My books and Reviews 2019/2020

Delighted to promote authors for FREE please see for details: Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore

And the new: Smorgasbord Cafe and Childrens Bookstore

I am an author too and here are my current books available on Amazon, the Moyhill site and  Smashwords.  I have also included some of the reviews for the books on Amazon and by bloggers.  The icing on the cake..

All except for Just Food for Health are available in E-versions for most readers. Print books are available either on Moyhill or by arrangement with me personally, since Amazon has decided to demand that Irish Authors selling on Amazon UK have to register for VAT despite there being no VAT on print books in Ireland and the UK. However, because there is VAT on print books in other countries, they expect us to register in those countries for VAT… what a tangled web. Anyway, if you would like a print book at the current time then please email me on sally.cronin@moyhill.com and we will go old school.

Amazon:Amazon US

Amazon UK: Amazon UK

More reviews can be found on Goodreads: Goodreads

My latest book is a collection of verse, micro fiction and short stories and was published on December 2nd 2019.

About Life’s Tapestry

Life’s Rich Tapestry is a collection of verse, microfiction and short stories that explore many aspects of our human nature and the wonders of the natural world. Reflections on our earliest beginnings and what is yet to come, with characters as diverse as a French speaking elephant and a cyborg warrior.

Finding the right number of syllables for a Haiku, Tanka, Etheree or Cinquain focuses the mind; as does 99 word microfiction, bringing a different level of intensity to storytelling. You will find stories about the past, the present and the future told in 17 syllables to 2,000 words, all celebrating life.

This book is also recognition of the value to a writer, of being part of a generous and inspiring blogging community, where writing challenges encourage us to explore new styles and genres.

Some of the recent reviews for the collection on Goodreads

Aug 08, 2020 M.J. Mallon rated it Five Stars

What a lovely book from a lady who does so much for the indie author community. I’ve been following Sally’s blog for many years. The title: Life’s Rich Tapestry sums this beautiful book up perfectly. I enjoyed this immensely. It is like a treasure trove with a range of delights for everyone: poetry, micro fiction and longer pieces of writing too.

Sally Cronin is a talented story teller and I have so many favourite pieces in the collection!

Here they are:

Speculative Fiction section: A moment of alignment, Onions, The Enhancement Project.

There is a very cute dog section titled: The underdogs! Lol. And of course…The Superiority of Cats.

CAT FAVS: For the love of Lily. (my tied favourite in the collection – loved this.)

DOG FAVS: An Ugly Mutt, The Junkyard Dog (my tied favourite in the collection – loved this.)

Micro fiction:

FAVS: Strawberry Jam, Storm Windows, Splashing Good Time, Rock Star, Recycling Centre, My Mouse (so funny!) Following Elephants, The Charm Bracelet, Broken.

Poetry FAVS:

Random Thoughts: In touch with the earth

Celebrating Pets: My best friend, A Dog’s Life.

Fav poems in Remembrance: Wedding Anniversary Septhember 11th, The Poppies

Fav poems in The Natural World: The Beach, The Cave, A Magpie’s Prize, The Magnolia

FAV Poems in Fairies and Other Folk: Fairy Gold, Fairies at play.

FAV poems in the All Things Human section: Romance, Youth,

FAV Poems about the Seasons of the Year: Glorious April, March Hares,Hallowwen – This Night, Rust and Gold, November Trees, December.

I mention my favourites only so you can see the variety of stories, poems and microfiction in this collection. The cat and dog sections are superb so this collection will really appeal to those who love their cats and dogs!

My recommendation: 5 stars. An excellent collection. Highly recommended.

Amazon £3.50 :Amazon UK

Amazon US $4.53Amazon US

The queen of Magia and her court have fled their sun filled Spanish homeland and the palace beneath the magnolia tree.

Arriving on the backs of geese and swans, they seek sanctuary in the magic garden of The Storyteller who welcomes them to the Emerald Island, a place where rain is almost a daily feature.

Grateful for their safe haven and the generosity of their host, the queen and her courtiers embrace their new surroundings with delight.

As the seasons change throughout the year, they come into contact with many of the human and animal inhabitants of the garden and the surrounding forest, all of whom have a story to tell.

This is a magical fairy story infused with fantasy and romance, as well as opportunities for mischief in the company of goblins, witches and Lerpersians. Suitable for ages 10 to 100 years old…..

Please meet Queen Filigree as created by Donata Zawadzka

One of the recent reviews for the book

Tales from an Irish Garden begins at Christmas time in the magical Spanish garden. Queen Filigree was looking forward to the festivities, but bad news arrived first.

