Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Life Lessons 101 – Boundaries by D.G. Kaye

Welcome back to my Life Lessons 101 series. Today I want to talk about the importance of creating boundaries where necessary. No matter the type of relationship we may share with another, whether family, friends, or colleagues, it’s important to create boundaries where/when necessary to protect against the ones who may not have our best interests at heart, or perhaps, those around us who constantly suck the life out of us. Boundaries are necessary for good mental health and self-preservation.

Being around negativity can become quite a contagious thing. And as much as we’re all subjected to it at some times in our lives, we must learn how to be assertive and create those boundaries when necessary to avoid getting caught up in a tailspin of other people’s dramatics, gossip, or plain, sucking out of our energies. I speak with great experience on the subject.

Dodging the Clouds

Negativity is like a huge umbrella that has the power to swoop us in unwittingly. As I’ve written about in other articles, energy is a real thing and plays a big part in the vibes we give off to others.  We all give off our vibes and energies into the atmosphere, and if we’re in close proximity to someone negative, we can feel the draining vibe it leaves with us. These vibes can come off from a complete stranger as well as from the people we know. Negativity comes in all varieties. Negativity could even come from a constant naysayer in our circles, or from an acquaintance, friend, or family. There are several terms for these types of people who leave us feeling ill at ease when around them. But the bottom line is that they suck our energies and make us feel quite uncomfortable when around them.

We can avoid these people easily if they are not in our usual circles. We can just remove ourselves from their presence. But other times, like when it comes to family, or even some friends, or maybe a colleague, it can be difficult to navigate around these people and their frequent storms. If these people are constantly bringing us down with their moods, demands, or temperaments, it may be time to re-evaluate the relationship we have with them and decide how much we’re willing to put up with from these people and set some boundaries.

If someone is always angry, accusing, conniving, inconsiderate, or downright rude, we must take a look at our own self and evaluate whether or not we are going to continue to tolerate the mental abuse, and make a change. Either way, it isn’t easy, but often when it becomes a decision about keeping our own sanity, cords must be severed for self-preservation. I have much experience with this procedure of creating boundaries in my own life. And in all situations, they sadly, involved family.

Knowing Limitations and Creating Boundaries

When my own family became too much for me to endure, I was faced with making such decisions. For much of my life, my mother was the antagonist in my life. But because she was ‘a mother’, I always respected her, took her rantings daily, and I never raised my voice to her. It took all the discipline in the world not to tell her what I really thought, but I didn’t want to hurt her. It didn’t matter that she hurt me so very much through life, I am not a tit for tat person. But through the years – and decades, the proverbial last straw finally hit the camel’s back one day where fifty years of taking her garbage came to a head. The last dagger had finally hit me, and courage was summoned. I’d taken enough abuse. When I received her last harmful barrage of word bullets, the separation was immediate and forever. And there was no going back because there was nowhere to go to but back on the hamster wheel.

Yes. It took me fifty years until I summoned the courage to stand up to her toxic words; but I did it. Setting boundaries is a difficult thing to do, especially if you’re an empath like me who always feels sorry for people. But if we don’t rise up to the occasion, it’s our lives that will constantly feel unsettled around that person until there is resolution, and most often it will come to a defining moment on its own, like the last call I had with my mother. She pushed a button that reached the last ounce of tolerance I had, and fifty year’s worth of hurt spilled out of me. And then I said goodbye and softly hung up the phone.

After losing my husband, I learned all about creating a new set of boundaries. Not only did I lose my other half, the love of my life, my soulmate, it seemed so called ‘family’ didn’t give a care about me, without any concern – or even a phone call of condolence yet to be received by two of my siblings. I am still shocked over this fact.  I suppose the one text they each sent me the day I buried my husband, “Sorry to hear about George” was supposed to mean something. What do I do with that?

Well, I’m not a fighter, but a lover. And because I take pride in my behaviors, I made no fuss over the fact that the siblings I helped look after growing up, had no empathy or concern for me. Strangers treated me better. So I packed my raw hurt within and severed the cords. I had and have no words for them, so I swallowed the hurt and disrespect and made the decision then to cut them out of my life permanently. I didn’t need to call or email/text them to have a battle, to inform them how ignorant they were. They know who they are. They have to live with themselves. There’s nothing to discuss or fight about. They showed me how much I meant to them, and I’m no beggar. I simply removed myself without debate. There was no going back after that kind of hurt and disrespect as a human being, let alone a sister. And I didn’t wait fifty years to do so. I have no remorse although the hurt still smarts.

