Smorgasbord Posts from Your Archives 2024 #Potluck – Thursday Thoughts -#Snakes #Death #Dusting Tiffany Blue Snake. Dust and Emily Levine by Carol Taylor

Welcome to the series of Posts from Your Archives and I will be sharing posts from the SECOND six months of 2023 from your archives.

This current series is now closed to submissions but there will be a new series to participate in later in the year.

This is the second post by author and food guru Carol Taylor where she shares the sighting of an exotic coloured snake, Emily Levine’s take on death and dusting. It was published in September 2023

Welcome to Thursday Thoughts which are very random today …I woke up this morning to rain so no early morning walk and on the news was the sighting of this beautiful snake …A lovely turquoise blue and due to its rarity it’s believed to bring good luck. Also known as the Blue Snake, it is a variant of the Green Tree Python. However, its genetic makeup differs from the average Green Tree Python, resulting in its unique blue colouration instead of the usual green.

Everyone was asking if it was venomous…the Tiffany Blue snake does indeed possess a potent serum. If bitten, it could affect the blood system, causing swelling and redness at the bite site. However, the venom doesn’t cause severe symptoms that could lead to death.

Typically, these snakes measure between 1 to 2 metres in length and are native to humid rainforests. The Tiffany Blue snake is capable of bioluminescence, illuminating at night, and feeds on insects and small reptiles…the advice given if you should encounter a Tiffany Blue snake, you should not try to chase it away. Instead, observe the snake’s movements from a safe distance and call a professional or authority for assistance to ensure your safety…

Wow, I will be looking out for one of those I would love to see one…

The other day I came across this TED Talk…Emily Levine’s take on death which no one escapes is amazing…it’s a great TED Talk…

Because I didn’t get my early morning walk in I thought I would do some dusting …so duster in hand I dusted my rocking horse collection and various other glass tops…Then I remembered

Dust If You Must by Rose Milligan …

Dust if you must, but wouldn’t it be better

To paint a picture, or write a letter,

Bake a cake, or plant a seed;

Ponder the difference between want and need?

Dust if you must, but there’s not much time,

With rivers to swim, and mountains to climb;

Music to hear, and books to read,

Friends to cherish, and life to lead.

Dust if you must, but the worlds out there

With the sun in your eyes, and the wind in your hair,

A flutter of snow, a shower of rain,

This day will not come around again.

Dust if you must, but bear in mind,

Old age will come and it’s not kind.

And when you go(and go you must)

You yourself will make more dust.

Well, that’s a compelling poem maybe I shouldn’t dust again…

On that note, I will say adieu I hope you are having a lovely day and thank you for joining me xx 

©Carol Taylor 2023

My thanks to Carol for inviting me to share from her archives and I know she would love to hear from you..

About Carol Taylor

Carol Taylor now lives in Thailand having been brought up in England and has built a dedicated following of her blog and guest posts where she creates not only amazing dishes, but sources fantastic ingredients in line with her philosophy of sustainable food ‘cooked from scratch’. Having travelled extensively Carol has incorporated the cuisines of many different cultures into her recipes, and shares her research into the backgrounds to both the traditional cultures and the origins of the ingredients.

She loves shopping at local markets and wherever she is, finding fresh, natural ingredients, new strange fruits and vegetables she has never seen or cooked with.

Health and the environment are key priorities, particularly the concern about our oceans and fisheries. Also, how many of our foods on the shelves of our supermarkets are ultra processed and contain additives that do not add to the nutritional value and are not healthy. She is an advocate about growing our own food where or when we can even it it is only a few pots or a window box of herbs.

She wishes everyone would count chemicals and not calories as they would be much healthier…it’s true ‘we are what we eat‘ and while a cake or a bar of chocolate does no harm on occasions, sticking to a fresh food, balanced diet will keep our bodies healthy as we age…

A Homemade Christmas is the first in a series of cookbooks to come.

Head over to buy the book: Amazon UKAnd: Amazon US – For reviews: Goodreads – Connect to Carol – Blog:Carol Cooks 2 – Twitter: @CarolCooksTwo – Facebook:Carol Taylor

 

Thanks for dropping in and it would be great if you could click a few share buttons on you way out..

 

 

55 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Posts from Your Archives 2024 #Potluck – Thursday Thoughts -#Snakes #Death #Dusting Tiffany Blue Snake. Dust and Emily Levine by Carol Taylor

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round Up – 22nd-28th April 2024 – Travel News, Hits 1970s, Iconic Duets, Funnies, Cardiovascular system, Book Review, Bloggers. | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  2. Hi Sally, I enjoyed the snake information and the poem is brilliant. Sadly, if you don’t dust in Southern Africa, you will soon be buried. It is nothing like the UK where you can get away with it. OUr dust creates dust, I’m sure of that.

    Like

  3. I think we can add one more certainty in life besides death and taxes—dust.

    Snakes are one of the few things in life that give me the creeps, no matter what color they are.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Man, would I love to see a snake like that! For me, snakes are second only to cats, and this blue one is stunning!! (And a new species for me, so I’ll be doing some research on them, for sure.)

    Great post overall, even if I did get stuck staring at the gorgeous snake for a long, long time! Thanks for sharing yet another winner, Sally! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  5. The blue snake, I am pleased we do not have in England.. The Adder and grass snakes are what we have mostly and they are hard to find..

    Loved the Dust poem… I can honestly say… I can find lots more things to do than dusting.. But there comes a point when the duster has to come out to play.. 🙂

    Loved the post thank you Sally and Carol.. .. 🙂 xx

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Wonderful post, Sally. Thank you for introducing Carol as you have. The poem brought smiles and memories of my mom. With seven kids running around in a small home, she once told me, “I’m not going to worry about dusting. If I get a free moment, I’m going to read.” And she did just that. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback (by commenting, you agree to Wordpress collecting your name, email address and URL) Thanks Sally

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.