Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – Child Innocence and ability to see Spirit, #Imaginaryfriends by D.G. Kaye

Explore the spiritual side of our natures and the universe as D.G. Kaye shares her experiences and research into this element of our lives.

You can find part Twenty-Two of the series: Manifesting

Welcome back to my Spiritual Awareness series here at Sally’s Smorgasbord. In this post I’m going to talk about child innocence and their ability to see spirit, as well as their make-believe friends.

Innocence, Spirit and Imaginary Friends

It is said that babies and young children can see spirit because their souls are still pure, and they have no filters. I have encountered witnessing a spiritual event once in my past family life with my niece days after she was born, and other observations when she was a young child with her imaginary friends.

My niece was just days old, born just before the Jewish Passover. On this holiday, at the end of the Seder dinner, the tradition is that the female head of the household opens the door hoping to invite in the prophet Elijah, symbolizing hope and redemption in Judaism as he is said to take a sip of the special wine-filled glass that is set upon the table along with all other wine glasses that have been blessed upon. Elijah’s awaited visit through the centuries signifies the earthly coming of the Messiah. (I think we are still waiting.)

As a child, it always felt magical to watch the wine cup as my mother or grandmother opened the door. I expertly used to watch the wine cup to see if the rich, red liquid, nearly filled to the brim, would stir or ripple. But on this one particular Seder gathering, my father was cradling my newborn niece, only days old, in his arms, when my mother went to open the door. (This was the one and only time my mother ever made a Seder dinner, and my parents were long divorced by then, but civil to each other.) As traditional, everyone’s eyes were focused on the wine glass in anticipation when my mother opened the door – but I was watching the baby, as was my father. As soon as that door opened – so did the baby’s newborn eyes open wide out of a slumber, as she gave a momentary shriek then immediately closed her beautiful eyes back to sleep. My father and I witnessed the sacred moment, locked eyes with each other in ‘knowing’, and shed a tear together in joy.

My same niece became a very intelligent and playful little girl with great imagination, always years ahead of her age, a child I classified as an old soul. In her early growing up days, I spent a good many years at her house. Whenever I’d catch her playing alone, she always spoke directly to three invisible people – as though she was never alone. Three people with the same rhyming names – Locky, Jocky, and Mocky. (Even I remember their names.) At first after hearing these names repeatedly when I’d visit, I figured it was her grand imagination. But when I eventually asked her who those people were whom she kept speaking to, she casually told me they were her best friends. I knew in my soul they were her imaginary friends, but also always wondered if they were really spirits she could see and talk to or just imaginary.

My niece has a memory like an elephant – like me, for the distant past. And occasionally, when we get together and talk about her childhood, I ask her what happened to her three friends – to which she tells me, she has no idea of what I’m speaking about. It makes me wonder if she’d forgotten her imaginary friends’ and names, or were they spirit ancestors and/or angels who were her comforting as playmates?

Can Children Distinguish Between Spirits and Imaginary Friends?

Psychologists say that it’s perfectly normal for young children to have imaginary friends. Imaginary friends are part of a child’s open imagination. They may create them merely for company as playmates, or some children may create them for a sense of protection, or as distraction from their surroundings, especially if they aren’t living in a harmonious home. And this makes sense to me as my niece grew up in a parallel tumultuous household, as I did.  Many children invent imaginary friends. But many others do have the ability to sense spirit if one is around, because of their pure and unclouded nature. It’s not as though babies and toddlers all have extra sensory perception. It’s just that they have no bias or filters, and no limiting beliefs.

It’s important to note that a healthy normal child who has imaginary friends is not a cause for worry, and it is in fact, said to be quite normal for young tykes to conjure up imaginary friends. The only thing to make sure of is that the child is not imagining anyone who scares them or threatens their peace, putting them in harm’s way. Often, little children will invent an imaginary friend as a dissociation from experienced or ongoing trauma.

Even in healthy circumstances, I think it’s always a good idea for parents to get to know more about their children’s childhood make-believe friends. By asking them questions about ‘their friends’ we can learn if those are healthy or disturbing friendships – or perhaps if they are indeed talking to visiting spirit, not an imaginary friend.

