Smorgasbord Bookshelf 2022- Share an Extract from your latest book – #YA #Fantasy – Golden Healer (The Curse of Time Book 2) by M. J. Mallon

In this series you are invited to share an extract of 500 words from your most recent book published within the last 12 months. Details at the end of the post.

The aim of the series

  1. To showcase your latest book and sell some more copies.
  2. Gain more reviews for the book.
  3. Promote a selection of your other books that are available.

Delighted to share an extract from the latest release by M.J. Mallon – Golden Healer (The Curse of Time Book 2)

About the book

I didn’t think my life could get any weirder, until the dreaded rollercoaster…

Amelina Scott’s destiny is to be a Krystallos: a magician of light, chosen to learn the ways of crystal magic on her 16th birthday. Located on a river pathway in a mysterious part of Cambridge, the Crystal Cottage is guarded by mythical beings.

Unfortunately, there are those who seek to harm this haven of light. Learning of Ryder – a Shadow Sorcerer with hypnotic powers – Amelina discovers that her own magic is now threatened, and that the Curse of Time might be unleashed again.

As secrets abound and the creatures of the Chronophage come alive, can Amelina become the true magician she needs to be?

A unique, imaginative mystery full of magic-wielding and dark elements, Bloodstone is a riveting adventure for anyone interested in fantasy, mythology or the world of the paranormal. NOTE: this book contains mention of self-harm, mental health issues and alludes to the potential dangers of sexual attraction, which may trigger younger/sensitive readers.

An extract from Golden Healer

Time’s merry-go-round,
The rollercoaster breaks earth,
Such pained suffering,
Can Amelina survive?
Life’s eerie, blissful playground.

The grasshopper opened his belly to take out a rusty key encrusted with debris and dirt. He lifted a square carpet of grass before turning the key in the earth’s lock.

“Watch out, hell’s coming!” he yelled.

Amelina dropped her easel and rushed towards me.

The blast was immediate and deafening. A sudden explosion of air lifted us up high and I hit the ground hard, Amelina landing some distance away from me. Shocked and confused, I stumbled to my feet, checking that Amelina was with me before running for safety.

The sickening ride appeared out of the ground with a deafening thunder, as it ripped through the hardened earth, sending clods of turf, dirt and stones rolling in a storm that obscured the emerging expanse of metal, cage, cars, and wood.

As the rollercoaster came to its full height, the sound of wood splintering and cracking filled the air, metal jarred and groaned, the sound revealed the melancholy hidden aspect of the meadow.

The grasshopper flew towards the nearest ride door. He approached the seat, which was intact, black faded leather, ripped in places, covered in mud, dried blood and vines.

“It is ready for you, Mark,” he announced.

The terrible sight of the rollercoaster made me feel sick and my knees trembled. It roused Amelina’s spirit and she reached for my arm, trying to stop me, but her body slipped through me like a ghost aura. No words escaped her spirit lips. Her eyes were watery wells of terror.

During the blast, I realised I had dropped the Stone of the Mind. The churned-up ground was a mess and there was no way for me to find it. And even if I did, what could I hope to do?

As I stepped towards the ride, I staggered, my heart tightened, fear gripping, carving its way into my lungs, making my breath shallow. I trembled.

I couldn’t do this again.

But I must.

I had to, for my daughter.

Closing my eyes, my brow furrowed as I prayed for a buried strength that I thought I’d lost. I drew in fractured breaths from the depths of my soul to steady my nerves.

Amelina pleaded and pleaded with the grasshopper to stop this madness. She wept crystalline tears of sadness, but he didn’t, or couldn’t, care. She became more and more distressed, her spirit form flickering in and out of vision with escalating spasms of increasing anxiety.

She screamed: “Spirit, where are you? Help us!”

A strange wind began to howl as an apparition appeared. It twirled, taking on an ethereal form sparkling with ever-growing light that lit up the meadow.

I forced my limbs to crawl towards the ride, fearful what would happen if I did not. The wind kept on pushing me back. At last, staggering forward, the ride threw me in, clamping me to the hard, unforgiving seat as the wind howled in gusts of protest.

© M J Mallon – Excerpt from Golden Healer, The Curse of Time Book 2.

One of the recent reviews for the book

Feb 18, 2022 Adele Marie Marie rated it five stars

It was exciting and wonderful to find myself back in the world of Marjorie Mallon’s characters. A beautiful and magical place to visit but it also contains a dark and menacing edge. When visiting be careful as it will draw you in and captivate you.

