Smorgasbord Short Stories – Authors in the Sun – #Hawaii #Family The Dolphin by D.L. Finn

When I worked on radio in the south of Spain I presented and recorded four series of Authors in the Sun showcasing local writers and their short stories. I ran a series here on the blog in 2017 which was much enjoyed and showed off the skills of some amazing writers.

I would love to share your short stories here too this summer and details of how you can participate is at the end of the post.

Today a lovely and heartwarming story of family and love from D.L. Finn… set in the warm waters of Hawaii

Image by Claudia Beer from Pixabay

The Dolphin

The cool winter sun reflected off the blue water, making it difficult to see. I blinked hard to clear my vision as I dove back into the ocean. Why were my children and grandchildren huddled together on the white, sandy beach? Didn’t they want to swim with me?

My oldest grandson, Peter, walked to the water’s edge. He tossed a lei of pink plumeria flowers into the waves. Those flowers reminded me of the wonderful day when Bob and I renewed our vows for our 50th Wedding Anniversary on a beautiful Hawaiian beach.

I jumped high into the air and called out. “Where did you get the flowers, Peter?”

An enormous wave crashed against the rocks, drowning out my words.

Peter stood with his arms folded over a black shirt and a dolphin tie that I’d bought him when he graduated from college last year. The incoming waves soaked the bottom of his black pants.

I shook my head and tried again. “The water’s great! Join me!”

Louder breaking waves masked my words, leaving only a whistle.

Right then, a small pod of dolphins approached and swam urgently around me.

“What’s wrong? Are you protecting me?” I scanned the area but didn’t see any sharks or other dangers.

A dolphin was studying me. A familiar chill ran through me as the dolphin gently brushed against my legs. I dove underwater to get a better look.

Was it? No. I smiled. It was just a silly dream to believe my beloved husband would come back as my favorite mammal.

Although the dolphin held my stare, it was just curiosity. I shook my head and kicked to the surface, only to find my family leaving.

“Hey! Where are you going?” But only a high pitch noise came from my lips that the waves didn’t hide this time. I’d lost my voice.

Peter was the only one left standing on the edge of the ocean. He met my gaze, smiled, and pointed to his tie. Then wiped the tears off his face and put on black framed sunglasses.

What he did next tugged heavily on my heart. My sweet grandson blew me a kiss just like he had as a small boy when it was time to leave grandma and grandpa’s house.

“Peter!” I yelled, yet nothing but that strange sound came out again.

He paused for a moment and offered a wave before picking up black shoes. Peter soon disappeared with everyone else I loved.

The lei was floating in a patch of grey powder that reminded me of when we scattered Bob’s ashes into the ocean last year. I swam to the flowers and found a plastic card attached.

Mother and Grandmother, You will be missed and forever loved.

I couldn’t catch my breath when it all came crashing back to me with the force of a spring-loaded trap, and I remembered. I was in an uncomfortable hospital bed, suffering through too many tests, and never had a moment’s peace with the forever beeping machines.

In my drugged haze, my doctor’s sad tone brought me the answer I needed. “There’s nothing else we can do, except make her comfortable.”

The cancer had won its battle, and it was time for me to let go. There was that moment when I hovered over my withered body, grateful to be free of the pain. Then there was a bright light, and I ended up here.

I smiled. It had happened. I turned in a circle and saw a dolphin’s tail, not legs.

The same dolphin who had been staring at me whistled and clicked—this time, I understood.

“Darci! I’ve been waiting for you!”

“Bob! I can’t believe it. I’ve missed you so much.”

“I’ve missed you, too, sweetheart.”

We’d found each other again. Words couldn’t come fast enough as we caught up. Then we swam comfortably in our blessing long after Bob’s pod had moved on.

It was just the two of us, and we happily explored the new world. We avoided humans, killer whales, and sharks, or maybe it was us they avoided. We were never sure, but time passed in the same blur as our human lives had.

