Smorgasbord Book Promotions – Summer Book Fair 2023 – #Poetry Balroop Singh, Harmony Kent, #Flashfiction #Poetry M.J. Mallon

This year in the second part of the Summer Book Fair, I will be sharing my recommended books from the last 12 months with either my own review of one of their other top reviews.

The first book today is a collection of poetry by Balroop Singh I recommended in June 2022 Hues Of Hope: Selected Poetry

About the collection

Hues Of Hope is the collection of readers’ favorite poems from my poetry books. These poems explore the hope that lies within our heart, hope that whispers each morning to look at the horizon, hope that inspires us to look beyond the chaotic world and take the next step to vanquish the fears that try to fetter us. It promises to take us to an oasis of peace, unravels magical moments of joy, as beams of love calm our senses. It even guides us through dark alleys to show the streaks of light that shimmer through the clouds.

One of the recent reviews for the collection

Gwendolyn Plano 5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful poems of the virtues of life Reviewed in the United States πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ

Hues of Hope is a collection of poems to savor. Each descriptive verse captures aspects of the virtues of life: beauty, hope, or love. Readers travel through time and mystery and then settle into their own hearts. Singh shares herself, and that is the ultimate gift of the poems. The few lines below are from a poem called Magic of Senses. They offer a glimpse of the magic this poet creates:

Far away an emerald lake
Entwined with the horizon,
A perfect magic to touch and feel
The eternal Link that connects.

Peace and beauty knotted forever
Aspens enhance the joy of wilderness
The orchestra of wind whispers
An air of musical mirth.Β 

Head over to read the reviews and buy the collection: Amazon USAnd: Amazon UK

A selection of other books by Balroop Singh

51cezfo0l3l-_uy250_

Read the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US – and : Amazon UK – Follow Balroop : Goodreads – blog:Balroop Singh on WordPress – Twitter: @BalroopShado

Another poet that I can recommend having read all three books in this series is Harmony Kent and... Life & Soul (Book 2 in the Soul Poetry series)

About the collection

Life & Soul is the second book in the Soul Poetry Series by acclaimed author Harmony Kent.

This beautiful collection of over fifty poems will take the reader through the highs and lows of everyday life via contemporary poetry in a range of styles and themes. Within these pages, you will find reflections on the Lonely Soul, the Seeking Soul, Brief Soul, Friendly Soul, and the Loving Soulβ€”states of mind and living and longing we each experience over the course of a life.

Life & Soul offers something for lovers of poetry from all walks of life.

One of the reviews for the collection

ADG 5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the first Β Reviewed in the United Kingdom πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§

This second installment of Slices of Soul is just as thought provoking and insightful as the first offering, with some wonderful prose and feeling created within its pages. I felt the authors sense of loneliness and struggle, as well as betrayal, and I liked the journey towards hope and love in the later stages. It was also intriguing reading the short autobiographical segment where we really get to know what defines the author. Strong poems for me were Wild and Free, Still Laundry to Get Done and The Group, and I loved the phrase ‘My favourite hello my hardest goodbye my whole reason why’.

This short collection is quick to read but also one to take your time with. The Zen influences and personal touches are what made it stand out for me.Β 

Head over to read the reviews and buy new collection : Universal Link

A small selection of other books by Harmony Kent

Read the reviews and buy the books: Amazon UK – And : Amazon US – Follow Harmony:Goodreads – Website:Harmony Kent – Twitter: @Harmony_Kent

The final book today is another I can highly recommend. The flash fiction and poetry collection The Hedge Witch & The Musical Poet by M.J. Mallon.

About the collection

The Hedge Witch & The Musical Poet is a collection of poetry and flash fiction celebrating the beautiful vulnerability of the forest kingdom. It begins with the poetic tale of the kind-hearted Hedge Witch, Fern, who discovers an injured stranger in desperate need of her woodland spells and magic.

The sweet pairing learn from each other and through Fern’s guidance, Devin embraces the power of magic to leave behind his trouble past to become The Musical Poet.

