Smorgasbord Book Reviews – #Mystery #Paranormal – Harbinger (Wake-Robin Ridge Book 3) by Marcia Meara

I have been enjoying the Wake-Robin Ridge series by Marcia Meara this last few months and this week one of the books that I have read is book three – Harbinger

About the book

Continuing in the tradition of Wake-Robin Ridge and A Boy Named Rabbit, Marcia Meara’s North Carolina mountain series takes a shivery turn with the Appalachian Legend of Ol’ Shuck, the Harbinger of Death.

“. . . he felt the wet slide of the dog’s burning hot tongue on his face, and the scrape of its razor sharp teeth against the top of his head. A white-hot agony of crushing pain followed, as the jaws began to close.”

The wine-red trillium that carpets the forests of the North Carolina Mountains is considered a welcome harbinger of spring—but not all such omens are happy ones. An Appalachian legend claims the Black Dog, or Ol’ Shuck, as he’s often called, is a harbinger of death. If you see him, you or someone you know is going to die.

But what happens when Ol’ Shuck starts coming for you in your dreams? Nightmares of epic proportions haunt the deacon of the Light of Grace Baptist Church, and bring terror into the lives of everyone around him. Even MacKenzie Cole and his adopted son, Rabbit, find themselves pulled into danger.

When Sheriff Raleigh Wardell asks Mac and Rabbit to help him solve a twenty-year-old cold case, Rabbit’s visions of a little girl lost set them on a path that soon collides with that of a desperate man being slowly driven mad by guilt.

As Rabbit’s gift of the Sight grows ever more powerful, his commitment to those who seek justice grows as well, even when their pleas come from beyond the grave.

My 5 star review for the book October 20th 2020

Another lovely chapter in the life of Rabbit as he adapts to life as the adopted son of Mac and Sarah and brother to baby Branna. This magical little boy is an old soul with a special gift that sometimes shakes him to the core. He feels and sees people and events that others cannot even conceive of, and it is a heavy burden at times. But Rabbit feels obligated to do what he can to help other people.

In this new case that the local sheriff has had on his desk for twenty years, Rabbit and Mac partner up to make the best use of modern technology and the boy’s unique gift. The mystery that surrounds the disappearance of a young girl twenty years before haunts both the sheriff and her family, and they are all looking for closure.

There is also a dark soul who is haunted by the mythical Ol’ Shuck, a large black dog that prowls the outer edges of sanity looking for an opportunity to pounce. Secrets are about to be exposed and lives torn apart by the actions of the past and Rabbit and Mac are caught right in the middle of the events.

Beautifully written as always; the author draws us in and reinforces the connection readers have made to Rabbit and his family in the previous two books. New characters expand the circle of family and friends, and others involved in the life and death struggle in this particular book, are interesting and stand both sides of good and evil.

I suggest you read books one and two of the series and I can recommend the series to readers who enjoy paranormal, supernatural mysteries and thrillers.

Read the other reviews and buy the book: Amazon US – And: Amazon UK

A selection of books by Marcia Meara

Marcia Meara, Buy: Amazon USAnd : Amazon UK – Marcia Meara on: Goodreads – Blog:Marcia Meara WritesTwitter: @MarciaMeara

Marcia Meara lives in central Florida, just north of Orlando, with her husband of over thirty years, four big cats, and one small dachshund.

When not writing or blogging, she spends her time gardening, and enjoying the surprising amount of wildlife that manages to make a home in her suburban yard. She enjoys nature. Really, really enjoys it. All of it! Well, almost all of it, anyway. From birds, to furry critters, to her very favorites, snakes. The exception would be spiders, which she truly loathes, convinced that anything with eight hairy legs is surely up to no good. She does not, however, kill spiders anymore, since she knows they have their place in the world. Besides, her husband now handles her Arachnid Catch and Release Program, and she’s good with that.

Spiders aside, the one thing Marcia would like to tell each of her readers is that it’s never too late to make your dreams come true. If, at the age of 69, she could write and publish a book (and thus fulfill 64 years of longing to do that very thing), you can make your own dreams a reality, too. Go for it! What have you got to lose?

 

Thanks for dropping by today and I hope you have enjoyed my review and will check out this book and the others by Marcia Meara. Thanks Sally

 

You can find all my other reviews for books I have enjoyed: Smorgasbord Book Reviews

 

74 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Book Reviews – #Mystery #Paranormal – Harbinger (Wake-Robin Ridge Book 3) by Marcia Meara

  1. Thank you so much for such a lovely review, Sally! It means the world to me that this boy and his family have captured your heart. When I wrote the first book in the series, I had a romantic suspense series in mind, featuring various couples in the area around Wake-Robin Ridge. But before I started Book 2, Sarah whispered in my ear (just as I was falling asleep one night) that there was a little boy alone in the wilderness and I needed to tell HIS story, instead. By the time I awoke, I knew who he was and why he was alone in those wild mountains, and my romantic suspense series was history. Rabbit arrived on the Ridge to usurp the entire thing, and it was a lucky day for me when he did.

    Now he lives in my head making droll comments about the world he sees around him in my life, and telling me everything that happens to him in his so I can write it down in each book. I’m so glad that you’ve enjoyed Rabbit’s story so far, and I hope you’ll feel the same way about his latest adventure in The Light. New mystery, new characters, and new perils, but the same brave little boy who just can’t ignore a call for help, no matter the source.

    Thanks again for making my morning! Heck, I’m pretty sure this wonderful review has made my whole day! 🙂 ❤

    And lest you forget, you still and always ROCK!

    Liked by 3 people

    • NOW look what you’ve done, Jess! I’ve got tears plopping into my Earl Grey! Tsk!! Making an ol’ granny cry? Is this what they teach you at the Senior Complex Management School?? (Ha! Betcha don’t think I’m so cool and sweet now, do ya??? Snort!)

      Okay. I forgive you. It’s worth fixing a fresh cup of tea to find such a lovely comment here this morning. Seriously. You are always so much fun to chat with, and I’m really happy that you said that. (Even if you’re thinking of retracting it now.) And I do hope you get a chance to read the WRR stories one day. I would really be interested in your thoughts, especially when you get to Book 2, wherein Rabbit usurps the entire slightly paranormal romantic/suspense series and makes it his own.

      Thanks so much for stopping by today. You’ve just made my morning brighter! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 2 people

      • Awww, it’s not a good day unless I have a crying granny on my shoulder 🙂

        Seriously, I’m an INFJ – I only give credit where credit is due. And that clinches it. Rabbit is going up my TBR pile!

        Liked by 2 people

      • Aw, that’s so cool, Jessica! I guilted you into checking out Rabbit! Hehehehe. *My work here is done!*

        Okay, maybe not. But no matter the reason why. I’ll just be tickled pink if you check out the series, and am looking forward to hearing what you think about this little mountain boy with an extra-special ability. Or two. 😀 Hope you enjoy meeting him. (And Sarah, Mac, and assorted nasty ghosties and thingies along the way, right from the start. But be gentle. Wake-Robin Ridge was my first book, and since I wasn’t planning to write another, I crammed that one full of everything I’d ever wanted to write about, and unknowingly, set the stage for Rabbit’s appearance in book 2.)

        Like

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round up 18th – 24th October 2020 – Streisand, Seasonal Affective Disorder, War Poets, Authors, Books, Reviews and Funnies | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

I would be delighted to receive your feedback (by commenting, you agree to Wordpress collecting your name, email address and URL) Thanks Sally

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.