One day when we were peacefully investigating the purple, pink, red, green, and blue colors that mingled in the coral reefs off the Big Island in Hawaii, a lone dolphin swam up. The eyes were so familiar I immediately knew it was Peter.

Our joy at that moment could only be expressed in high spinning jumps. After the celebration, we quickly caught up and learned our grandson was a famous author, had three boys, and happy marriage.

“You kept your promise, Grandma. You said when you left me, you’d come back as a dolphin. I knew that was you when we scattered your ashes.”

“Yes, it was me. Grandpa was there waiting for me.”

Peter blew out some bubbles. “They scattered my ashes in Hawaii, where Lacy and I got married forty years ago. It was cancer like you, grandma.” He turned away. “I’ll be right back. I’m going to say goodbye.”

As the years passed, our pod continued to grow as our family slowly joined us, including ones we’d never met in life, like Peter’s amazing wife and children. To this day, our family still explores the ocean. We offer gratitude with our high leaps that we’ve been given such a special gift. Maybe you’ve seen us and felt our joy?
©D.L. Finn 2021

I am sure that had your reaching for the tissues as it did me and thank you to Denise for this wonderful story.

D.L. Finn is an independent California local who encourages everyone to embrace their inner child. She was born and raised in the foggy Bay Area, but in 1990 relocated with her husband, kids, dogs, and cats to the Sierra foothills in Nevada City, CA. She immersed herself in reading all types of books, but especially loved romance, horror, and fantasy. She always treasured creating her own reality on paper. Finally, being surrounded by towering pines, oaks, and cedars, her creativity was nurtured until it bloomed. Her creations vary from children’s books, young adult fantasy, and adult paranormal romance to an autobiography with poetry. She continues on her adventures with an open invitation for her readers to join her

A selection of books by D.L. Finn for adults and children

One of the recent reviews for Tree Fairies

Gwendolyn Plano 5.0 out of 5 stars A heartwarming read  Reviewed in the United States on August 13, 2021

D.L. Finn has a wonderful way of creating magical worlds that both enchant and educate. Tree Fairies and Their Short Stories is written for youngsters, but it quickly found a home in my heart as well. To sidestep reality for several hours was refreshing. I enjoyed seeing from a fairy’s perspective and I loved wandering around the trees and experiencing their life as well. Through fantasy, Finn conveys truths we all need to embrace – the need to protect our forests, to care for the wildlife, and the need to respect and honor the exquisite beauty of nature. Who knows, maybe there are fairies.  

Read the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US – And: Amazon UK – Follow D.L. Finn: Goodreads – Connect to D.L. Finn – Website: D.L. Finn Author – Facebook: D.L. Finn Author – Twitter: @dlfinnauthor

If you have a fiction short story to share with us then here is what I will need. Please send to sally.cronin@moyhill.com

  • A word document with your edited story. A new story or one you have written and published on your blog.
  • 1000 to 1500 words.. but if it is slightly shorter or longer that is no problem. It can be any genre except for erotica as I have younger readers.
  • If you are an author or blogger who has featured here before I don’t need anything else.
  • If you are new to the blog then I will need an Amazon page link, blog or website links,three main social media links and a profile photograph.

I look forward to hearing from you and sharing your writing here… thanks Sally.

 

64 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Short Stories – Authors in the Sun – #Hawaii #Family The Dolphin by D.L. Finn

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round Up – September 5th -11th 2021 – Crow Tales, Contributions, Chart Hits, Book Reviews, Podcast, Short Stories, Health and Humour | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  2. A very touching story, Denise. I know many have different thoughts about whether an after-life exists or not. If so, this would be quite a wonderful way to spend it.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Beautiful, Denise. I so love dolphins and you’ve made them real to me. 💗 Thank you for featuring Denise today, Sally. Hugs 🤗

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Such a poignant story! I love the thought of family rejoining in the afterlife. Denise’s uncanny connection to Dolphins makes complete sense in the unfolding of this beautiful story. Thank you for sharing, Sally and Denise!

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.