Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – Soul Contracts – Choosing our Family Before Birth by D.G. Kaye

Explore the spiritual side of our natures as D.G. Kaye shares her experiences and research into this element of our lives.

You can find part seventeen of the series: Signs, Synchronicity, and Energy by D.G. Kaye

Today Debby explores our past lives, something that has fascinated both philosophers for thousands of years and also more recently scientists. I am sure as always the post will encourage you to share your experiences and raise questions. Debby suggested I share my thoughts as well.

“I do believe in rebirth, and how can you not when you see a four year old play Chopin or a six year old sing an aria that would challenge a seasoned professional. I also believe in cellular memory. Not just the body carrying forward traits from many generations physically like the colour of hair or facial features and certain hereditary diseases but other cells such as our brain cells and perhaps the knowledge they contain.

Now over to Debby… enjoy

Soul Contracts – Choosing our Family Before Birth

Welcome back to my Spiritual Awareness series here at the Smorgasbord. In this edition I’m going to be talking about why it is said that we choose our families before we’re born. Some might wonder if that is the case, why would anyone choose a tortured or difficult life? But it’s all about the life lessons.

Now, granted, if you don’t believe our souls don’t die when our bodies do, and if you don’t believe we’ve had past lives, then I’m not here to convince anyone, rather just discuss what I know about the subject. Many of these discussions about choosing a family before we’re born come from spiritualists, religious experts, and Yogis, and of course, cannot be proven scientifically because there are just some things from other realms we will never physically have proof of in this life.

Before we incarnate into a new body, we make a collective decision, our souls commune with other souls to collaborate in negotiation as to what life lessons we should need to learn with our particular choice of purpose we agree to fill. As well, some are sent to repeat lessons for past unfulfilled karma. This is named our ‘soul contract’. The purpose of growing through this contract is to graduate to a higher consciousness of understanding.

It is said that every soul is assigned a guardian angel who works with seven teachers before they incarnate into human form. After our new birth we’ll find ourselves in a family where we will, as well as the parents we choose, learn what to expect from life or pass on our accrued knowledge from various past lives to teach them in a current life, and for us to learn life lessons we perhaps missed in a previous life from them. Our souls must follow the laws of the universe. If souls don’t abide by making a positive contribution in their lives, they will be deemed to repeat life lessons in another life.

What takes place is the family we choose to be born into. Time, date, and place of birth are all relevant to the contract. People will come into our lives we are meant to learn something from as part of a healing from a past life or even in our current one. We all are given Free Will, which permits us to choose a path to go down or avoid – yet, despite the route we choose to get there, our destiny will never change.

Our ultimate destiny is to experience Unconditional Love through each life throughout the universe to enhance our energies. Our chosen soul contract is the ‘deal’ we make with ourselves to evolve into a higher awareness. And we are told we are never alone without our spirit guides and angels guiding us.

Often throughout our lives we receive ‘signs’ or messages to remind us to keep on the right path. We are sent people at the precise time in life we need to meet them to introduce us to something we need to learn. These people may come and go, stay, or revisit, as the universe extends us a helping hand.

These soul contracts are made in conjunction with the people we will meet in our lives on earth. As I like to say, we meet people for Reasons and Seasons. We may make contact for a short time with someone we meet on the street, store, or anywhere who has something to enlighten us with or inform. This is all pre-destined, all the players we’ll meet in our life on earth are here to teach us lessons.

We may encounter a hurtful situation and learn forgiveness from it. We may be abandoned by someone and through their love, teach us to stand up for ourselves, or allow ourselves to succumb to the pain. We may become caregivers giving love, or we may have to encounter stubborn or unstable family members. Again, lessons. Some lessons we’ll have already mastered in another life which we can also pass onto others in a current life.

We are made of many past lives we’ve lived in. In each of those lives we’ve learned and, also, failed to learn something, which must become a repeated lesson to learn in the next life. We come with no recollection of our past life, other than the things ‘we instinctively know’ from a past life. It’s like we begin each new life with a clean slate, yet, bring with us some knowledge from our past life. The rest is forgotten when we start anew. Could you imagine if we harbored all the baggage we acquired from each life and had to tote it along with us in each consequent life?

