Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore – New Author on the Shelves -#Epic #Fantasy The Goblin Trilogy by Jaq D. Hawkins


A welcome to the cafe to Jaq D. Hawkins with her books and today I am featuring The Goblin Trilogy that showcases the books in the series.

About the Trilogy

A saga spanning three generations in a feudal world governed by magicians.

Will you dare to enter a world of darkness among the goblins to join into The Dance?

The complete collection of the Fantasy trilogy that brought Epic series to a new generation. World building based in the foundation of Traditional Fantasy.

Dance of the Goblins

The goblins lived unseen by man for many generations and were forgotten, consigned to legend, but a fluke sighting when a man wanders into the entrance of a forgotten underground transportation system revives an ancient war between the species, originated by misunderstanding and prejudice of a species which appears alien to the superstitious humans.

Demoniac Dance

A young girl running away from an unwanted marriage finds a new life among the mysterious magicians in the land across the river. What she didn’t bargain for is the presence of the goblins who have befriended her benefactors.

Power of the Dance

Khemael is a creature of beauty and grace with a mostly human appearance. His love of stretching his leather-like wings and flying freely in the world of men brings far too much attention to the existence of the goblins. Haghuf knows that the inevitable responsibility will fall to him to destroy Khemael who, in the world of the humans, would be called his grandson.

Worlds of magic await to be discovered in the complete series, The Goblin Trilogy!

Old school Fantasy for readers of The Lord of the Rings, Dragonlance, Songs of Ice and Fire, and Wheel of Time.

One of the recent reviews for the trilogy

Penny Blake 5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and unusual fantasy trilogy  Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 December 2020

This series sucks you straight in from the first page and I simply couldn’t put my kindle down – I think it took me two weeks to read all three books and I don’t get much time for reading right now! The characters capture you from the start and I loved the idea of the Goblin anarcho-communist society preserving the old ways underground while the humans blunder about above but hope coming in the form of the dance which connects all life and so human to goblin as well.

I like the rawness and realism of the dystopic retro-future it is set in – the writer doesn’t pull any punches regarding the ‘medieval mindset’ of many of the humans and the ‘primal mindset’ of the goblins and this makes some scenes uncomfortable (think maybe the darker bits of Margaret Weiss or Mercedes Lackey or more recently R A Salvatore has ventured down that road) but I love that – I hate it when fantasy writing paints everything with a golden sheen of utopic perfection and ignores the awkward truths and moral grey areas that exist in any society.

There are strong and lovable characters here and they exist in context within a very real world, I had my heart in my mouth a few times but there was nothing that made me want to put the books down and I do have a fair few triggers so hopefully that gives you a flavour without any spoilers. Other reviewers have said it’s not a children’s series -but I think that’s obvious from the cover! (Which is beautiful, I love the artwork almost as much as the books!) My only down-point was that I wanted the story to go on after the last book so I hope there will be more goblin tales in the pipe line!  

The kindle verson of the trilogy has been marked down to half price and should be available to buy for this great offer by later today.

Read the reviews and buy the set: Amazon US – And: Amazon UK

A selection of other books by Jaq D. Hawkins

Read the reviews and buy the books:  Amazon UK – And: Amazon US – Follow Jaq:  Goodreads – Website: Jaq D. Hawkins – Blog: Goblins and Steam Punk – Facebook: The Wake of the Dragon – Twitter: @JaqDHawkins

About Jaq D. Hawkins

Jaq D Hawkins is the author of several Fantasy novels, which include Dance of the Goblins, Demoniac Dance and Power of the Dance. There is a combined volume of the full Goblin Trilogy available. Her most recent release (August 2019) is a comedic science fiction novel, an adventurous farce through time and space called The Chase for Choronzon.

She has also written the Airship Mechanoids Steampunk series which begins with The Wake of the Dragon and will continue with The Winds of Winter Storms in 2019 and a third volume that takes the series into the realm of Khempunk due out in 2020.

She lives in England with her family, which includes several cats, and works on amateur filmmaking when she isn’t writing. Most of the time she juggles deadlines between the two. She is a strong advocate of human rights and equality, which is reflected in many of her stories through diversity in central characters.

