Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – New Series – Life Lessons 101 – #Kindness by D. G. Kaye

Kindness Matters

Welcome to my new series at the Smorgasbord – Life Lessons 101. In this series I’m going to talk about incidence and things in life that are important. Today the topic is kindness. We hear the word get passed around a lot in various themes and context, but it bears talking about because a little kindness can go a long way.

Have you ever had a crappy day when nothing goes right, and per chance, a total stranger comes your way with a friendly greeting, an offer to help with something, or a compliment that just turns around that crappy day?

It doesn’t cost a cent to do something nice for someone or to make them feel a little special. We never know what kind of a day someone is having, and offering a little kindness can be a very welcomed pick-me-up for them. Can you recall the last time a stranger extended a kindness to you?

Complimenting someone can be a real lift to their self-esteem. It’s a verification that they’ve been noticed, someone paid attention to something about them, and maybe you were the only one who noticed, or maybe that person has nobody else in their life that offers kind words. We don’t know, but we know that a few kind words from us may just be a mood-lifter for them. A compliment offers a confirmation that something on their person is recognized and admired. And there are so many people who don’t get any recognition in their own surroundings.

A simple smile can be a great mood booster.

On the same token, if our faces and/or body language give off a cold or dark feeling, that feeling is also registered by others, instead, leaving a negative feeling, and one that doesn’t inspire us to want to get any closer to that person. Our moods evoke ripples of energetic vibes, and vibes and energy are contagious. So, it’s just as easy to wear a smile to give off a welcoming atmosphere of warmth.

Good Deeds  

There are so many ways we can trickle a little kindness into the world, even doing the simplest of things. Kindness lives under many umbrellas. Kindness can be a smile, a compliment, even a hug when someone needs it. It can also mean taking some time to listen to someone who may need an ear, a goodwill gesture such as offering a helping hand to someone in need, letting in a fellow driver in your lane when we see their signal, offering a service to a friend – or even to a stranger if they’re sick or unable to get out, or just spending time with someone who is often alone.

What else can we do to offer up a little kindness?

  • Donate blood
  • Pay for someone’s coffee
  • Hold the door open for someone
  • Pick up trash another left behind
  • Plant trees
  • Volunteer to do a task for someone they aren’t able to do
  • Donate books and other items no longer useful for ourselves but could be gold for someone else
  • Read for someone who can’t
  • Be a good neighbor
  • Paint kindness rocks and spread them anywhere for someone to find some inspiration
  • Cook a meal for a sick person
  • Tip your server
  • Leave a kind review for a person or product for something you’ve enjoyed
  • Shop in your local small businesses (not the greedy giants)
  • Use reuseable products to be kind to our planet
  • Text, email or call someone to let them know you were thinking about them

Kindness is a gesture given or done with no strings attached, a gift from the heart with no expectations of someone having to give back. But you know, the funny thing about doing good for others is that it’s a boomerang and you will find being and giving in kind is not only a gift for someone else but a gift to us.

Below, find some profound quotes that remind the value of being kind:

 “Carry out a random act of kindness, with no expectation of reward, safe in the knowledge that one day someone might do the same for you.”  ~Princess Diana

 “You cannot do kindness too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late.” ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

 “Remember, there’s no such thing as a small act of kindness. Every act creates a ripple with no logical end.” ~Scott Adams

 “Go and love someone exactly as they are. And then watch how quickly they transform into the greatest, truest version of themselves. When one feels seen and appreciated in their own essence, one is instantly empowered.” ~Wes Angelozzi

 “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.” ~Margaret Mead

 “Do your little bit of good where you are; it’s those little bits of good put together that overwhelm the world.” ~Desmond Tutu

 “My wish for you is that you continue. Continue to be who and how you are, to astonish a mean world with your acts of kindness. Continue to allow humor to lighten the burden of your tender heart.” ~Maya Angelou

 “Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.” ~Leo Buscaglia

“Never look down on anybody unless you’re helping them up.” ~Jesse Jackson

 “The smallest act of kindness is worth more than the greatest intention.” ~Kahlil Gibran

Take 4 minutes and 29 seconds to listen to this heartfelt video – Humble and Kind

I would love to hear about how an act of kindness impacted your life….please share with us.