When family members become toxic to us, we are under no obligation to retain them in our circles – family or not. Mine left me no choice. Surely when a sibling loses the love of their life and they are left like lepers to deal with death, loss, and the aftermath all alone, there is nothing left to say.

~ ~ ~

I shared some of my family ugliness here to demonstrate that sometimes, despite our best attempts, we can reach a crossroads with someone that is beyond mending, especially if their behaviors have been rinse and repeat for most of our lives. I’ve had the same relationship all my life with my mother – not just some good days and some bad days, but sadly, barely any special days I can remember. She was always a thorn in my side. As for my sister and one brother, it was always a one step forward and two back with them. They showed their true colors to me, and I got the message. Time to move forward and not be feeling bad or sorry for my decisions. That’s what boundaries are, invisible fences often necessary to retain sanity.

I’ll end here by adding that no matter the relationship – friend, family, colleague, stranger, nobody should have to endure being treated badly, by ANYONE. If we have friend or family taking advantage of us, our time, our feelings, causing us to feel angry, sad, or inadequate, it’s time to both – re-evaluate our relationship with that person, and most of all, time to re-evaluate our relationship with ourselves. We need to take the time to realize when incidence keeps repeating, being ignored,  or belittled, when we have tolerated enough, discussed our feelings with that person – to no avail, and there is no change or acceptance of fault, self-respect must kick in when we are blatantly shown a relationship that goes round in circles, indicating it’s time to set those boundaries. And sure, it took me fifty years to finally cut the cord with my mother, but after I did, despite the guilt I felt for shutting her out of my life, it was as though a huge weight had lifted from my soul, free from the daily knots in my stomach that would churn every time she’d call. For me, my boundaries with my mother were a gift to my sanity and my health.

I’ll leave you with some wiser words from Maya Angelou:

“When Someone Shows You Who They Are, Believe Them The First Time”

I find those to be the truest words. Because words are only words until we see the action. Watching people in action is a good way to get to know them.

Know your boundaries. 😊

©DGKaye2024

About D.G. Kaye

D.G. Kaye is a nonfiction memoir writer who writes about life, matters of the heart and women’s issues. Her intent is to inspire others by sharing stories about events she encountered, and the lessons that came along with them. She loves to laugh and self-medicate with a daily dose of humor. When she’s not writing intimate memoirs, you’ll find her writing with humor in some of her other works and blog posts.

Kaye’s childhood kept her observant about her surroundings. Growing up in a tumultuous family life kept her on guard about the on-and-off-going status of her parents’ relationship. She began writing notes, and journaled about the dysfunction she grew up in. By age seven she was certain she was going to grow up to become a reporter. But life has a funny way of taking detours. Instead, she moved away from home at eighteen with a few meager belongings and a curiosity for life, finished university and changed careers a few times along the way, always striving to work her way up to managerial positions. Her drive to succeed at anything she put her mind to led to having a very colorful and eventful life.

Ever the optimist, D.G. conquered quite a few battles in life; health and otherwise, and her refusal to accept the word ‘No’, or to use the words ‘I can’t’, keeps her on a positive path in life. She hopes to inspire others with her love of telling stories with lessons to empower others, by sharing her own experiences.

In 2021, she lost the love of her life. “When the grief overcame me, I found my only way to move forward was through my writing (that book currently in the works) and communing with others who understand this journey. Through this and my own search for seeking comfort, I began podcasting – Grief, The Real Talk. This is a podcast for those of us who’ve worn the shoes, and for all those who wish to understand the journey of a griever.

Books by D.G. Kaye

One of the reviews for Conflicted Hearts

Conflicted Hearts is a compilation of personal essays from D.G. Kaye’s emotional experiences of growing up with her unloving and narcissistic mother. The author struggles with her obligation as a daughter, but also her responsibility to care for herself regarding her own healthy well-being. In each chapter as she opens yet another window giving us a glimpse into her extremely trying times, the emotions become palpable. Because I am a mother of two adult children whom I love to the moon and back, I often felt tears forming and my heart being tugged at in different directions. How a mother can abandon her own children is something I find difficult to understand. The author writes with emotion, vulnerability, and humor. She is not afraid to admit mistakes, but she will also gladly glow in triumph – moments when I felt like clapping, thrilled with the outcome and thrilled for her!