Poetry/flash fiction titles in section one of the collection include:

The Hedge Witch & The Musical Poet, Rain Forest Love, A Forest Baby Boy, A Forest Baby Girl, A Modern Witch, Rock of Mine, Chester Don & I, The Network of Trees, More Trees Not Less, Two Boys Watching War, Mum Climbing Trees, Let’s Play, The Scorched Tree, Owl’s Holiday Home, A Man’s Holiday Home, A Child’s Excitement, The Teddy In The Woods, Run! The Organutans, All Hallow’s Eve Candy Girl The Forest Bash, Dreaming At Halloween, A Face on Bark, Golden Willow Tree, Rainbow – Parasol of Light, Lollipop Sunshine Tree,

In Section two I pay tribute to the following poets:Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Evangeline, Ruby Archer, King Forest, Bliss Carman, Woodland Rain, Emily Dickinson, Who Robbed the Woods, Rupert Blake, Stopping by The Woods on A Winter Evening,Oscar Wilde, In the Forest.

With my poetry: The Forest Weeps, The Forest King, Raindrops and Childhood Dreams, The Woodland Treasures, Winter Woodland Moon, Child Me.

One of the reviews for the collection

A unique and beautifully written collection of poetry and fiction weaved magically together. I love trees and nature, so a forest setting pulled me right in. Section one starts off with β€œThe Hedge Witch & The Musical Poet.” A whimsical tale of an injured man, Dale, found by a magical woman, Fern, who takes him in to heal. It was great to see a couple more poetic pieces continue this sweet journey. Section two offered poetry based on some famous poems. The beautiful imagery captivated me throughout this book.

I appreciated all the poetry and prose, especially β€œThe Hedge Witch & The Musical Poet” but here are more favorites, β€œRock of Mine,” β€œThe Forest King,” and β€œThe Scorched Tree.” It was great to see a couple of samples that I enjoyed from β€œMr. Sagittarius Poetry and Prose” included. If you love poetry and flash fiction, especially the forest and magic, this is a collection you won’t want to miss. I plan to add the print version to my bookshelves so I can keep enjoying it.Β 

Head over to read the reviews and buy the book: Amazon UK–Β And:Amazon US

Other books by M. J. Mallon

Read the reviews and buy the books:Amazon US –And: Amazon UK – Website: M.J. Mallon – Goodreads: Goodreads – Twitter: @Marjorie_Mallon

 

Thanks for dropping in today and I hope you will be leaving with some books.. Sally

 

80 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Book Promotions – Summer Book Fair 2023 – #Poetry Balroop Singh, Harmony Kent, #Flashfiction #Poetry M.J. Mallon

  1. Congratulations to all 3 poets. I’ve read 1book of each of the poets and find all of them very good. My TBR pile is growing. Am reading Dan’s book now. Hope to slowly chisel through the pile. Thank you, Sally, for sharing these.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Weekly Round Up July 3rd – 9th 2023 – Share an Excerpt, Big Band Era, Leontyne Price, Podcast, Summer Book Fair, Reviews, Health and Humour | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  3. Pingback: Smorgasbord Book Promotions – Summer Book Fair 2023 – #Poetry Balroop Singh, Harmony Kent, #Flashfiction #Poetry M.J. Mallon | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – M J Mallon YA Author and Poet

  4. Thank you so much Sally. Unfortunately since the change regarding comments – the app – I can no longer comment unless I am on my laptop and my mouse has died making life a little bit more difficult. On top of that I haven’t been well. Getting a bit better now. I will reblog today, thank you so much for the lovely feature, I really appreciate it. And congratulations to Balroop, and Harmony too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Three wonderful writer/poets! Thank you for featuring Balroop, Harmony, and M. J. And thank you for including my review, Sally Bravo to all! πŸ€—

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Thanks so much for sharing my book along with some of my favourite authors. I’m so thrilled at this lovely surprise! Congratulations to Balroop and Marje. I loved Hues of Hope, and need to check out Marje’s reads. Thanks for sharing, Sally. Hugs πŸ€—πŸ’•πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you so much Sally for refreshing my book… a big gap for my new book! I am ready, actually with two! 😊
    It’s nice to be featured with such wonderful poets.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Wonderful book features today Sal. Yes, I’m so behind in books, but I enjoyed Marje’s book, and others by both Balroop and Harmony. Congrats to you all. ❀

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Great reviews! I’ve read Balroop’s and Harmony’s lovely books and must bump The Hedge Witch and the Musical Poet up my Kindle towards the light. ❀

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Good reviews.
    I used to write poetry when in college, writing poetry is a good way of expressing emotions and feelings.
    Well done to these poets

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.