Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – New Series – Life Lessons 101 – Dating Now and Then by D.G. Kaye

Welcome back to my Life 101 series. You can find the first post in the series Kindness Matters

Dating Now and Then  

Today I’m talking about the potentially scary world of digital dating compared to the pre-digital era. Maybe it’s because I spend much of my waking life online, so I know how intimidated I would feel to ever think of dating someone I only know through online. Not to say that I am at all interested in dating anyone at this time – or as far as my inner eye can see, but the conversation is still quite worthy of having.

Dating isn’t as easy as it was when I was younger, the days when we got dressed proper and went out with friends, be it clubbing or disco-ing, out for a gathering, a friendly sports competition or just for an ice-cream or coffee. So much of that lifestyle has dissipated into Netflix, takeout food or delivery, gaming, and in my case, nowhere to really go to meet anyone with my same interests.

Life was more personal back when – no cell phones or texts or emails – just face-to-face conversations and phone numbers exchanged. People went out and met other people in person. Working from home wasn’t yet a thing. And quite frankly, much of my own dating life was very busy interacting with colleagues at jobs I worked at, places we all spent much of our waking hours with together. Alas, not everyone met a romantic interest at their jobs, but it just seemed back in the era, pre cell phones and computers, life was just simpler in many ways, and social interaction, face-to-face was a huge part of the way we met people and invited them into our lives.

If we physically went on a date with someone, we could see who they actually were, in the flesh. We could learn from their conversations – or lack of them, or if we either admired or disliked qualities in that person. Their body language also reveals things about them. One cannot get any of that by meeting someone online, primarily because sadly, often in the scammy world we live in, how are we to trust a total stranger who could type anything they want or put up any photo and say it is them, and not leave us skeptical about who we are really talking to?

Nowadays, how easy is it to meet someone? Many of the men I dated when younger, I met at my jobs. That’s how many people meet. Or met. Now, with so many working from home, is it even harder to meet someone? Not to mention the many who are at jobs and in their ‘free’ moments seem to be appendaged to their phones. And dating, or getting to know someone, by text, isn’t enough to give me any sense of trust of the person’s personality, mood, or quite frankly, their intelligence. For me, eye contact is a big teller of much about a person. I’m a staunch believer in ‘the eyes are the windows of the soul’. Personally speaking, I don’t enjoy texting at all. I find its value in quick messaging as in – meet up times, appointment reminders, but certainly not in deep conversations or for getting to know somebody.

I spend too much time online and have a huge mistrust for even thinking of joining a dating site (which is furthest from my mind), but just sayin’, what if I was? So where can people go to meet other people without feeling as though they’re being set up or potentially scammed? I’ve thought of this question many times, especially when speaking with my single friends. And the only thing that makes sense to me as a good alternative is to join a club or hobby doing something we like to do and there we will meet like-minded souls who enjoy same things. Where better to go than where we can share an interest with someone else?

What is it we enjoy doing – outside of the home in social surroundings? Hobby? Singing in a choir, volunteering for an organization that we support? Joining a gym? Join groups that may be online but offer in person trips and/or get togethers? As long as we are joining a group of like-minded people in the flesh, better than virtually, we will be among others who share our same passions. And from there, as time and events go on, we will surely make some new friendships, or quite possibly a new romantic interest. By joining a group of whatever makes our hearts sing, we’re opening new doors to relationships just as we did or do when we went/go to work. Heck, even just getting out for a neighborhood walk and passing others can open possibilities. We meet people sometimes in most unexpected ways and situations. But the key is to get out. Nobody is going to come knocking at our doors looking for us if we don’t make efforts to put ourselves out into the world.

I can attest to the importance of getting out and doing what makes our hearts fuller. After losing my husband and steeped in seclusion and grief, my good friends urged me to do the same. Get out and join a club, something that fulfills you, they said. There never seemed to be any shortage of suggestions, many of them I shot down because of no interest and a lack of want. But I finally did join a gym, a women’s gym, because that’s about all I desire right now, getting fit, keeping good health, and making new female friends. I initially thought it was important to get my physical health back in check after a year of not caring, but I got so much more – better mental health and making some wonderful new friendships.