My Story:

I remember in my own childhood that it felt much like walking on eggshells and around landmines around my mother, never knowing what personality she’d be sporting, and I felt very alone my entire childhood with nobody to ask questions to or to confide in. The only person I had for guidance was my Aunty Sherry, but even so, anything I didn’t want shared with my mother, I had to hold back, because of course my aunt would report concerns.

I let my imagination run wild to escape screaming and fighting in my almost daily life. And the emotional neglect contributed to my low self-esteem, my starvation for affection, and fear of my mother’s wrath, should I ever dare to ask a question about my father. I was a very nervous child, always with fear. I feared being yelled at by my mother ‘the screamer’. I feared waking up and finding my father gone – again. And I carried with me always, a sadness for my father because he wanted to be with his family, but my mother didn’t want him.

That’s A LOT of baggage for a child to grow up with and carry. And I didn’t just grow up one day and take a look back. I know I was born an old soul. I was wise beyond my years (just like my niece). I knew the unsettlement I grew up in while I lived it, remembering back as far as three-years-old. I was the seeker of information, always on a gotta know now basis.  I paid attention to my surroundings and all the grown-ups that played a part in my life since then. It was only when I was about seven or eight years old that I began paying attention to every word and what was going on. It was then that when I was sent to bed I didn’t go to sleep. I’d perch myself in a corner at the top of the stairway and listen. I’d listen for my parents to argue, or I’d listen to my mother dishing the dirt to a friend that may have precious clues for me, but I never slept when there was something I felt I needed to know about my parents’ status.

But before I became a cop about the ongoing status of my rollercoaster family goings Ons, the turmoil between my parents greeted me when I was born, and no doubts, was in full force before I came along. And in those very young years, before I understood what was really going on in my household, I know I lived deep in my own imagination – my peaceful escape place in my mind.

 Maybe, like my niece, I don’t remember my imaginary friends from back then, or maybe I didn’t invent any. But one thing I know for certain, I enjoyed playing in a make- believe world. I pretended I was a princess sometimes, and others, I was a good witch. I loved magic and escapism. Samantha from Bewitched became my idol when I was five. And I can’t tell you how many of my young years I’d practice in front of a mirror twitching my nose. I believed in magic, and I believed if I could become magic, I could fix situations and people – mainly, my parents’ relationship.

Yes, when I look back, I think it’s uncanny that at such a young age, I was quite aware of my unsettled family life. Sadly, my ambition to want to fix people followed me my whole life. And I wasn’t Samantha. I realized there was no fixing my mother, and almost fatally learned by putting up with an abusive relationship for years, before I met my loving husband, it’s impossible to fix damaged souls whose help needed was beyond my control. But I eventually became the white witch – although I still could never twitch my nose.

~ ~ ~

 I shared some of my own experience from my past to show that in my and my niece’s situations, it is not difficult to see why we had our own imaginary worlds as young children. I would have to imagine that kids who grow up in a happy and emotionally healthy environment can also have imaginary friends, but for different reasons. Children are creative and imaginative. If they are happy kids without a worry – as a child should be, their imaginations should take them to some wonderful places. And for those tiny-troubled tykes, imagination is a welcomed escape – and can even lead some to becoming writers. 😊

Do you have any children or grandchildren who had imaginary friends? Do you remember ever having any yourself?

 The Real Reasons Kids Have Imaginary Friends

Why Children Have Imaginary Friends

©DGKaye2023

 My thanks to Debby for sharing the background to both having imaginary friends and how the very young can often be more perceptive than we imagine.

About D.G. Kaye

D.G. Kaye is a nonfiction memoir writer who writes about life, matters of the heart and women’s issues. Her intent is to inspire others by sharing stories about events she encountered, and the lessons that came along with them. She loves to laugh and self-medicate with a daily dose of humor. When she’s not writing intimate memoirs, you’ll find her writing with humor in some of her other works and blog posts.

Kaye’s childhood kept her observant about her surroundings. Growing up in a tumultuous family life kept her on guard about the on-and-off-going status of her parents’ relationship. She began writing notes, and journaled about the dysfunction she grew up in. By age seven she was certain she was going to grow up to become a reporter. But life has a funny way of taking detours. Instead, she moved away from home at eighteen with a few meager belongings and a curiosity for life, finished university and changed careers a few times along the way, always striving to work her way up to managerial positions. Her drive to succeed at anything she put her mind to led to having a very colorful and eventful life.

