow Lucinda: GoodreadsTwitter: @LucindaEClarke

About Lucinda E. Clarke

Lucinda E Clarke was born in Dublin but has lived in 8 other countries to date. She wanted to write but was railroaded into teaching. She fell into other careers; radio announcer, riding school owner, sewing giant teddy bears. She began scriptwriting professionally in 1986 winning over 20 awards. She also wrote mayoral speeches, company reports, drama documentaries, educational programmes, adverts, news inserts, court presentations, videos for National Geographic, cookery programmes and street theatre to name but a few!

She lectured in scriptwriting, had her own column in various publications, and wrote articles for national magazines. She was commissioned for two educational books by Heinemann and Macmillan, and book reports for UNESCO and UNICEF.

She set up and ran her own video production company in South Africa.

The next author is Staci Troilo with the paranormal romance Bleeding Heart (The Medici Protectorate Book 1)

About the book

Passion is desirable. Until it turns deadly.

After her father’s brutal murder, Franki Notaro discovers she and her three sisters are the only surviving, secret legacy of the Medici. The same people who brutally murdered her father now target her and her family for assassination. Unprepared to battle an unknown enemy, she finds her safety depends on the Medici Protectorate, the warriors who guarded her bloodline for centuries but who failed to protect her father.

Gianni DeSanto, Franki’s protector, blows his first meeting with her then scrambles to garner the trust of all the Notaro women. Without that, he fails, too, and that is unacceptable—not only to him but also to the Protectorate. His troubles only grow larger, though, for as he assumes his new role, he also undergoes inexplicable, explosive physical changes… transformations he can’t control. One of which is his uncontainable desire for Franki.

Their worlds collide in passion and violence, and Franki struggles to trust Gianni. When her life is on the line, Gianni will have to conquer both her fears and his own personal demons to rescue her in time.

One of the reviews for the book

Mae Clair 5.0 out of 5 stars Characters who stole my heart!  Reviewed in the United States on October 10, 2015

Bleeding Heart is an intricately plotted story that weaves together the lives of two groups. The Notaro sisters who run an architectural design firm have just lost their father, John. The patriarch of their family, he was brutally murdered by unknown factions.

The sisters come to learn they are descendants of the Medici, a bloodline that dates back to the time of Michelangelo. Another group, the Brotherhood of Medici Protectorate has safeguarded the Notaro line for centuries. When the sisters learn of their legacy and the Brotherhood, there are immediate clashes— especially between Franki (Francesca) Notaro and Gianni, of the Brotherhood.

The mythology in this book is extremely well-developed. The author really took her time in building a believable and fascinating history for each group. As an example, Gianni and his adopted brothers each carry a stone dagger which is a focal point and an extension of the powers they wield. Gianni’s talent is related to blood and passion. He is able to both heal and inflict wounds, his fiery temperament nowhere more evident than in his passionate relationship with Franki. Their romance is at times steamy and tender, even combustible, but always full of heart.

As someone who grew up in an Italian family, I loved the old-world essence of this book. There are references to the Catholic Mass, Italian cooking, and family traditions. Franki and her sisters fight and argue but are always there for one another. The same with Gianni and his brothers. The guys’ disagreements tend to be explosive, but their loyalty for one another is unquestionable. The mystery kept me flipping pages, but the characters stole my heart. If you love elements  

Read the reviews and buy the book: Amazon USAnd: Amazon UK

Read the reviews and buy the books: Amazon USAnd: Amazon UK –Follow Staci: GoodreadsBlog: Staci Troilo WordPress – Website: Staci TroiloTwitter@stacitroilo –

About Staci Troilo

Staci Troilo grew up in Western Pennsylvania writing stories and poetry in her free time, so it was no surprise that she studied writing in college. After receiving creative and professional writing degrees from Carnegie Mellon University, she went on to get her Master’s Degree in Professional Writing, and she worked in corporate communications until she had her children. When they had grown, she went on to become a writing professor, and now she is a freelance writer and editor.

Staci is a multi-genre author. Her fiction is character-driven, and despite their protests, she loves to put them in all kinds of compromising or dangerous situations.

You can find out more about her on her website. Staci Troilo

 

Thanks for dropping in today and I hope you will be leaving with some books.. thanks Sally.

 

 

95 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Bookshelf – Summer Book Fair 2022 – First in Series – #Psychological Thriller Lucinda E. Clarke, #Paranormal Romance Staci Troilo

  1. Another fabulous showcase! I am a big fan of Staci Troilo’s work and have this series waiting for me on my Kindle. If only life didn’t get in the way of reading! 🙂 Congrats to Lucinda and Staci!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Sally, this was such a nice surprise. Thank you so much for the spotlight today. I really appreciate it, and I’m honored to be featured along with Lucinda. Her book sounds really good. All my best to her and you. Hugs. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Two authors whose works I’ve greatly enjoyed! I can also recommend Lucinda’s When Polly Won the Lottery which has an innovative approach to the main character, and Staci’s Keystones series which is perfect for when you are struggling to find the space for a full-length novel. Many thanks for showcasing these, Sally. xx

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Congratulations, Lucinda and Staci!! Thank you, Sally, for sharing these wonderful reviews. I know Staci well, and she’s an amazingly talented writer. ❤️

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Wonderful books and authors today Sal. I just finished reading Staci’s latest in her novella Keystone series. And I quite enjoyed Lucinda’s book, and thanks for the reminder. I have the other two in that series and must push them up in my BFK! Congrats Staci and Lucinda! ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Congrats Lucinda and Staci on their lovely reviews of their books! I have Leah Brand on my TBR list. Look forward to reading it. Will check out Staci’s books too! Thanks for sharing, Sally! 🥰

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Pingback: Advice to my Younger Self… | Staci Troilo

  8. Reblogged this on lucinda E Clarke and commented:
    A delightful suprise, to be featured in Sally.s Smorgasbord blog. Thank you so much Sally. I had to re-blog it of course! I won’t buy A Year in the Life of Leah Brand as I know that story well, but I am intrigued by Staci’s book and will go look it up. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round Up – June 27th – July 3rd 2022 – Chart Hits 1998, Roberta Flack, Podcast Story, #Waterford 1930s, Reviews, Guest Posts, Health and Humour | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

I would be delighted to receive your feedback (by commenting, you agree to Wordpress collecting your name, email address and URL) Thanks Sally

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.