Smorgasbord Reblog – Lockdown #Poetry #Thoughts #Isolation #Writers M.J. Mallon with Sally Cronin

I was delighted to be the guest of author and poet Marjorie Mallon today as part of her series sharing the thoughts and poetry of writers during the recent lock down..  I hope you will head over to read the post in full.. thanks Sally.

Photo by Jordan Benton from Pexels

Welcome to Sally Cronin, a huge supporter of the indie writing community. Sally has kindly offered to contribute to my latest writing project: This Is Lockdown.

It’s a compilation of my diaries, short stories, flash fiction, poetry and articles, plus poems and pieces of writing from an array of international writers, authors and bloggers – the ‘Isolation Writers,’ featured on my blog.

She shares her tributes to all those who have kept us safe, educated, fed, and cared for during this crisis, her thoughts on reentering ‘normal’ activities, a poem inspired by our current situation, plus her reflections for the future.

Double Etheree – Silver Lining

I
believe
there is a
silver lining
to isolation.
A chance to reassess
how we effectively use
one of life’s great commodities
so often wasted and lamented
yet measured so accurately each day.
Time can be fleeting or last a lifetime
and it seems there is little to spare.
But during this brief hiatus
I have come to understand
that clocks do not decide
how I use this gift.
In the future
I will live
and love
more.

© Copyright Sally Cronin 2020

Thanks very much Marjorie for inviting me over to share my thoughts about the recent three months of lock down and the prospect of moving forward.

Firstly, I really want to pay tribute to the health care workers in hospitals, care homes and those who have continued to visit individuals in the community. We tend to forget when we look at their uniforms that they are also grandparents, mums and dads, sisters, brothers and grandchildren, who have the same concerns we all do about what is going on in the home, not just in their place of work.

Also those working on the front-line in supermarkets and pharmacies that have turned up each day, cheerfully, to make sure we have food on the table and medication delivered.

Parents too have been challenged by assuming the roles of teachers as well as playmates for their children in the last three months, and judging by the photographs and captions on social media, with mixed results. Humour thankfully has been sustained over the last 12 weeks, but I do know that many have struggled with the enforced isolation.

Please head to read the rest of the post.Lockdown Poetry thoughts on Isolation with Marjorie Mallon and Sally Cronin

About M.J. Mallon

I am an author who has been blogging for many moons: https://mjmallon.com. My interests include writing, photography, poetry, and alternative therapies. I write Fantasy YA, and middle grade fiction as well as micropoetry – haiku and tanka. I love to read and have written over 100 Book Reviews

My alter ego is MJ – Mary Jane from Spiderman. I love superheros! I was born on the 17th of November in Lion City: Singapore, (a passionate Scorpio, with the Chinese Zodiac sign a lucky rabbit. I grew up in a mountainous court in the Peak District in Hong Kong.

As a teenager I travelled to many far-flung destinations. It’s rumoured that I now live in the Venice of Cambridge, with my six foot hunk of a Rock God husband, and my two enchanted daughters.

When I’m not writing, I eat exotic delicacies while belly dancing, or surf to the far reaches of the moon. To chill out, I practise Tai Chi. If the mood takes me I snorkel with mermaids, or sign up for idyllic holidays with the Chinese Unicorn, whose magnificent voice sings like a thousand wind chimes.

M.J.Mallon, Buy:   Amazon US – And  Amazon UK Website: M.J. Mallon – Goodreads: Goodreads – Twitter: @Marjorie_Mallon

 

27 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Reblog – Lockdown #Poetry #Thoughts #Isolation #Writers M.J. Mallon with Sally Cronin

  1. Your poem is fantastic, Sally, and your reflections on the lockdown are right on. I thoroughly enjoyed the post. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Sally thanks so much for this lovely reblog. So touched. ❤ Thank you so much for being my guest and contributing to the forthcoming anthology. Appreciate your kindness and support so much. Hugs. Marje x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I so agree with this attitude, Sally. In my grad school classes, most teachers are uncomfortable and struggling with remote teaching but not those already using tech. That gives me hope that once we’re used to it, remote/online teaching will offer new options for some who learn better that way. As you say, “how to use this gift”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Jacqui.. I actually did a diploma courses online back in the early 2000s and completed it in 6 weeks rather than 6 months as my tutor was happy enough to support me as I went through the modules at my own pace. I think it is a way to accommodate students who have different approaches to learning and remove some of the stress associated with set time scales.

      Like

Comments are closed.