Ever the optimist, D.G. conquered quite a few battles in life; health and otherwise, and her refusal to accept the word ‘No’, or to use the words ‘I can’t’, keeps her on a positive path in life. She hopes to inspire others with her love of telling stories with lessons to empower others, by sharing her own experiences.

In 2021, she lost the love of her life. “When the grief overcame me, I found my only way to move forward was through my writing (that book currently in the works) and communing with others who understand this journey. Through this and my own search for seeking comfort, I began podcasting – Grief, The Real Talk. This is a podcast for those of us who’ve worn the shoes, and for all those who wish to understand the journey of a griever.

Books by D.G. Kaye

One of the reviews for P.S. I Forgive You

Martha Perez 5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Healing Read!!!  Reviewed in the United State

Many of us came from a flawed family. Unfortunately, we can’t choose our parents, and when a child is abused, they will carry the pain throughout their lives. It’s an emotional roller coaster; the author speaks from her heart and soul. This story is heartfelt. You will have tears flow down your cheeks. It’s not easy to forgive, but I am glad she has written this book.

A mother’s love should be unconditional, but when they have gambling and other problems, they exercise control over their children by being selfish and not loving. It’s a recipe for disaster. Why her mother wasn’t happy reflects on her daughter’s hurt she carries throughout her life and the neglect and abuse of the family.

I understand why writing her journey was so important. It’s like letting go of a butterfly jarred to be free to fly away from the Suffocation from her past.

I don’t think we can ever understand why some parents do what they do. We must heal from the bad and be grateful for the good. I could relate with D.G. Kaye. My parents were alcoholics and gave us away. It’s important to forgive, but you never forget. I highly recommend this fantastic book. 

Read all the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US – and: Amazon UK – follow Debby: Goodreads – Blog: D.G. Kaye WriterTwitter: @pokercubster Linkedin: D.G. Kaye – Facebook: D.G. Kaye – Podcast: YouTube –   All Links: Linktree

 

 

Thanks for dropping in today and it would be great if you could share Debby’s post.. thanks Sally

 

 

112 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – Child Innocence and ability to see Spirit, #Imaginaryfriends by D.G. Kaye

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – Crystals and Stones – Clearing Bad Energy – Selenite by D.G. Kaye | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – DGKayewriter.com

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – Crystals and Stones – Clearing Bad Energy – Selenite by D.G. Kaye | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  3. Hi Sally,
    Reading again about Debby’s upbringing with her mom is so heartbreaking, but her story is beautiful and inspirational because of the wonderful person she is. I never had imaginary friends, but I played with Barbies, and back then, Barbie could do anything. My friend and I had toy horses, so Barbie was a very successful ranch owner. 🙂 Imagination is a blessing and beautiful thing. Anyway, thank you for sharing this lovely glimpse into Debby’s life. ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for sharing you insight Lauren and I agree wholeheartedly about Debby… I was pretty much a loner as a child going to different schools across three countries in the space of 6 years meant that it was hard to make friends that you knew you would be leaving behind.. so my imagination became my go to instead and I wrote stories and poetry … we have always been nomads so don’t think much has changed lol… even 60 years later ♥♥

      Liked by 2 people

      • I can empathize with your moving, Sally, because I was the youngest of 3 daughters, a decade younger than they who were 19 months apart. So, in a sense, I was an only child. And my parents moved a lot, so I had to leave friends and make new ones several times, and it wasn’t easy. I don’t fault my parents, but my husband and I knew that we wanted stability for our children, which is what they’ve had. So, yes, imagination is key. Along with Barbies, you know that I sang to Barbra (smile) and wrote poetry. I wasn’t into creating my own stories; that’s the talent that you have. But poetry stayed with me, and later in life (now) I’m dabbling in fiction based on reality. And being nomads is an adventure. My son has lived a nomadic life since May working remotely and traveling from Maine across country where he’ll be home in mid November and we can’t wait! Cheers to nomads and to imagination! Hugs xo

        Liked by 1 person

      • I certainly recognise the benefits of the travel.. it made me independent very early on and like you I was the youngest of three sisters and they are a decade ahead of me. I do have a younger brother however… and he certainly made a difference. With no children our life working and living abroad has been an amazing adventure and I wouldn’t change a minute of it.. sounds like we both have enjoyed wonderful lives.. ♥♥

        Liked by 1 person

    • HI Lauren, thanks for hopping over and for your kind words. And I also loved my Barbies 🙂 Imagination can get us through a lot, and a writer’s best friend. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  4. It amazing how you became so optimistic, generous and kind when your example growing up seemed to have all the opposite characteristics. No one should have to deal with that kind of neglect and abuse as a child or adult. I’m so glad your husband was the kind of person who knew how to love and cherish someone. You clearly thrived in your marriage. So glad you found healing and solace in writing because you are a gift to all of us. Hugs, C

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I really like this episode.
    Although I can’t remember any make believe friends, I was fine playing by myself or others.