The Queen and all her subjects could no longer stay in Spain and would have to leave their beautiful home and find another with the help of the Storyteller.

At the eleventh hour, another location was found in Ireland, where they will need to adapt to the new surroundings and very different weather.

How this was achieved was beautifully described in perfect detail in a series of magical stories. I loved all these stories, but will always remember one, The Kindness of Mice…

The book is now available in Kindle on Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Tales-Irish-Garden-Sally-Cronin-ebook/dp/B07HMXTFKG

And Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Tales-Irish-Garden-Sally-Cronin-ebook/dp/B07HMXTFKG

What’s in Name – Volume Two – Stories of life and romance. The print version of combined volumes one and two is available in the UK and Ireland

About What’s in a Name Volume Two

Our legacy is not always about money or fame, but rather in the way that people remember our name after we have gone. In these sixteen short stories we discover the reasons why special men and women will stay in the hearts and minds of those who have met them. Romance, revenge and sacrifice all play their part in the lives of these characters.

Kenneth watches the love of his life dance on New Year’s Eve while Lily plants very special flowers every spring for her father. Martha helps out a work colleague as Norman steps back out into the world to make a difference. Owen brings light into a house and Patrick risks his life in the skies over Britain and holds back from telling a beautiful redhead that he loves her.

Meet Queenie and Rosemary who have both lost their husbands and must face a very different future. One that will take courage and the use of new technology.

Sonia is an entitled princess whose father has reached the end of his tether and Theresa has to deal with a bully in the checkout. Usher is an arrogant narcissist with a docile wife and is used to getting his own way and Vanessa worries about the future of her relationship with her teenage son.

Walter is a loner and is happy with just his dog for company, Xenia is the long awaited first baby of a young couple. Yves is a dashing romeo who has the tables turned on him unexpectedly and Zoe… Well she can see into the future.

In one way or another all these characters will be remembered by those whose lives they have touched.

One of the recent review for the collection

Pete Springer5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Bit of Everything  Reviewed in the United States on May 18, 2020

In this second collection of sixteen short stories, Sally Cronin creates a host of interesting characters. Each story centers around one central character. She begins with Kenneth for K, and each succeeding tale involves someone with the next letter of the alphabet, wrapping up with Zoe for Z.

There are villains, scoundrels, heroes, victims, and more. One of the most challenging situations happens when Vanessa makes the difficult decision to turn in her son, Jack, after he murders a fifteen-year-old girl named Tracy. He doesn’t confess the crime to his mother, but she recognizes him through the grainy video on television because he walks with a distinctive limp. It is choice of morality over family.

Another one of my favorites involved a French playboy named Yves, who was preying upon rich, older ladies. He would wine and dine them to gain their trust before swindling them out of a large chunk of money. He is just about set for life when he tries to pull the same trick one more time on the beautiful Christina. Yves gets more than he bargained for when he falls in love with the older woman. Shortly after becoming hitched, the newlyweds decided to update their wills and leave each other their vast fortunes. The only problem for Yves is this time he is on the receiving end of the trickery. Christina is no longer a woman of great wealth, and when Yves unexpectedly drowns, she comes out smelling like a rose.

There are many other delightful tales, but you will want to enjoy those for yourself. Anyone who enjoys a series of fun, quick reads is sure to enjoy this collection.

 You can buy What’s in Name- Volume Two: Amazon UK

and: Amazon US

One of the recent reviews from May 15, 2020 Darlene Foster rated it 5*

An awesome collection of short stories based on the names of the main characters. We don’t normally choose our own names, but they tend to define us. Names like Jana, Zoe, Hector, Hannah, Emma, Lily, Isobel, Fionnuala and many more, each have a story to tell. Some happy, some sad, some bittersweet, and some heartbreaking. F. Scott Fitzgerald said, “Find your key emotion, this may be all you need know to find your short story.” Ms Cronin has certainly found the key emotion in each story in this enjoyable book.

You can read the reviews and buy the book: Amazon US

51uI0kWA+ML._UY250_

Sam – A Shaggy Dog Story

Millions of families around the World believe that their pet, dog or cat is the most intelligent, beautiful and loyal friend that anyone could have. And they are absolutely right.

If only our pets could talk how much richer the world would be, and funnier.