At heart, I’m a social butterfly with a lot of energy to burn, so I’m thrilled with my progress, new ambitions, and friendships. But I went out to find it, it didn’t come looking for me, somewhere I knew I’d be comfortable with a chance to meet new like-minded people. Now I take five classes a week (to keep me accountable to myself), have so much more agility and energy, quite happy with the way my clothes fit, and have numerous get -togethers, lunches, coffees, and events I now partake in with my new friendships.

What about you all? Have you found a hobby or club that you enjoy doing and find fulfilling? How do you feel about online dating opposed to the ‘old fashioned’ way?

@DGKaye 2024

About D.G. Kaye

D.G. Kaye is a nonfiction memoir writer who writes about life, matters of the heart and women’s issues. Her intent is to inspire others by sharing stories about events she encountered, and the lessons that came along with them. She loves to laugh and self-medicate with a daily dose of humor. When she’s not writing intimate memoirs, you’ll find her writing with humor in some of her other works and blog posts.

Kaye’s childhood kept her observant about her surroundings. Growing up in a tumultuous family life kept her on guard about the on-and-off-going status of her parents’ relationship. She began writing notes, and journaled about the dysfunction she grew up in. By age seven she was certain she was going to grow up to become a reporter. But life has a funny way of taking detours. Instead, she moved away from home at eighteen with a few meager belongings and a curiosity for life, finished university and changed careers a few times along the way, always striving to work her way up to managerial positions. Her drive to succeed at anything she put her mind to led to having a very colorful and eventful life.

Ever the optimist, D.G. conquered quite a few battles in life; health and otherwise, and her refusal to accept the word ‘No’, or to use the words ‘I can’t’, keeps her on a positive path in life. She hopes to inspire others with her love of telling stories with lessons to empower others, by sharing her own experiences.

In 2021, she lost the love of her life. “When the grief overcame me, I found my only way to move forward was through my writing (that book currently in the works) and communing with others who understand this journey. Through this and my own search for seeking comfort, I began podcasting – Grief, The Real Talk. This is a podcast for those of us who’ve worn the shoes, and for all those who wish to understand the journey of a griever.

Books by D.G. Kaye

One of the reviews for Twenty Years After “I Do”

Mary Schmidt 5.0 out of 5 stars Words rang true  Reviewed in the United States

This book is a gem, a book that all couples planning to marry or already married should read. Personally, I found every word truthful. Why? My husband and I built our relationship on a strong foundation of friendship first, then love came along. Kaye writes about making sure the foundation your relationship is built is secure, secure enough to withstand anything, and everything thrown at it so the foundation doesn’t form a crevice. Part of a piece of mortar can fall off, but be right there and prepare it ASAP. Those couples who have a great foundation can weather any and all storms tossed at them. There will be many storms amid times of splendor, and if your foundation is strong, you will survive each and come out stronger and more in love than you thought possible. I know. I have this in my life. Without that strong foundation, we wouldn’t have made it, or if we did make it, the hard times would have been much worse. Both my husband and I’ve had desperate life-threatening issues, and each time, our love grew stronger. Even if you don’t think you can love a person more, that your heart already overflows, we find out how much more we love each other. Five stars. 

Read all the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US – and: Amazon UK – follow Debby: Goodreads – Blog: D.G. Kaye WriterTwitter: @pokercubster Linkedin: D.G. Kaye – Facebook: D.G. Kaye – Podcast: YouTube –   All Links: Linktree

 

 

My thanks to Debby for another thought provoking post in her new series and it would be great if you could share  thanks Sally

 

126 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – New Series – Life Lessons 101 – Dating Now and Then by D.G. Kaye

  1. As someone involved in a long relationship, with no desire to meet another man, I have wondered about online dating, and how the hell?

    I have one GF who was meeting all of her potentials online. What a series of disasters and rip-offs, heartbreaks and deceits. She’s learned her lesson, but not 100%. This is due to image pressure, most of it due to online bs. How can a relationship start off on a good foot, when one has used an App to correct facial and/or body features?

    Debby, your advice to go seek a life outside is right on. I love going to the AGO and other art galleries and events. It’s so easy to meet people.