    Friends, spirits, I don’t know.
    I do know that Debby’s mom is akin to my sister.
    I came to understand she was schizophrenic, and I didn’t take it personally.

    Still, a long, long arm’s distance from her was necessary for my mental & spiritual health.
    Thank you Debby and Sally!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – Child Innocence and ability to see #Spirit, #Imaginaryfriends by D.G. Kaye | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – DGKayewriter.com

  7. Thanks for sharing your own thoughts and the information, Debby. I’m sure many adults (parents or not) will find this helpful and will give them food for thought. Thanks, Debby.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Weekly Round Up -9th – 15th October – Chat Eau, Big Band, Barbra Streisand, Spirits, Green Kitchen, Fairy Stories, Book Reviews, Aromatherapy, Funnies- | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  9. I don’t recall having imaginary friends although I loved playing with my dolls. In a way that was likely practice for inventing characters later on.
    My daughter did have an imaginary friend for quite some time and her father and I used to ask her about him – where he was and what he told her and she would answer as if we ourselves could see this friend. Interesting post, Debby!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. I was on my own till my brother was born when I was four and a half – and that was a disappointment as I thought I was getting a brother or sister to play with, not a tiny baby! But I don’t remember being lonely or having an imaginary friend. That was in the days when little children didn’t have nurseries and playgroups to go to. I did have an imaginary pram I used to push , so they thought I would be really excited to have a real pram – I ignored it and preferred my imaginary one. Now it has just occurred to me that before my brother was born Mum had a miscarriage and lost twin girls… maybe I was pushing them around.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. “…that it felt much like walking on eggshells and around landmines around my mother,”
    I was there. My Mother was a force of nature – both ways – good, and off the rails. But children are not alone in seeing or experiencing the “other side”. We have a ghost of some sort in our current house. I’m not sure if it was a suicide, or an old cowboy passing through, but it’s never far away. Neither are guardian angels, or whatever that force is. If you’ve ever experienced a prodigy you know immediately, and educators of creatives can spot them and without hesitation acknowledge where they come from. The cosmic stream is always running, the cosmic radio is always on. The trick is to learn to listen.

    Liked by 2 people

    • HI Phil. Not sure what was in the drinking water with our mothers, lol. Thanks for sharing your experiences. Like I mentioned above to Danny, as long as the spirit isn’t menacing, it certainly sounds like a lost soul stuck on this side. And yes, the trick is to listen. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  12. Excellent post! I can relate to much of what Debby writes about here. I had an imaginary friend and also saw ghosts as a child. I also spent ages twitching my nose just like Samantha in ‘Bewitched’! x

    Liked by 3 people

  13. I have what could be called a spirit that I can see some nights here in my flat. I think I’m boring, in so much as I drink a lot of water during the day and then in the evening.
    When it comes to bedtime I like to refill the litre bottle I keep beside my chair, it saves getting up each time I want a glass of water. It’s at the kitchen sink when I see my spirit.
    At first I assumed it to be a shadow, but since then I’ve eliminated that possibility and now, all I’m left with, is the spirit theory.
    If it’s there, when I refill the bottle, I will say things like good evening or some other banal statement and as of yet I haven’t had a reply, but I’m holding out hope.
    There now are other places and times inside the flat that I’ve had the impression of someone being there. I believe there are more things we don’t know than we do and I will always keep an open mind.