One of the recent reviews for the book on Bookbub by Sandra Cox October 11th 2020

This is a very sweet story told from the dog’s point of view. Sam, a gorgeous collie, tells about his time spent in both Ireland and Spain. There are some bittersweet moments when Sam loses some of his animal friends, but overall it’s a happy, feel good read.

It’s obvious that Sam is both loved and cared for and that his owners are animal lovers. All animal people will enjoy this dog’s tale. I know I did.

41MyNOQWWNL._UY250_

Size Matters – Especially when you weigh 330lbs

If I could communicate just a single message to you it is that
obesity, and the misery attached to it, need not be for life.

One of the reviews for the book

Size Matters is Sally Georgina Cronin’s no-holds-barred, true-life story of her journey from near-death obesity to vibrant health.

I first was struck by the author’s willingness to share so many personal things most of us would hold to dearly as private; things that would humiliate; things we’d be hard-pressed to look in the mirror and admit even to ourselves. I knew anyone willing to bridge this gap must be someone with integrity and a deep concern for her fellow human beings.

I wasn’t far into the book before finding the encouragement I needed. The last paragraph of chapter one said it all: “What began as a painful journey into my past became an exciting adventure in the present with expectations of a much brighter future.” Above all else, I wanted a bright future. And Ms. Cronin’s approach proffered that hope.

I’m not going to detail the specifics of this book, because a peek inside on Amazon will show you the table of contents and highlight the details of the program she developed. What I want to shine a light on is the inspiration she exemplifies and offers to all those battling a weight problem.

She knew almost any help given by the medical/scientific/etc. communities would offer template approaches to weight reduction, approaches she and many others have tried and failed at miserably. Because her health was in such jeopardy, she needed not only to urgently change her eating habits, but also to have the results be permanent. Thus began her journey within and her search for a sustainable healthy future.

It’s difficult enough to put one foot in front of the other on a daily basis in this fast-paced technological age. Everyone is multi-tasking and running fast to stand still. So when we find ourselves faced with a life-threatening condition, fear leads us to seek a quick fix. But quick fixes are almost never permanent and almost always detrimental. The author recognized this and strove instead to find her own way back home to herself.

Although despairing and contemplating suicide, she reached deep inside and found a way to kindle her common sense, which provided the ladder needed to climb out of the pit into which she’d dug herself. Admitting her weaknesses and acknowledging her strengths, she put the totality of herself into turning her life around. Plying patience and dogged determination, she climbed out of the suffocating abyss and surfaced into the fresh air of a promising and vibrant life.

I have never been obese, but I have carried extra weight at different times throughout my life. Taking off 10 or 15 pounds is hard enough. I can only imagine the devastation one must feel when facing the necessity of a 150-pound weight reduction. And I use the word “reduction” rather than “loss,” because I think the mind always seeks to find that which has been lost.

In my opinion, this book is not only a comprehensive text for permanent weight reduction, but also a “how to” guide for breaking the shackles of destructive behavior and tenaciously moving forward.

When asked in grade school to name five people who inspire us, most children look to either their families or noted figures in the world. And yet there are so many working humbly behind the global scenes who seek neither notoriety nor acclaim. I believe they’re referred to as unsung heroes.

This review is as much an acknowledgement of the author’s positive contribution to the world as it is of her all-inclusive approach to weight reduction in this outstanding book, which I highly recommend. Shed an ounce of weight, gain a pound of self-confidence. Sally Cronin is an inspirational example for all.

 51RashjEGcL._UY250_

Turning Back the Clock – An anti-aging programme.

Living forever is not an option!

However, feeling younger and looking younger is an option available to all!

The maximum lifespan a human being can currently expect today is around 120 years. However, not many of us really want to be even 90 or 100 years old, if it means that we are going to end up filled with medication and tucked away in a corner in some nursing home, unaware of our surroundings.

Making healthy diet and lifestyle choices as early as possible will help you get as near as possible to your maximum age whilst enjoying good physical and mental vitality. In my latest book I not only take a look at the physical aspects of aging but also the mental and emotional issues that we should address earlier rather than later.

One of the reviews for the book

This was an unexpectedly quick, easy and enjoyable read. It is written by a professional and offers excellent advice on nutrition, exercise and lifestyle to promote healthy ageing and help to turn back the clock by up to ten years. This should be compulsory reading for anyone who is getting older.

51l5B4hcBuL._UY250_

Flights of Fancy

A few years ago I produced an audio CD of 6 short stories and today these stories and another five stories plus my novella The Sewing Circle are published in Flights of Fancy.