    Anyway, maybe humanity is tuning into chairs with heads on them.

    Loving this series Sally and Debby. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round Up – April 29th – May 5th 2024 – Hits 1970s, Iconic Duets, Life Lessons #Dating, #Cusine The Bahamas, Short Story, #Salt and #Health, Reviews, Star Bloggers | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  3. I feel like that gym changed your life – and your mood – Debby! I’m so happy with its success regarding your physical, mental, and social health. What a good decision that was and still is!

    I don’t believe in online dating. I’d have to communicate face to face and have fun outside of the screen. Another tip to meet new people: have a dog that you walk a few times a day. That’s bound to create conversations and new relationships, especially when you live somewhere steady (unlike us) and visit the same areas and parks, running into the same animal-loving people, with dogs.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Thank you for sharing, Debby. You just have to take things at your own pace.

    As an ‘undateable’ who worked from home for a very small company (I had 5 colleagues and the nearest was 100 miles away!), I joined a dating agency many years ago, but it was one which interviewed all their clients. I didn’t meet Mr. Right, but I did make some lifelong friends!

    I would hate to have to go through all the dating mullarkey again. I would probably just end up with lots of dogs, and maybe a horse!

    I think your point about joining a club with like-minded people is a good one. I met Mark through an adventure club called Spice UK. We were engaged after 37 days and celebrate our silver wedding this year!

    Spice worked far better than a dating agency – lots of couples hooked up because they learned to fire eat and jumped out of planes together, or just enjoyed the socials. And most importantly, there was no pressure. You simply went along and joined in with things you enjoyed doing. Then, relationships just developed.

    As a single woman in London, it was brilliant to be able to go along to something on my own and know that I could participate without having to find a friend to bring along.

    I met some of my best friends through Spice. There’s a whole group of us these days. We call ourselves Old Spice!

    If I were a man, I would learn to dance. All the dancing clubs are short of blokes!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Jackie. Thanks so much for sharing some of your own experiences with us. You’ve proved what I said about getting out and joining a club doing something we enjoy. And organically, friendships and possibly, relationships will develop from there. It works! Also, remember how popular dating agencies were before the internet came around? At least they interviewed personally and really tried find a good match for people. At least one knew what they were getting, lol. ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Love this, and I often think exactly the same as Debby (being almost exactly the same age!). I’ve been married 3 times and had 3 other long-term partners; I met them (respectively!) through friends, at a party, at a bar I worked in, through someone I worked for, through work… and, finally, via MySpace (the 21st Century caught up with me in the end!!!)

    Like everything else, nowadays, maybe the internet generation expect to be able to order love online, like a pizza??! You don’t even have to leave the house!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  6. My eldest son and his wife met at a University (Emory), my younger son and his girlfriend of eigth years met at a University (UNM), my daughter is still single. My wife and I met before internet had become a familiar thing (even though it existed as ARPA net). Online dating sounds dangerous to me. My wife and I are taking French classes and in one of the classes we were watching a video about women in France and Belgium who had been scammed. It was men who pretended to have a romantic interest but took money from them. One widow in Belgium had lost her only child, a daughter in a terrorist attack, and because she was so emotionally vulnerable and lonely she was scammed twice out of more than $200,000.00. Clubs and hobbies sounds better to me.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Hi Thomas. Thanks for sharing some of your familiar relationshipshere. And sadly, widows are prime targets in the online dating world. It boggles my mind how so many women are so vulnerable and would give money to a virtual stranger for the sake of love. Astounding how many get caught in this web. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • Yes, it is very sad. This woman said that she felt embarrassed that she was dumb enough to give strangers money, twice, and didn’t seek help, then she learned that it is very common. After losing her daughter to a terrorist attack in Brussels she was very vulnerable and these men sought her out because of that.

        Liked by 2 people

  7. This is a wonderful post, Debby. My husband Tony and I have been married for 44 years. We met when we were both working at the same place. I didn’t even have a computer or cell phone back then. Having real face to face interaction is very important. That’s the thing I miss the most since moving to Mexico. My friend and I used to have lunch every Friday at our favorite Italian restaurant. I can’t go to activities at church with the women’s group or attending poetry readings with the ‘artsy’ people as my husband used to say in a good way.