    Liked by 3 people

    • That’s amazing Danny. Have you thought of anyone you’ve lost who it could be? Also, I’m not sure how long you’ve lived where you are, but it definitely could be a stuck spirit, someone who may have lived there previously, or even before the house was built. My sister had a lost spirit in her home all the years she lived there. As long as it isn’t a nuisance, glad you’re okay with it. 🙂 x

      Liked by 2 people

  14. I’ve read about your tumultuous upbringing in PS I Forgive you and Conflicted Hearts. I’m sorry to hear that your niece had similar problems, but can imagine both of you as ‘old souls’ and finding solace where you could. I never had imaginary friends although my dog and I were inseparable. Fascinatinf post, Debby! xx

    Liked by 2 people

  15. What a lovely read thank you for sharing.

    I had a happy childhood but was also very happy to play on my own.
    I had four imaginary friends ( I think they were teddy bears 🧸), they were Winnie, Ginny, Linny and Tubby.
    They were with me everywhere… many years later after my siblings arrived I realised they were my siblings.
    3 sisters and Tubby being my brother

    I think having play friends helped me use my imagination.
    Indeed play friends is quite common although less common these days?

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Thank you, Debby, for sharing with us your own experiences and the idea that children may have imaginary friends or be able to connect to spirits. I trust your every word. Myself, while staying for many hours alone in the house when my grandmother was at work, I (four to six y.o.) was involved — yes, involved — with a prince, whether a spirit or an imaginary friend. I still remember it clearly: the room, my feelings of being accepted when he would choose me (always me!) among other girls dressed like princesses. Thank you for evoking these feelings in me now: that imaginary prince was the only “prince” I have met in my life. Love your books Words We Carry and P.S. I Forgive You, which helped me immensely in the difficult times of my life.
    Marina Osipova

    Liked by 2 people

  17. A wonderful share Deb! Children do have imagination beyond the understanding of adults and their attachment to dolls, teddies or blankets shows their fears or affection that they try to seek around them. I don’t remember about my own imaginary friends but my sister did have some. She would greet them before starting her play and interact with them lovingly. 😊

    Liked by 3 people

  18. Great post, Debby 🙂 It’s funny you mentioned your niece had no memory of her invisible friends. I have no memory if I did or not either, maybe we aren’t supposed to remember that as adults. I had the vivid imagination too to escape and the very same curiosity as to what was really going on after I was supposed to be in bed. Xo

    Liked by 3 people

  19. I was quite moved by hearing about your childhood and that of your niece, Debby. I never had the pleasure of having imaginary friends but I think I would have liked that. Many thanks for sharing your insights with us. Hugs

    Reblogged on Improvisation – “The Art of Living”
    https://williampriceking.tumblr.com/

    Liked by 3 people

  20. A heartfelt share about your childhood, Debby. I’m amazed at how open children are to the “unseen” world of angels and spirits. There are so many stories of comforting presences and miraculous rescues too. I don’t remember having imaginary friends, but I do remember believing my dolls were real people. Perhaps it’s close to the same. 🙂 Wonderful post, my friend. Thanks for the feature, Sally.

    Liked by 3 people

  21. I loved this post. My granddaughter, an only child, had several imaginary friends that were her sidekicks for many years and she had quite vivid descriptions for all of them. But I think one of the most striking things occurred when she was about 18 months old and playing with all the pots and pans on the floor of my kitchen. She started saying, very clearly ‘Hi nana, hi nana,” over and over. Nana was what all her grandchildren called my mother, and she died eight years before this child, her great granddaughter, was born. It gave me goosebumps, in a good way, and I was absolutely lucky that I happened to be making a video of her at the time, and I’ve played this for many family members.

    Liked by 4 people

  22. Children in their pure state are highly intuitive. My late husband’s daughter always knew when her mother was coming home and would state matter-of-factly, “Mama’s coming.” Five minutes later she’d walk in. I have always had a huge imagination and creative play with paper dolls was a great outlet. I do believe children can see and sense spirits, angels, fairies and other entities we lose sight of as we integrate more into the physical. Great post, Debby.

    Liked by 3 people

  23. It was very moving to hear about your childhood and other members of your family, Debby – what an agonisingly difficult time you had. I spent a lot of my childhood being lonely when I was at home, but don’t think I ever had an imaginary friend. Hugs, Toni x

    Liked by 3 people

  24. I really enjoyed learning about D.G. Kaye and her childhood (and niece). It was an interesting and gripping presentation. The review of P.S. I Forgive You was touching and inspiring. I have not yet read her books, but I will.

    Liked by 3 people

Comments are closed.