No, just the essential lessons. It is said that our entire lives and past lives are stored in the Akashic Archives, kind of like a universal archived library of recordings of memories throughout our lives. Lessons not taken in as supposed to in one life will follow in the next life, like karma, those lessons must be learned. And duly, we make a soul contract in both terms – we learn lessons, we can also be there to teach lessons, to experience both goodness or something nasty or toxic to overcome then share with others so we can be like earth angels, so to speak, and help others with what we’ve already learned.

I’ve mentioned a story before about me visiting a well-known medium in Sedona, Arizona. The woman clued into my broken relationship with my narcissistic mother. This came at a time when the guilt was overwhelming for me after instituting ‘no contact’ with her after fifty years of turmoil. My mother was soon to die at that point – I didn’t know yet. The woman sensed my angst when I told her my dilemma. I was torn not going back for one more try as I did my whole life with my mother. The woman told me there was no need to suffer the anxiety of what would never be changed in this life, and told me I have only to forgive her in my heart. As for my mother, the medium told me she’d failed to learn her karmic lessons in this life and will be forced to learn her mistakes in the next life.

Remember, soul contracts are the deals we’ve sealed ourselves for our next life while we are in spirit form. Also know that some choose to never reincarnate, while others, can wait centuries to reincarnate if they so choose. We all have Free Will.

Do you believe in the afterlife and reincarnation?

If this subject interests you and you’d like to go deeper, please visit the links below and listen to the video.

Spiritual Coach, Vasundhra, explains the Soul Contract in more depth: Soul Contracts

More about discussions on choosing our birth family:  105 – The soul of children choose their parents

“In this episode, we will be discussing a fascinating topic that has intrigued spiritual seekers for generations: How Souls Choose Their Parents Before Birth.

“According to many spiritual traditions, before incarnating into a physical body, each soul chooses the specific family, culture, and circumstances that will best serve their growth and evolution in the physical world. This process is believed to be guided by the soul’s purpose and life mission, as well as the lessons and challenges they need to experience to learn and evolve. In this episode, we will explore the different theories and beliefs about this fascinating process, including the concept of karma and reincarnation, the role of free will and destiny, and the impact of our choices and intentions on the life we manifest.”

How Souls Choose Their Parents Before Birth:

 

Hans Wilhelm is a mystic, author, and illustrator of 200 books for all ages with total sales of over 40 million copies in 30 languages. As a mystic he inspires audiences around the world with his life-affirming concepts to connect with their own inner wisdom.

The Soul of a Baby

©D.G. Kaye 2023

My thanks to Debby for another fascinating post on the spiritual side of our natures. I know she would love to hear from you.

About D.G. Kaye (Debby Gies)

D.G. Kaye is a Canadian author living in Toronto, Canada. She writes nonfiction and memoirs about her life experiences, matters of the heart, and self-help about women’s issues. Her positive outlook keeps D.G. on track, allowing her to take on life’s challenges with a dose of humor in her quest to overcome adversity.

D.G. began writing when pen and paper became the tools to express her pent-up emotions during her turbulent childhood. She began journaling about her life at a young age and continued writing about the imprints and lessons she learned through people and events she encountered. D.G. writes books to share her stories and inspiration. She advocates for kindness and for women’s empowerment. Her favorite saying is “For every kindness received, there should be kindness in return. Wouldn’t that just make the world right?”

When she’s not writing, D.G. loves to read (self-help books and stories of triumph), cook (concocting new recipes, never to come out the same way twice), shop (only if it’s a great sale), play poker (when she gets the chance), and, most of all, travel

Books by D.G. Kaye

One of the recent reviews for Fifteen First Times

My First Car

I share many memories of my first times with Debby and the most memorable for me, was my first car and learning to drive it. This was my first taste of independence and I loved every minute of being behind the wheel.

For The love of Shoes

Shoes struck a different note with me, however, as being tall, I apparently have rather large feet. Finding shoes that fit has always been a nightmare for me.