    You’re right about that human connection is so valuable. I know about online dating through my younger sister. She’s divorced 15 years. All of the guys she met were different than their online personas. One man put his photo where he looked 30-35 years old. When he met for their date, he was much different. He was 65 and not healthy. She thought he was looking for someone to take care of him. Another one was strange and had a drinking problem. She has more stories! Online dating can be dangerous also. If someone lies on the dating site, you can’t trust them.

    My cousin died from Covid 3 years ago. His wife is a sweet woman. She posts daily in our family facebook group. She says that people have been pushing her to date again. Friends have been insisting that she should meet men online, but all this makes her upset. She still misses her husband. Debra got a dog and visits her grandchildren more. I know she keeps in touch with coworkers. She might want to date later on but it wouldn’t be online. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Kay. Thanks so much for sharing some of your sister’s dating disasters. As for your cousin’s wife, I surely hope she doesn’t feel pressured by friends. I lost my husband during Covid – not because of Covid, three years ago and have zero desire to date anyone. And I think I’d feel upset if any one of my friends thought they should determine when I should be dating. I hope she doesn’t succumb to pressure. And hopefully, not online. And Facebook is full of lurkers chasing after widows. Not the place to get sucked into to creepy trawlers. ❤

      Liked by 2 people

      • And so are widows. Facebook is infested with predators! I can’t tell you how many losers try and message me, or try to hit on me and others in the widow groups! It’s sad for many who become victims. I’ve read so many sad stories. 😦 x

        Liked by 2 people

  8. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – New Series – Life Lessons 101 – Dating Now and Then by D.G. Kaye | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – DGKayewriter.com

  9. Pingback: Smorgasbord Funnies 2024 -Hosts Sally Cronin and Debby Gies – Doormats and Grizzly Bears | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  10. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round Up – April 9th – May 5th 2024 – Hits 1970s, Iconic Duets, Life Lessons #Dating, #Cusine The Bahamas, Short Story, #Salt and #Health, Reviews, Star Bloggers | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  11. This is a great post from Debby. We’re about the same age, so I can relate to the way meeting people and dating has changed over the years. So much of how we relate to each other is body language, and that happens face to face. I love the idea of joining clubs or taking classes as ways to meet people (in general) with similar interests. I might finally learn to cook! Excellent advice for making friends, and if the stars align, finding love. Thanks for hosting, Sally.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Although my best friend met her husband on an online dating site I think that is rare. There are too many people (men) out there trying to take advantage of lonely women. It is too easy for a person to lie about their identity and achievements. They hardly know you and suddenly they are in love with you and want your phone number. Beware!

    Online dating platforms are an ideal site for scammers. I would love to meet a male companion. Honesty. Integrity and friendship cannot be revealed online.

    Thanks, Debby, for this insightful post.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Life is very different for youngsters now and many seem to end up on their own. More than half my young colleagues between the ages of 26 and 35 are on their own. They don’t seem to go out much. I recommended to one he join a church. He did and now he has a girl friend.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. I completely agree with you, Debby, that online dating would be terrifying. My husband has been gone fifteen years and I’ve had only a handful of what could be called ‘dates.’ Finding groups of like-minded people is the very best way to meet others and form relationships, whether that be male or female. I know I will never marry again. No one could ever live up to my husband’s image and that’s that. I do enjoy being with people who love music and spiritual things. I think humans need interaction with others. It’s part of our makeup. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Thank you, Sally, for providing the platform.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. My daughter tried speed dating a couple of times, one chap she didn’t recognise when they met again, turned out he had died his red hair black! Another one lied about his age, he was nineteen and said he was older!

    We did have a very mature friend in our writing group who went straight to on line dating after her partner died and every time we had a social outing she brought a different man along. Senior citizens on line dating is pretty hilarious; at a BBQ I heard /eavesdropped on two chaps talking, one said to the other ‘turns out she just wanted someone to take her to Waitrose ( upmarket supermarket ).’