Unfortunately, she lost her childhood because of her mother’s constant absence in the household. Her mother would rather be out partying, seeking the attention of men by using her luminescent beauty, and by doting on her passion for gambling. With the author being the oldest of her siblings, she naturally slid into the role of “mother” which in turn, shaped her decision of possibly not wanting to have children in the future. Her parent’s relationship ran extremely hot and cold, but mostly hot when her mother kicked her father out repeatedly. She adored her father, so each time he left, fear crept into her very soul that she’d never see him again.

The author writes with honesty and when she finds herself acknowledging enlightening realizations, she revels in her own personal growth. I read Conflicted Hearts not only as a memoir, but also as a compelling self-help book. And a difficult decision lies in waiting with each turn of the page exemplifying the author’s incredible courage and strength. I am sure her struggles are felt by others so that her personal growth benefits those who live each day in similar circumstances.

This is the first book of D.G. Kaye’s that I’ve read and because her writing is natural, conversational, and engaging, I am excited to read more from her. This book definitely falls into the “can’t put down” category. If you enjoy reading memoirs and self-help books, I highly recommend Conflicted Hearts. You’ll find yourself on an emotional and inspirational wild ride that will both touch and tug at your heart. An excellent read! 

Read all the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US – and: Amazon UK – follow Debby: Goodreads – Blog: D.G. Kaye WriterTwitter: @pokercubster Linkedin: D.G. Kaye – Facebook: D.G. Kaye – Podcast: YouTube –   All Links: Linktree

 

 

My thanks to Debby for another honest and forthright post in her series and it would be great if you could share  thanks Sal 

117 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Life Lessons 101 – Boundaries by D.G. Kaye

  1. Right on, Debby!

    I cut ties with most of my family, too. Some I cut out at 17 (teenage runaway), some as life went along.

    Baggage is baggage, whether travelling through life, or trotting the globe.

    Yes, you are right, family are not the only culprits. I found being weighted down could be by; my other half’s business associates, fake friends, a neighbour, my work cohorts and staff.

    Of all the hideous pitfall you mention, “angry, accusing, conniving, inconsiderate, or downright rude”, I find conniving the worst. It holds within 100% dishonesty.

    I’ve had to get rid of angry people, accusing and inconsiderate. Yes, all are exhausting. Yet they are those ways out of honest insecurities, ignorance and paranoia.

    Conniving holds within all of those traits & the extra added bonus of liar/fraud/evil intentions.

    Well, thank you for this fab post, Debby and Sally.

    It’s always a gas over here!

    ❦🌹🌟

    Liked by 2 people

  2. How sad that your siblings weren’t supportive during your darkest hours, Debby! 😦 Don’t blame you for cutting ties, also with your mother. I had a similar toxic environment growing up, but lucky for me, my parents moved 4000 miles away, which made things somewhat easier for a while.

    Wonderful review of your book, ‘Conflicted Hearts’! I read it a couple of years ago and found much of it relatable.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I admire your courage to break free from the negative, Debby. Not everyone can do that. One has to care about their own well-being. When the negative nellies kick in, time to bid they good bye. Life is way too short to be surrounded by anything other than kindness and love. Appreciate you sharing your personal experience with us.

    Thank you, Sally, for such a positive and upbeat post!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Bren. Thanks so much for hopping over to finish reading here. Believe me, putting up boundaries is a difficult thing to do, especially if you’re like me always feeling bad for them. But I am strong. I practically raised myself and have always been very independent, even while married, my beautiful husband never pulled the leash on me – he knew better, lol. It comes down to self-respect and that was something I spent the first few decades of my life learning, working on myself. My motto is Take No Shit. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Powerful post, Debby. Been there and had to walk away too. Some I deal with for the sake of others. Never a truer quote and I was thinking about it reading the post and there it was. Hugs xo

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Funnies 2024 -Hosts Sally Cronin and Debby Gies – Something to get your weekend off to a good start – Crocodiles and Absentees | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  6. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Life Lessons 101 – Boundaries by D.G. Kaye | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – DGKayewriter.com

  7. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Weekly Round Up – 27th May – June 2nd 2024 – Hits of 1974, Iconic Duets, Setting Boundaries, Cuisine of China, Short Stories, Weightloss, Book Reviews and Bloggers | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  8. For empaths like me, boundaries are difficult. But through the years, I’ve learned to distance myself from those who take more than they give. My dad often made the point, “you are only as good as your word.” He lived by that principle. I assumed, wrongly, that everyone else did as well. It was a harsh awakening to experience manipulation, competitiveness, lies, etc. I never knew that existed – growing up on an isolated farm in Southern California. Thank you, Debby, for sharing as you have. Though I don’t have your family experience, I can relate deeply to your pain and concerns. 💙