First and Last Love

Although I share many of Debby’s Fifteen First Times, I never did find the love of my life, although there were plenty of almosts. I am envious of the love she shared with G and very sad that she must mourn him with every single day…

This intriguing book is so many of our lives in a nutshell… 

Read all the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US – and: Amazon UK – follow Debby: Goodreads – Blog: D.G. Kaye Writer – About me: D.G. Kaye – Twitter: @pokercubster Linkedin: D.G. Kaye – Facebook: D.G. Kaye – Instagram: D.G. Kaye – Pinterest: D.G. Kaye

 

Thanks for dropping in today and it would be great if you could share Debby’s post.. thanks Sally

 

 

119 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – Soul Contracts – Choosing our Family Before Birth by D.G. Kaye

  1. Pingback: I Can’t Explain It … | Stevie Turner

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – SPIRIT GUIDES: Who are they? Do we all have of them? by D.G. Kaye | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  3. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – #Vibes by D. G. Kaye | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – DGKayewriter.com

  4. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – #Vibes by D. G. Kaye | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  5. I feel – in my gut – that what you write about here is more truth than fiction. I know I’ve met a few people in my life who I immediately “knew” viscerally, deeply. One of them has become a good friend, who I call my soul friend (a man who is married to a woman who has become one of my best friends). My parents were told they couldn’t have children, and they were married for 7 years and finally began the adoption process until they found out my mom was pregnant with me. I think the timing was right then, for me to be their child, and for the lovers and friends I’ve met during my life. Then again, it could be my creative imagination. Whatever, I love your post, Debby. THANKS.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Pam. Thanks so much for hopping over to read. And yes, I think you’ve just explained one of the miracles of life. I have heard quite a few stories from people who were miracle babies after trying for so long, and just before, or just after couples adopted, mamma gets pregnant. It’s all divine timing of what we signed up for and when the universe brings to fruitition. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Funnies 2023 – Hosts Sally Cronin and Debby Gies – Uber Drivers and Eye Tests | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  7. This is an aspect of Spiritual awareness I’ve not heard of before.
    At first I thought – boy did I ever make a bad choice!
    Then after reading more, I thought – I actually made a great choice.
    I was raised cathoholic, I’ve read much of the bible.
    I abandoned the faith a lifetime ago.
    Why anyone hangs in with a church that has pedophile priests is beyond me.

    I like this better.
    Thank you Debby and Sally!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Pingback: Smorgasbord Funnies 2023 – Hosts Sally Cronin and Debby Gies – Free Range Chicken and A Shaggy Dog Story | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  9. I love this post. Have you read The Little Soul and the Sun? It beautifully explains the concept of choosing before we incarnate the lessons we wish to learn. I think it was written as a children’s book, but then, so many of our lessons are learned through our inner child. Thanks so much for sharing this, Sally and Debby ❤️❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Pingback: Smorgasbord Funnies 2023 – Hosts Sally Cronin and Debby Gies – Air Fresheners and Paternity | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  11. A wonderful article you have shared Sally from Debby… I fully believe as Debby knows my history.. I guess we both chose our parents to grow into who we are today 🙂
    Many thanks Sally and Debby… Great article Debby.. thank you xx ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  12. I’ve already commented over at your place, Debby, so I won’t repeat what I said here. Instead, I’ll just say I know beyond any doubt we’ve lived many lives before and we are here now to complete a cycle, learn lessons and hopefully clear some karmic debt. Great topic! Hugs!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Thanks, Debby, for this fascinating post. I’m neither a believer nor a disbeliever, though I find the concept quite interesting. I’m pleased my children chose me. They have taught me a lot.

