Smorgasbord Posts from Your Archives 2024 #Potluck – #Life #Ambitions #Passions – Take it to the Limit by Melanie McGauran

Welcome to the series of Posts from Your Archives and I will be sharing posts from the SECOND six months of 2023 from your archives.

This current series is now closed to submissions but there will be a new series to participate in later in the year.

This is the first post from writer and blogger Melanie McGauran of Leaving the Door Open and shares her thoughts on life and taking passions to the limit….

Take It to the Limit

I was fifteen when The Eagles released their song “Take It to the Limit.” Just typing those words brings the melody to mind; it has that strong of a hook. Some songs are like that.

The song was unique because it was one of the rare times that base player Randy Meisner took the lead vocals. Typically, Meisner sang the higher harmonies on most of their albums. This song, however, needed his upper vocal range, and he carried that song into the rafters every time he was on stage.

Randy Meisner died July 26th at age 77. Most news platforms paid appropriate tributes to his legacy. NBC shared an interview where the famously shy band member spoke about his big hit.

“My take on ‘Take it to the Limit’ is to keep trying, especially before you reach a point in your life where you feel you’ve done everything.”

I think of this in a couple of different ways.

First, if you have a singular passion, whether it be writing music or becoming a foster parent, stick with it. Take your commitment to the limit. That singular focus should bring success. Be patient and take the dream as high as you can.

I also apply it to people who want to see and do it all (metaphorically speaking). Without getting into too much “pop psychology” about it, I think of it as taking your overall life’s journey to the limit.

I recently saw a story of two friends on the news. They are both 81-year-old women, who decided to travel around the world in 80 days as a nod to the iconic book written in 1872, or the movie I guess which came out in 1956. They succeeded, even working around a global pandemic.

I get it. That type of high energy choice is not for most of us. But it illustrates exactly what Meisner was saying about trying until you reach your “I’ve done everything, I’m too old for that” stage. That stage is on a spectrum. It’s just not a green light or a red light. Clearly, the women are at one end of that spectrum, but there’s a whole middle section, smaller in scope, which may still be worth trying; worth saying yes to. That spoke to me and I knew it would become my first post as I return to the blog.

Meisner’s message actually parallels my whole theme this year, which I referenced in January. I called it my #liveagreatstory year. Briefly, “Live a Great Story” is a movement. It initially started through Instagram, where people shared photos (usually travel) of what they believe is a great story.

There are other ways to approach this goal, though.

It could be starting a business, being a teacher, or just trying to enjoy the moment. It is solely based on the person and what that phrase means to them.

After randomly finding a “Live A Great Story” sticker on a beach shower pole, I wrote in January that I wanted to try to do that in 2023. I hoped to both find and try something new, something engaging this year. I wanted to experiment with that line of thinking (although I’m not parachuting out of a plane!)

I would say the biggest experiment I’ve taken on so far was to enroll in an online Independent Study writing course for a month this summer.

The instructor was kind, accessible… and tough. I felt like I was in writing boot camp, but honestly, that was precisely where I wanted to be. Her questions and feedback probed, re-directed, and with a little guidance on “tone”, I re-wrote entire sections of an ongoing project. She responded with enthusiastic approval. The content I sent her is absolutely at a higher level because of her.

Live a Great Story is a wonderful idea, but there is room for Meisner’s take. My “taking it to the limit” might be as simple as saying “yes” to as many things I’d like to try. I’m not ready to face all red lights yet.

A serendipitous reminder I ran into on my birthday

Luckily, that same classic song is so familiar, it can serve as a personal reminder for us. It can nudge us when we hear it on the radio, or streaming or even in an ad. It will encourage us to think about what it means to each of us to take it to the limit.

“So put me on a highway
Show me a sign,
Take it to the limit
One more time.” (And maybe one more time after that…)

If you are new to the song, or want to reminisce: Eagles 

©Melanie McGauran 2023

My thanks to Melanie for inviting me to share posts from her archives and I know she would love to hear from you.

About Melanie McGauran

In between school carpools and planning Halloween parties, I started out writing professionally as a free-lance reporter for Pioneer Press Newspapers in the Chicagoland area. I interviewed two dozen business owners in my “A Day in the Life” series and covered countless speakers at various public venues.

When my son was older, I took a full-time job with Legacy.com. This is the company which hosts obituary pages for newspapers, literally, around the world. I was intrigued by a medium which helped people connect on a global scale; a still relatively new concept in 2007.

After moving from Chicago to Florida’s Space Coast, I began the blog to hold onto the stories and situations I was now facing helping my elderly mother. I had hopes of creating a communal platform with tips and helpful conversations about coping with an aging parent. But I got cancer instead. I decided to write about that. Life loves throwing a curveball. Since then, the blog has shifted into memoir, feature pieces that satisfy my reporting side, interesting conversations and more. I like to offer a consistent variety.

I’ve been published in Literary Mama, Illinois Parks & Recreation, The Rotarian and Story Circle Network’s 2022 “Real Women Write” Anthology. Available on Amazon

Connect to Melanie on her blog: Leaving the Door Open – Twitter: @opendoorstories

 

Thanks for dropping in today and it would be great if you would click the share buttons on your way out… Sally.

60 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Posts from Your Archives 2024 #Potluck – #Life #Ambitions #Passions – Take it to the Limit by Melanie McGauran

  1. What a great blog and I loved the ‘Eagles’ reminder too.

    for me ‘take it to the limit’ has been my fantastic time with my grandson and now my granddaughter. I didn’t think I would love my playtime again, as much as I do. and I never thought for one minute my grandson would look forward to our adventures as much as he does – gives me a warm fuzzy feeling. We certainly are ‘living a great story’.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you. Yes.

        I take each visit and play day I have with the grandchildren as a bonus. I never assume it is a given. I make the most of what we have at the moment as everything could change.

        For a start the 10 minute collection time is now 45 minutes there and 45 minutes back so Isabelle’s playtime is different.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round Up – 22nd-28th April 2024 – Travel News, Hits 1970s, Iconic Duets, Funnies, Cardiovascular system, Book Review, Bloggers. | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  3. As one of Melanie’s regular followers, I always perk up when I see her posts. We first connected through our moms living at assisted living. Whatever she writes about, it’s always thought-provoking and honest. What more could you want from a writer?

    The Eagles are up there at the top of my all-time favorite bands. Not a week goes by when I’m not checking out their group or solo work. I especially love listening to Meisner or Henley.

    Liked by 2 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback (by commenting, you agree to Wordpress collecting your name, email address and URL) Thanks Sally

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.