In Bloodstone Curse of Time Book One, Amelia, the main character learned about her magical birthright which served her well as she rescued her father and saved her family.

At the beginning of Golden Healer her family life is as perfect as it ever has been, but, and it’s a big but, the crystal, Bloodstone is missing. The one she swore to protect above all others.

As things unravel they are all caught in a spiralling web of danger.

I felt for the characters, I wanted them to succeed, to be happy.

Marjorie Mallon’s characterisation is so intense I was drawn in and found myself caring not only about those on the side of light but also those who do not let their light through. In this world, people are a mixture of light and dark and this shows in the world of The Golden Healer.

At times I was nearly screaming as I read what was happening to them then breathed a sigh of relief as they were clever and escaped.

Ryder the main antagonist is darker than before, slimier than before but there are surprises in store for him and you dear reader.

I was lucky to receive an arc copy of Marjorie’s novel The Golden Healer. In both novels in the series so far, she deals with the subject of self-harm. I started to self-harm when I was eleven and it is an ongoing struggle. Marjorie highlights self-harm in a sympathetic and knowledgeable manner and you can also find the links above to various organisations which can help.

I loved this novel, I can not believe I finished reading it and the ending left me gasping.

Five out of five stars for this wonderful read and do please check out the links to other works that Marjorie has been featured in. She is a rising star in the writing world. Read for yourselves, I promise you will not regret immersing yourself in the world of The Bloodstone. 

Head over to buy the book: Amazon UKAnd: Amazon US – Other outlets: Books2Read – 

Other books by M. J. Mallon

Read the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US – And: Amazon UK Website:M.J. Mallon – Goodreads: Goodreads – Twitter: @Marjorie_Mallon

Bloodstone is now available in audio: Amazon US – And: Amazon UK

About M.J. Mallon

My alter ego is MJ – Mary Jane from Spiderman. I love superheros!

M J Mallon was born in Lion city Singapore, a passionate Scorpio with the Chinese Zodiac sign of a lucky rabbit. She spent her early childhood in Hong Kong. During her teen years, she returned to her father’s childhood home, Edinburgh where she spent many happy years, entertained and enthralled by her parents’ vivid stories of living and working abroad. Perhaps it was during these formative years that her love of storytelling began bolstered by these vivid raconteurs. She counts herself lucky to have travelled to many far-flung destinations and this early early wanderlust has fuelled her present desire to emigrate abroad. Until that wondrous moment, it’s rumoured that she lives in the UK, in the Venice of Cambridge with her six-foot hunk of a rock god husband. Her two enchanting daughters have flown the nest but often return with a cheery smile.

Her motto is to always do what you love, stay true to your heart’s desires, and inspire others to do so too, even it if appears that the odds are stacked against you like black hearted shadows.

Favourite genres to write: Fantasy/magical realism because life should be sprinkled with a liberal dash of extraordinarily imaginative magic!

Thanks for dropping in today and I hope you will be leaving with some books.. thanks Sally.

What will be in the post and how to get in touch

      • I will top and tail in the usual way with your other books and links, bio, photo and social media.
      • I will also select a review from Amazon or Goodreads that I feel has the best selling pitch for the book.
      • If your book is very recent and as yet has not received a review then I will share one from a previous book.
      • This series is open to all authors both those on the Bookshelf or new to the blog
      • I suggest an extract of approximately 500 words or a poem that you feel best reflects the theme of your collection.
      • If you have an illustration or images you can attach to the email for me to include. No need to send the cover as I will have that or will access from Amazon.
      • If you have not featured on the blog before then I will need Amazon link, Goodreads, blog or website plus your social media links (main three you use)
      • Please send your extract and any accompanying images to sally.cronin@moyhill.com

55 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Bookshelf 2022- Share an Extract from your latest book – #YA #Fantasy – Golden Healer (The Curse of Time Book 2) by M. J. Mallon

  1. Pingback: Golden Healer plus Media Kit: The Curse of Time Series #YA #Paranormal #Fantasy #NextChapterPub – M J Mallon YA Author and Poet

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round Up – March 28th – April 3rd 2022 – Oscars, Chart Hits 1991, Cruising, B12, Book reviews, Podcast, Humour | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  3. Hard to resist that double enticement of the wonderful review and vivid extract. I need to read the the first book now!

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.