    Liked by 4 people

  14. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – Soul Contracts – Choosing our Family Before Birth by D.G. Kaye – DGKayewriter.com

  15. Pingback: Smorgasbord Funnies 2023 – Hosts Sally Cronin and Debby Gies – Dog Strategies and Squirrels | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  16. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round Up – 26th June – July 2nd 2023 – Lilies, Big Band Era, Rebirth, Green Kitchen, Personal Power, Podcast, Health, Reviews and Funnies | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  17. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round Up – 26th June – July 1st 2023 – Lilies, Big Band Era, Rebirth, Green Kitchen, Personal Power, Podcast, Health, Reviews and Funnies | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  18. Pingback: Smorgasbord Funnies 2023 – Hosts Sally Cronin and Debby Gies – Relatives and sobriety tests | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  19. Thanks Debby and Sally for sharing this profound dive into the unknown. I certainly believe that people or situations teach us lessons and that if we fail to learn the lesson we will have to repeat it. I like to think of reincarnation as a do-over chance. I often hear people who say that they would change nothing about their past current life. They would do everything the same. I would change so much. So many mistakes I’ve made so the notion of coming back and doing it right is very appealing. ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  20. A beautiful post, Debby. My mom taught me a lot of this when I was a kid and I grew up believing in past lives. Now sometimes I wonder, as it all seems so otherworldly. I’m a wait and seer, I guess, and trying to live as if, yes, our choices and the love we give matter in the long run. Huge hugs, my friend. Thanks for hosting, Sally.

    Liked by 3 people

  21. I am not at all sure, but I am worried that whatever we have to learn, most of us have not learnt it. By any measure those of us reading this are having a better life than most people on earth and what did they do to deserve their life! The prospect of coming back to starvation or war is scary and vey likely!

    Liked by 3 people

  22. These are very interesting thoughts, and i can’t deny hints for a rebirth. But i definitely had not chosen the location where i have to live for this rebirth. 😉 Next time please somewhere in Italy. 🙂 Thanks for pushing me up to new and interesting researches, Debby! Enjoy your week! xx Michael

    Liked by 2 people

  23. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – Soul Contracts – Choosing our Family Before Birth by D.G. Kaye – Patty's Worlds

    • Thanks Noelle, and you are so right. But the purpose of new life is a blank canvas. I truly believe the ‘deja vu’ moments are definitely a remembrance of a familiar moment spent with a certain person, or a time. We may become someone else, but if it’s our soul that travels with us, we must have to remember a certain sentiment. But wisdom, lol, unfortunately has to be learned accrued through life. ❤

      Liked by 4 people

  24. A very deep and thoughtful post.
    I do feel that there is more to our passing and we come back again in some way.

    Liked by 3 people

  25. This is an excellent post, Debby. I do believe in reincarnation and I also believe that we choose our parents for the reasons you explained so well. It all makes sense to me. Thanks for sharing your insights and the links, and thanks to Sally for hosting. Hugs

    Reblogged on Improvisation – “The Art of Living”
    https://williampriceking.tumblr.com/

    Liked by 3 people

  26. I believe in reincarnation. It explains so many things. Like how we can meet someone and feel we already know them; why some apparently good people suffer so much; why we sometimes feel we’ve been to a place before, but we’ve not.
    I also have an idea about how the world is at the moment. Imagine the number of souls created is fixed. All living things have a soul. As the numbers of humans increases, souls are needed from animal souls to populate the humans. Animals tend to be less thoughtful about the future, and more selfish than humans, so these souls, now human, are also more selfish. This explains how humanity is becoming less considerate and ignores many of the dire problems facing our world. And with more souls being used for humans, the animal population becomes fewer and fewer. As we can see with extinctions.
    Just my thoughts on the subject.

    Liked by 4 people

  27. I’ve just finished Conflicted Hearts and your Reasons and Seasons reference made me smile when I think of those two amazing coincidences in Greece! I really enjoyed Jaye’s review of Fifteen First Times. xx

    Liked by 3 people

  28. I think I had to learn how to be a good listener, and I am, because my mother never stopped talking. Other than that reincarnation is all a mystery to me, but fascinating nevertheless. x

    Liked by 5 people

  29. Great post, Debby. I do believe in past lives and we chose our families to learn. I feel like I packed a lot of lessons into this life. I say this is my last one here on earth, so I’m embracing those lessons the best I can! Xo

    Liked by 4 people

Comments are closed.