 

Thanks for dropping in today and I hope you will head over to check Jaq’s books out in more detail.. thanks Sally.

 

Sally’s Cafe and Bookstore – New on the Shelves – The Wake of the Dragon: A Steampunk Adventure by Jaq D. Hawkins


I am welcoming a new author to the bookstore today. Fantasy and steampunk author Jaq D. Hawkins.

The Wake of the Dragon is on sale at 99c until tomorrow 15th March.

About Jaq D. Hawkins

Jaq D Hawkins is a published writer with 9 books in publication in the Mind, Body and Spirit field published by Capall Bann Publishing as well as four Fantasy novels in print and E-book; The Goblin Trilogy which consists of Dance of the Goblins, Demoniac Dance, and Power of the Dance (Combined Trilogy edition available in paperback and only on Amazon in ebook form), also the Steampunk book, The Wake of the Dragon, an airship pirate adventure among the opium trade in an alternative history, also available in audiobook. More coming soon.

About The Wake of the Dragon: A Steampunk Adventure

No sane airshipman will fly near a storm, but the cover of storm edge offers effective concealment for airship pirates who can strike quickly from above before anyone knows a ship is near. With the protection of Aide, the goddess of air travel, one airship defies the elements to seek fortune for the rag tag aerialists who make up the pirate crew.

The elements are the least of their problems when they find themselves saddled with an airsick clerk, a crewmember suspected of working for the East India Company and a love sick farm girl whose headstrong misconceptions compel her to seek adventure where no decent woman would wander unescorted.

Battling businessmen, mechanoids and villagers armed with torches and pitchforks, Captain Bonny must decide who to trust, and whether the only rational course of action is one of apparent madness.

This is the first steampunk book that I’ve read. I didn’t know a genre like this existed before this book. A friend of mine read the book and felt that I would enjoy it and she was right. I do like steampunk or maybe I like this one.

This book led me on a fantastical, magical world of pirates and floating ships. I felt at times that I was caught in a bit of a spin-off from the movie Stardust and I couldn’t help but have Robert de Niro in my head as Captain Bonny. And a little bit of Jack Sparrow maybe. Like these swashbuckling pirates, Captain Bonny is full of style and bonhomie and is a very entertaining character.

I know that all the characters are larger than life because of the magical setting but each of them is multi layered and interesting. Whether it is the irritating clerk, the stowaway, everyone has their own little story which melds into the whole.

There may not have been much of a plot or rather it is a well used plot, but mix it with the magic and it is raised to a whole new level. And the ending is worth the wait. I think I may be into steampunk after this book. If you’re into steampunk, read this book, you’ll love it. If you have no idea what steampunk is, read it, you’ll love it.

I started to read “The Wake of the Dragon,” without knowing what to expect but was quickly drawn into the tale. The story is beautifully written in a style that seems almost classical, and the adventure it leads the reader on is nothing short of imaginative. The loves, fears and addictions of the main characters help them come to life, making it easy to become caught up in their journey. My favorite part was the steampunk aspect that added a different dimension to the traditional pirate tale. Like sea-going pirate ships, flying dirigibles carry their own dangers, and Captain Bonny certainly pushes the limits of his ship and crew throughout the book. I really enjoyed the story and would recommend it to anyone seeking a great adventure—steampunk or otherwise!

Read all the reviews and buy the book: https://www.amazon.com/Wake-Dragon-Steampunk-Adventure-ebook/dp/B0080UVQIW

ON SALE until 15th of March 99cents

A small selection of other books by Jaq D. Hawkins

Read the reviews and buy all the books:https://www.amazon.com/Jaq-D-Hawkins/e/B0034P4BFI

Connect to Jaq D.Hawkins

Website: http://jaqdhawkins.com/
Blog: https://goblinsandsteampunk.wordpress.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/The-Wake-of-the-Dragon-532948003510260
Twitter: https://twitter.com/JaqDHawkins
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/218599.Jaq_D_Hawkins

If you would like to join Jaq and 155 other authors on the shelves of the bookstore then here is how you can: https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/sallys-cafe-and-bookstore/

Thank you for dropping by and it would be great if you could spread the word about Jaq’s work. thanks Sally