@DGKaye2024

About D.G. Kaye

D.G. Kaye is a nonfiction memoir writer who writes about life, matters of the heart and women’s issues. Her intent is to inspire others by sharing stories about events she encountered, and the lessons that came along with them. She loves to laugh and self-medicate with a daily dose of humor. When she’s not writing intimate memoirs, you’ll find her writing with humor in some of her other works and blog posts.

Kaye’s childhood kept her observant about her surroundings. Growing up in a tumultuous family life kept her on guard about the on-and-off-going status of her parents’ relationship. She began writing notes, and journaled about the dysfunction she grew up in. By age seven she was certain she was going to grow up to become a reporter. But life has a funny way of taking detours. Instead, she moved away from home at eighteen with a few meager belongings and a curiosity for life, finished university and changed careers a few times along the way, always striving to work her way up to managerial positions. Her drive to succeed at anything she put her mind to led to having a very colorful and eventful life.

Ever the optimist, D.G. conquered quite a few battles in life; health and otherwise, and her refusal to accept the word ‘No’, or to use the words ‘I can’t’, keeps her on a positive path in life. She hopes to inspire others with her love of telling stories with lessons to empower others, by sharing her own experiences.

In 2021, she lost the love of her life. “When the grief overcame me, I found my only way to move forward was through my writing (that book currently in the works) and communing with others who understand this journey. Through this and my own search for seeking comfort, I began podcasting – Grief, The Real Talk. This is a podcast for those of us who’ve worn the shoes, and for all those who wish to understand the journey of a griever.

Books by D.G. Kaye

One of the reviews for The Words We Carry

This is the first book I’ve read by D.G. Kaye, but as soon as I read the first few pages, I knew it wouldn’t be the last. There was so much I could identify with in the blurb, so on a whim, I downloaded it.

The issue of self-esteem, which the author speaks so knowingly about, is one that affects more people than I believe most of us even realize. Low self-esteem manifests itself in many ways and that can make it more difficult for some to see. Yet, I believe it visits a preponderant number of people at some point in their lives, if not throughout. Reading this book was like talking to a new friend and sharing common experiences. Kaye’s uplifting yet honest writing style makes it very easy to turn the pages.

Even with the issues that I hadn’t personally experienced, I knew many who did (and still do), and I really appreciated Kaye’s down-to-earth approach to examining these issues and offering simple, relatable advice for those seeking to better their lives. As I especially connected to some aspects of the author’s relationship with her mother, I’m absolutely planning to read her book Conflicted Hearts. Our situations, while very different, are also very similar in ways.

Kaye discusses subjects in this book that took me back years and also resonated with me in the present. There are many reasons that I would recommend this book. Not only do I appreciate the common-sense advice, but I believe the author’s words are extraordinarily validating and will help many who feel alone in their pain. This book is also beautifully written. Excellent. 

Read all the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US – and: Amazon UK – follow Debby: Goodreads – Blog: D.G. Kaye WriterTwitter: @pokercubster Linkedin: D.G. Kaye – Facebook: D.G. Kaye – Podcast: YouTube –   All Links: Linktree

 

 

Thanks for dropping in today and it would be great if you could share Debby’s post.. thanks Sally

 

146 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – New Series – Life Lessons 101 – #Kindness by D. G. Kaye

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – New Series – Life Lessons 101 – Dating Now and Then by D.G. Kaye | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – DGKayewriter.com

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – New Series – Life Lessons 101 – Dating Now and Then by D.G. Kaye | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  3. Right on, Debby and Sally!

    Kindness is a perfect opener to “Life’s Lessons”.

    Many of these kind things are things I do. Others are ideas I hope to incorporate.

    Yes, someone has been kind to me recently, and I paid it back!

