Smorgsbord Music Column Archive – Get your rock ‘n’ roll boots on with my top five picks by Sally Cronin

If you, like me, have enjoyed the luxury of indulging over the last few days, you might like to get up and get some exercise to these five favourite rock tracks of mine. They are on my playlist and when I am in the kitchen preparing meals I try to do so to the beat… you just have to watch you fingers when chopping the carrots….

I have hundreds of rock songs in the music folders and on tapes, vinyl and CD… and it was tough to just pick five tracks to share with you..

If I had to choose my top bands then Status Quo would definitely be on the list…here is Caroline…I dare you not to tap your feet… uploaded by Mahogany Records

Buy Status Quo:Amazon

Then of course there has to be Queen with a song that gave hope to all well endowed girls in a time of skinny models….  Fat Bottomed Girls…uploaded by  Queen Official

Buy music by Queen: Amazon

Two amazing artists getting together with Tearing us Apart.. Eric Clapton and Tina Turner.. fabulous…I have this on repeat….uploaded by hifi metallic

Buy music by Tina Turner: Amazon    Buy Music by Eric Clapton: Amazon

There would not be a top five without Bruce SpringsteenDancing in the Dark uploaded by Bruce Springsteen

Buy music by Bruce Springsteen: Amazon

And to finish this very short selection of my top picks… Creedence Clearwater Revival with Bad Moon Rising…uploaded by DRIVERATOMIC

Buy music by CCR: Amazon

Thank you for tuning in and I hope it has got your heart pumping and your feet tapping

New for 2021 – The Breakfast Show with hosts William Price King and Sally Cronin every Tuesday.

Each week throughout the year,  William and I will select two top ten hits from the years 1960 to 1985. We will also share the top headlines in the music industry for those years and we will be inviting guests to join us to share their favourite music from that era.

The first Breakfast Show is next Tuesday January 5th and we hope you will tune in.. thanks William and Sally… Happy New Year..

 

39 thoughts on “Smorgsbord Music Column Archive – Get your rock ‘n’ roll boots on with my top five picks by Sally Cronin

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Weekly Round Up – December 27th 2020- January 2nd 2021 – Happy New Year, Rock ‘n’ Roll, Books and funnies | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  2. Salllllllll, you’re such a 60s girl! I didn’t know you were a rocker too lol. I enjoyed the variety. One can’t go wrong with The Boss and Freddie! Looking forward to the new Breakfast show. ❤ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. DJ Sally is back! :-)) Thank you for the great soundmix. A great change, while – really true – I have to carry half a wagon load of concrete blocks from the ground floor into the basement. Well, since no fitness studio is possible at the moment, I have to stay fit. :-)) Michael

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good picks, Sally! I’m still rocking in my 60’s! At least once a week, I get the wife shaking her head as she walks by the computer room while I’m getting my groove on. 🤣

    Like

  5. Mission accomplished in the heart-pumping, toe-tapping, chair-dancing department!! There will never be another Freddy Mercury. After watching the young Bruce dancing in the dark, I’m in need of a swooning couch. As for CCR? The soundtrack of my youth!! I listened to these with the headphones on and the volume cranked up full-blast. Probably not a good idea for a woman of a certain age . . .

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.