Ghosts hint at a chance of coming back to say goodbye, exact a little payback, or simply to help someone else carry on living. Romance is not just for the young and nor are second chances. As for revenge, well … never underestimate a group of elderly ladies with contacts from the past!

One of the recent reviews for the collection

An inviting book of short stories sure to reach various emotions from heartwarming to mystery and always with a twist at the end from this author.

Cronin’s knack for being able to write across several genres is a gift, and that’s what we’re getting in this ‘smorgasbord’ of stories, which no matter the genre, will always bring out a tenderness or justice in the end of her stories.

Flights of Fancy offers 11 short stories. From the story of Trust, a beautifully painted setting with sorrow and one bright spot from a canine visitor, to The Sewing Circle, an engaging short about a senior sewing club with a lot of spunk getting caught up in the crime happening around them, bringing a host of emotions together in one quaint, but suspenseful and satisfactory tale of justice. Cronin also takes us into The Other Side of Heaven, in a moving story in usual Cronin style, with a twist and a tear. How about a motivating psychic parrot who helps to solve one woman’s marital dilemma? No matter the storyline, Cronin knows how to engage an audience with her vivid stories on various subject matters, then wraps them all up with her sentimental touch and always a satisfying ending. Whether on mysteries, humor or heartwarming stories, Cronin has her own special way of bringing in the human condition to all her stories.

Just an Odd Job Girl cover

Just an Odd Job Girl

Imogen was fifty!

Life is unpredictable and will often throw you a curve ball that knocks you out of the park.

For Imogen this curve ball knocked her out of a twenty five year marriage and a lovingly renovated home into a single life at age 50. She had been a very contented wife and mother of two children, who for every one of those 25 years had thought her husband had been equally as happy. It was a shock to find out that she had been delusional and replaced so easily.

Her confidence was non-existent. She had forgotten any skills she possessed and was totally unprepared to enter the modern job market. Or so she thought.

One of the recent reviews for the book

Oct 12, 2020 Gwendolyn Plano rated it it was amazing

Just An Odd Job Girl is an entrancing read. The spirited writing of Sally Cronin quickly captures readers and draws them to the utterly delightful character of Imogen. One challenge after another emerges, only to be surmounted by Imogen’s ingenuity and good luck.

I laughed through much of the book, shed a few tears, and otherwise enjoyed the literary ride. This is an inspirational novel, one that will warm your heart, resonate with past experiences, and bring you to the realization that all is possible, and all is purposeful.

At a time when chaos appears to rule our lives, this book shows us otherwise. I strongly recommend it

Forget the Viagra… Pass me a Carrot!

The latest headlines in the Media recently are constantly highlighting the fact that men are at risk as they ignore early symptoms of life threatening disease. Cardiovascular and Prostate disease if caught in the early stages can be treated and managed but surveys indicate that men do not know what symptoms they should be looking for.

Despite the title, Forget the Viagra, Pass me a Carrot! is not just about the physical causes of sexual dysfunction and the dangers of taking a drug that is bought without medical consultation, but about men’s health in general. A workshop manual takes the working parts, describes how they function, what can go wrong and how to prevent problems in the future. This men’s health manual – does just that – takes all the major organs, illustrates how they work, the symptoms to look for and also how to avoid the problems in the first place.

It is never too late to make changes that can give your body a great chance at a long and vital life.

Review Forget the Viagra, Pass me a Carrot – J.E. Spina

This book was chock full of information on the workings and processing of the human body. Sally Cronin, the author, has produced an incredible resource for all. Everything you ever needed to know about diet, exercise, super foods, vitamins, what’s good and bad for your body and even how to breathe more effectively to keep your body working better.

There is a lot to take in but I felt that I gained an enormous amount of essential information that I always wanted to know.

Sally is a wonderful nutritionist who takes her profession seriously and is always available to answer questions or lend a hand to her clients. She also has a fabulous blog which I follow religiously. I love her books and look forward to more from this talented and articulate author.

51NMw4cv+mL._UY250_Media Training.

I have been both sides of the marketing world. Within various businesses I have had to promote services and products through the media and then as an advertising sales executive in print media and as a broadcaster, help others promote their businesses.

Even today with the changing world of print media and broadcasting, it is still important to understand how to gain the advantage when pitching your product, book, charity or service. This is not a marathon read, just 70 pages in fact, but it will give you the basics for developing a relationship with your local media. It will also give you guidelines on how to present your product or service is such a way that they will promote you.