    This will be a great series.

    Thank you both.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. What a lovely post! I’m a great believer in random acts of kindness and the power of kindness to change the world.

    I love your quotes.

    I’ve experienced lots of wonderful acts of kindness, especially in my travels where strangers have been so generous and helped us out. From a vet who treated our Rosie for free when she hurt her tail, to a Romanian small-holder who gave us a bucket full of luscious home-grown tomatoes which were truly the best I’ve ever tasted.

    I’ve often found that it’s the people who have the least who are most generous.

    Whatever it is, however small a gesture, kindness gives a lift to your day!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – New Series – Life Lessons 101 – #Kindness by D. G. Kaye | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – DGKayewriter.com

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round Up April 8th -14th 2024 – Air Fryers, Music, Life Lessons, Heart Health, Book Reviews, Blogger Weekly, Funnies | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  7. Sally, many thanks for sharing this. One of my favorite mantras is “Don’t mistake kindness as weakness.” Some people feel you are being weak by being kind. That is ridiculous.

    I love the examples to show kindness. Thanks, Keith

    Liked by 3 people

      • Thanks Debby and Sally. I am reminded of an example from the book “Half the sky” by Nicholas Kristoff and Sheryl WuDunn about the maltreatment of women around the globe. There was a group of elderly women whose reputation of kindness and helping people was known throughout the province.

        When marauders came to their doors demanding they be searched, these women got the marauders to stand down as they retreated. The women were hiding people who would have been killed if caught, but their reputation had gravitas even in the criminal community.

        Keith

        Liked by 2 people

      • Thanks Debby, Sally. Sally, that is a lovely thought. Debby, the book is excellent, but I must forewarn you it is one of the most difficult books due to subject matter you might ever read.

        The title is based on a Chinese proverb that women hold up half the sky. Any country or entity which allow women and girls to be treated as second class citizens or worse are wronging not only them but the entire country as they are competing in a world with only 1/2 its talent.

        Keith

        Liked by 2 people

  8. I’m pretty sure I’m gonna LOVE this new series!!! Many thanks to both of you for this much-needed outlook on life! I am re-blogging this today and will be following the series about Life Lessons! 💖

    Liked by 3 people

  9. What a fabulous new series, Debby! And this post is a great start. My favorite act of kindness is to pay for coffee for the person in line behind me at the coffee shop. That always elicits smiles! Thank you for sharing and lifting my day! Thank you, Sally, for giving Debby a platform!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. This is the most uplifting start to the day. Kindness costs nothing but can make such a huge difference to someone’s life. I hadn’t heard of Tim McGraw, but his ‘Always be Humble and Kind’ was inspiring – I loved Carol’s comment and it’s such a contrast to the ethos of the maga campaign.

    I was teaching a class of low-ability fifteen and sixteen year-olds and aware that one of their very troubled peers would be joining us after a much-publicised incident. I told them he’d be with us soon and asked them to think of a time when they’d been troubled and how other people had made them feel. Had they had an experience when someone’s kindness had made a huge difference to them? Could they put themselves in his shoes? It’s all I said. When he came in, there was no fuss, but he was acknowledged with gentle smiles and made to feel welcome before they all went back to their work to give him space and time to adjust. I was so proud of them. I still feel tearful thinking about it now.

    I know already that this is going to be a brilliant series, Debby. xx

    Liked by 4 people

  11. What a lovely post. I’m all for kindness. It’s one of the best gifts we can give and it costs nothing at all. Wonderful quotes too (impossible to pick a favorite). This is going to be a great series. Thanks, Debby, and thanks for hosting, Sally. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  12. A terrific post, Debby, and a good reminder of what makes us human. Kindness is so easy and yet it seems people have forgotten what it can do.