    My daughter met her husband dancing and they still have the same set of dancing friends. My younger son met his wife when they both worked on fireworks events. 

    ps I have no intention of seeking out any kind of dating, most of my divorced and widowed friends are happily single. The only kind of dancing I do is Zumba Gold and Health Circuits to music.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. I’ve sadly never been on a date. I’ve always struggled with asking the question, the few times I did failed, and most of my crushes, I later found out, were spoken for.

    I tried eHarmony a few years ago, and at one point I thought I had something going. But time between her messages grew longer and longer. Even after she expressed interest in meeting in person, it wasn’t followed through. The only other interactions I got from others were one-liners that I didn’t respond to. Needless to say, I left eHarmony without any success.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Thanks for this very interesting posting, Debby! Most of your thoughts are also swirling through my brain, since years. Online dating was and is for me also very far away from reality. Here, in the deepest rurality with now less than three taverns – also opened only on weekends – social life is restricted to the weekend, since most of the residents still work are in factory halls. The younger ones working in offices – here approx. ten from hundred – can meet during business time. All the others must use the weekend. I am a hermit, with a lot of machines around. But not determined by the machines. Lol Best wishes, Michael

    Liked by 2 people

  18. I agree that meeting a person face to face and from a given background is far better than on-line.

    but these days things have certainly changed.

    I know a few of my daughters friends who have met partners on-line and the relationships have certainly worked. (In these cases, I know the partners were shy quiet people, they made connections through shared interests – luckily they were safe) I’m sure if this is the way to meet someone the rule would be to meet in a very public place in full sight. The dating game is definitly more tricky these days and I certainly wouldn’t want to tread that path again.

    working from home, the pandemic, work-life-balance have all changed the way the world turns.

    Both my children were a long time finding partners. My son’s wife was a chance meeting on holiday (it worked), while my daughters a collegue from work (the pandemic and working from home ruined that – yet it seemed so right). Nope not for me! I’m lucky my husband puts up with me and my cranky ways and he survived cancer.

    Definitly a thoughtful post Debbie.

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Great post, Debby. I agree about online dating. That’s no way to be able to get to know a person. Yes, we do need to get out, I’m not good about that anymore, but I know it is a necessity to be around others.

    Liked by 2 people

  20. Great advice, Debby. I didn’t date much when I was younger and I can’t imagine trying now, but when I came back to Barcelona after so many years away, volunteering helped me meet a lot of people and discover new places and activities locally. Thanks fir another great post.

    Liked by 2 people

  21. You make excellent points here, Debby! Like you and WIlliam, I agree that emailing and texting don’t give that vital tone and body language that says so much about a person. I also loved your line about being ‘appendaged to their phones’! As you say, going out to places where you can get to know like-minded people is an excellent way of making friends – or more. We have something here called ‘the university of the third age – u3a’. It’s for retired people and, apart from general meetings, there’s a wide variety of walking groups for all abilities and an amazing range of hobbies to choose from. As you say, you need to be pro-active about meeting enough people to find some that will be on your wavelength. xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  22. Internet dating must be fraught with dangers in these modern times. Back in the day I dated boys from work or those I met in person at discos. Nowadays I think anybody dating via the internet needs to be super careful regarding meeting somebody for the first time.

    Liked by 2 people

  23. For me, a person’s tone of voice, the look in their eyes, and body language are essential in figuring out whether the chemistry is there or not.  After 44 years of marriage I can vouch that it worked well for me. I would be surprised if pictures and texts would have done the same thing. Great post, Debby. Hugs

    Reblogged on Improvisation – “The Art of Living”   

    https://williampriceking.tumblr.com/

    Liked by 3 people

  24. I’ve been married to my wife for 37 years and we’re still very happy together. I’m glad that I don’t have to navigate the world of dating these days. I know many people meet potential people to date at dating sites or other places online, but meeting someone in person gives us a much better idea of the person they are. Not only do some people create fake profiles, but they act differently online.

    I think the best way to still meet people is through common interests (clubs, social groups, volunteer work, etc.) rather than meeting someone in a bar or nightclub.

    Liked by 2 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback (by commenting, you agree to Wordpress collecting your name, email address and URL) Thanks Sally

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.