A recent review for the book

Oct 26, 2019 D.G. Kaye rated it Five Stars

Don’t be fooled by the 42 page count of this gem of a book, which is really a must-have manual with some of the best advice and in-depth examples and information detailing everything you need to know to help spread the word to market both, yourself and your work.This book is a succinct little marketing guide for authors, but can apply to anyone wanting to learn how and where to get the word out. From learning how to step out of our comfort zones and enter the realm of marketing, to putting together a press release, preparing for interviews, and how to put good copy together for advertising, Cronin has created an excellent, jam-packed manual of instruction to help navigate marketing ourselves and our products or books. #Recommended.

tales-from-the-garden-cover

Tales from the Garden – Also in Spanish

Fairy Stories for children of all ages, from five to ninety-five that will change the way you look at your garden, forever.

With over 80 photos/illustrations, “Tales from the Garden” by Sally Cronin,reveals the secrets that are hidden beneath hedges and trees.

You will discover what really happens at night as you sleep unaware in your bed. Stone statues and those hidden worlds within the earth are about to share their stories.

The guardians who have kept the sanctuary safe for over fifty years will allow you to peek behind the scenes of this magical place. They will take you on a journey through time and expand your horizons as they transport you to the land of fairies, butterflies and lost souls who have found a home here.

One of the reviews for the book.

I do have print copies available of most of my books and you can contact me on sally.cronin@moyhill.com if you are interested in buying a copy..thanks Sally.

 

 

 

601 thoughts on “My books and Reviews 2019/2020

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Laughter Lines – September 17th 2020 – Hosts Debby Gies and Sally Cronin – Stress relief and Heaven and Hell. | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health Column – Cholesterol and Fat Myths Part Three, Vitamin K2 and Healthy Fats by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  3. Pingback: #Dogs – Sam, A Shaggy Dog Story – Chapter Eight – Human Language Lessons by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  4. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health Column – Blood Pressure and the #Salt debate by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Laughter Lines – September 22nd 2020 – Hosts Debby Gies and Sally Cronin – Skinny Jeans and Anagrams… | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Medicine Woman’s Treasure Chest – Essential Oils and Aromatherapy – An introduction to the therapy by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  7. Pingback: #Dogs – Sam, A Shaggy Dog Story – Chapter Nine – Other Pack Members and Respect your Elders by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  8. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health Column – Blood Pressure – Part Two – Nitrate and Potassium foods and wholegrains -Get your blood flowing by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  9. Pingback: Smorgasbord Medicine Woman’s Treasure Chest – Essential Oils and Aromatherapy – Oils, origins, uses and Safety – Part One by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  10. Pingback: #Dogs – Sam, A Shaggy Dog Story – Chapter Ten – Sleepovers with new friends by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  11. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health Column – The endocrine system and hormones Part One by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  12. Pingback: Smorgasbord Medicine Woman’s Treasure Chest – Essential Oils and Aromatherapy – Oils, origins, uses and Safety – Part Two by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  13. Pingback: #Dogs – Sam, A Shaggy Dog Story – Chapter Eleven – Favourite Walks in Ireland by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  14. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health Column – The endocrine system and hormones Part Two by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  15. Pingback: Smorgasbord Medicine Woman’s Treasure Chest – Essential Oils and Aromatherapy – Bergamot essential oil – by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  16. Pingback: #Dogs – Sam, A Shaggy Dog Story – Chapter Twelve – Car Rides and move to Spain by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  17. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health Column – UnSeasonal Affective Disorder #Lockdown #Elderly – Part One by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  18. Pingback: Smorgasbord Medicine Woman’s Treasure Chest – Essential Oils and Aromatherapy – Chamomile Essential Oil by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  19. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health Column – UnSeasonal Affective Disorder – The Missing Link – Vitamin D by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  20. Pingback: #Dogs – Sam, A Shaggy Dog Story – Chapter Thirteen –  Our new home and friends by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  21. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health Column – UnSeasonal Affective Disorder – Keeping your focus – Tryptophan by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  22. Pingback: Smorgasbord Medicine Woman’s Treasure Chest – Essential Oils and Aromatherapy – Clary Sage by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  23. Pingback: Tales from the Irish Garden – All Hallows Eve – Part One by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  24. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health Column – UnSeasonal Affective Disorder – The Key element of Activity and People by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  25. Pingback: Tales from the Irish Garden – All Hallows Eve – Part Two by Sally Cronin | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

I would be delighted to receive your feedback (by commenting, you agree to Wordpress collecting your name, email address and URL) Thanks Sally

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.