    I remember my mother repeating the golden rule on a daily basis to my brother and me when we were little. I’d like to think it had an effect.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. These days kindness is a rare consideration. There is so much hate in todays world, kindness is like a thimble in an ocean of mean. The leaders of the countries of this world are letting us all down. They continue to foster discord while trying to convince us that we are the problem. This post is a breath of fresh air and it will be up to each of us to reject feelings of hate and work to turn this situation around. Thanks for sharing this post, Sally. I love your new series.

    Liked by 4 people

  14. This is an amazing post, Debby. Every living being deserves kindness, and it comes from good intentions. Thanks for sharing and thanks to Sally for hosting. Looking forward to this series. Hugs

    Liked by 3 people

  15. Kindness certainly does matter. How many times as a teacher you have to settle a bad comment or an argument by encouraging kindness to and from others. (Not always the case from inspectors sadly )

    As Thumper the rabbit says in Bambi, “If you can’t say anything nice , don’t say anything at all.”

    Kind words and kind deeds but also an encouraging smile goes a long way.

    On the way into church for my wedding a stranger in the street came up and said “I don’t know you but I just wanted to say how lovely you look.”

    My dad and I had big smiles on our faces and for the rest of the day.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. What a great post, Debby. Loved the quotes and especially the Tim McGraw video on Humble and Kind. As I watched the video I thought that the democrats should use this as a message to the maga crowd.

    Sally, LIfe Lessons 101 is a wonderful series and i’m looking forward to following it. Thank you for contributing to a better world. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  17. An awesome post. We can’t say enough about the importance of kindness. I recall walking down the street in Fort Lauderdale on my way to dinner. I was in my 60s, and a young woman in her 20s caught my eye and I just naturally smiled at her. She beamed and said, “You look fabulous!” I’ll never forget how I felt at that moment. A compliment from a stranger can make a huge difference. I have paid that forward many times since. Let’s keep kindness alive, it will save our world! Thanks Debby and Sally for this post.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. What an important message to mankind, Debby! Everyone should hear this and practice. I like that there’s no small kindness considering its ripple effect. Most people can relate to this in the sense that we are where we are because the kindness of many people carried us to this point. During my six months of full time chemo treatment of cancer, people gave me rides to doctor’s appointments, sent me encouraging emails, brought us meals,… One professor who started having dementia, translated  Psalms chapter 1 directly from the Bible in Hebrew for me. It meant so much to me. Just remembering what I received during those months motivates me to do kindness, great or small, every day. Thank you, Debby and Sally for this new series.

    Liked by 3 people

  19. i belonged to a Facebook kindness group. Each month we were tasked with a specific kindness challenge. Most involved strangers that added to the goodwill. It not only made someone else’s day better, but I’m sure some of them paid it forward. Not only that, it just feels good to make someone else feel better.

    Liked by 6 people

  20. My goodness, if this isn’t #1, I don’t know what is! It’s the first thing that matters in my classroom, and the foundation for becoming a good adult. I tell the story of when I became a good teacher, looking across the room at the child I had not connected with – and smiling. Yes, a smile can change a life and a career. There’s another story that’s stuck with me forever: a boy walking home from school and helping another kid pick up the books he dropped. As it turns out, they became friends. At high school graduation, the boy who had dropped the books was Valedictorian of his class and gave the speech…OMG. He told the entire audience that he was ready to commit suicide, and then his friend came along. Even the friend was shocked and never knew. Any act of kindness has far reaching effects; you just might not know it at the time. Do you know that story? Mr. Rogers was kindness, too. The little things are really the big things. Apologies for such a lengthy comment, Debby and Sally.

    Liked by 4 people

  21. Decided to take a quick look online before heading to bed, and I’m so glad I did. I’ll now be falling asleep thinking about the vast impact kindness has in our lives … both the receiving and the giving of it. Thank you for the reminder that it’s those little things that make all the difference, Debby.

    Thank you, too, for a terrific post, and I’m wishing you a wonderful day tomorrow, overflowing with small acts of kindness of all sorts, coming and going! 🤗❤️🤗

    Liked by 2 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback (by commenting, you agree to Wordpress collecting your name, email address and URL) Thanks Sally

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.