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Gwen. Thanks for your kind words, and for sharing some of your own pain. For empaths it’s that much harder, this is why it took me 50 years to finally cut the cord. It was affecting my well-being. I couldn’t do it, but the universe brought me the divine timing. It took me a lot of years of self-help to learn to distance myself when my radar picks up an energy-sucking vampire because for empaths it’s that much harder to say no. But like I said, self-preservation. And after losing my husband and the horrible aftermath with grief and losing family, I gained a lot of strength in deciding that it’s just me, myself and I now and I will no longer do things or be places I don’t like to be, and have stopped appeasing people. It’s a lot of mental work, but the payoff is big! Courage my friend. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I am very lucky to have supportive sons and daughter, though they are by no means the sort of family who ring every day to make sure I’m okay since I was widowed. My daughter says this is because we brought them up to be independent! Also so glad I have a sister who certainly needs my support with family schisms on the other side of the world and comes on holiday to see me. In my wider family an in law keeps her distance from her birth family, to avoid being sucked in to the negativity . She stays in contact with her mother, but without revealing her address. Sadly the biggest trauma in our wider family was someone estranged from her parents. Despite so much help from other family members and many good friends with her mental health problems, she still took her own life this year.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Thank you for this post, Sally. My husband and his brother have both given up on their sister. She thinks she knows everything, and will even tell ‘experts’ how to do their job. She told her mother’s doctor he’d prescribed the wrong medicine for her. She told some friends of friends that they were treating their handicapped son wrongly and was telling them what they should do. She has no children, and has not known any handicapped ones, either.

    Your post has helped to make me feel less bad about it.

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Thank you, Debby. I can imagine how hard it must be to tell such hurtful and personal events, but you do a great deal of good to a lot of people. Thanks for the advice and for this series. And thanks to Sally for hosting it. ♥

    Liked by 2 people

  12. So sorry you felt that you had to turn your back on your siblings, but if by doing this you’re happier, then so be it. My cousin endured constant abuse from his mother and brother for years until he left home, but forgave them and recently had his brother staying with him in the UAE for 3 weeks (his mother has since died). Nowadays I don’t speak to his brother, who seems quite a lonely soul, but hey, that’s not my problem. x

    Liked by 3 people

  13. Learning to set healthy boundaries is my biggest lesson in life this go round. It’s been a lifetime of learning and growing and I’m still not done. 🙂 This post really hits home and you are right in that none of us should have to suffer abuse whether physical or emotional. Walking away is not easy. But sometimes there is no other choice. Rick always told me this: “If someone really cares about you, they want to add to your life, not take away.” I never forget that. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I know that you suffered greatly under a mother who was a narcissist, but I’m sorry you had to experience so recently that total lack of empathy or consideration from two of your siblings. It must have cut you to the quick. You’re so right about not letting negative people drain you of energy and pleasure. Family is tricky, but you’ve shown the way there. With work colleagues, it’s sometimes necessary to keep polite but distanced, mentally forming a barrier that you can put up to protect yourself. xx

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Thanks for another great and very advising post, Debby! It seems we had made the same experiences. I had (to) cut all boundaries with people from the past. I really experienced them all as not trustworthy. Of course, this could also be due to the fact that these depend on the Catholic Church. 😉 Best wishes, Michael

    Liked by 2 people

  16. A wonderful reminder that though it’s sometimes hard to set boundaries, it’s good for us, whether we are on the giving or receiving end. Boundaries create clarity and a way forward (or not). Excellent advice from Debby as always. Thanks for hosting her, Sally.

    Liked by 3 people

  17. Thank you for sharing your heartbreaking but encouraging story, Debby. I understand so well. I had a family member who took advantage of me financially by making me feel guilty about his situation that I had nothing to do with. It took 30 years for me to finally let go, realizing nothing I could do would ever change him or his life choices. Sometimes we learn the hard way, through hurt and disappointment.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Thank you Debby for this heartfelt post. You are courageous, and a model for so many who have or have had this experience with those who are “supposed” to offer love and support. It does’t matter if it took 50 years or 50 minutes to truly understand and make the break; you did it, and that is to be applauded and celebrated. 💕❤️💕

    Liked by 2 people

  19. I can really identify with this unfortunately, and it took me years to set boundaries where they were long overdue and needed. after that, I felt free like never before. thank you for your honesty and straightforward discussion about what needs to be done, to help ourselves, and create our own lives

    Liked by 3 people

I would be delighted to receive your feedback (by commenting, you agree to Wordpress collecting your name, email address and URL) Thanks Sally

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.