Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Guest Post – I Wish I Knew Then What I Know Now! by Rebecca Budd

I am sure like me, there have been times when you have wondered what difference might have been made to your life, if your younger self had been gifted with the experience and knowledge you have accumulated over the years.

I invited several friends from the writing community to share their thoughts on this subject which I am sure you will enjoy as much as I did.

Today in wonderful style, Rebecca Budd… a huge supporter of the creative community across her several artistic and promotional blogs, shares her thoughts on the prompt. And one of the key elements, is to live in the present and make every moment count.

Rebecca is on a ferry on her way to celebrate the retirement of her younger brother, and it is a perfect time for reflection on her own life and journey.

I Wish I Knew Then What I Know Now! by Rebecca Budd

 

 

My thanks to Rebecca for creating this wonderful video that shares her thoughts on her own youth and aspirations, but also reminds us that whatever time of life we might be in to make the most of the present and what is to come. I know she would love to hear from you.

 

About Rebecca Budd

I’m your host, Rebecca Budd.

I am a Blogger, Photographer, Traveler. Above all, I’m a life-long learner.

Tea, Toast & Trivia is about exploring the creative spirit within a dynamic, ever-changing global world. The pursuit of creativity is essential. It speaks to the soul of our culture and society. It allows us to celebrate our individuality and our togetherness. We live in a world that offers unimaginable possibilities.

My goal is to encourage a deep and profound awareness of our personal journeys. There is always a story to be read, an adventure to be imagined, and an idea to be understood. Our conversations and connections give meaning to the present while expressing the universal hopes and aspirations of humanity.

Sharing a cup of tea signals a pause, a breathing space.

Toast signifies bread – the staple food that has been with us since ancient days.

And trivia – those seemingly insignificant details that we soon forget – they are important. They influence our actions and define our lives. Isn’t it time to give relevance to what we overlook in our busy, even frantic schedules?

So put the kettle on and join me for Tea, Toast and Trivia.

I’m looking forward to sharing in our ongoing conversation.

Connect to Rebecca via her blogs includingTea Toast and TriviaClanmotherLady BuddChasing Art  – Facebook: Rebecca G. BuddTwitter: @ChasingArt

 

Thank you for dropping in today and it would be wonderful if you could share the post.. thanks Sally.

123 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Guest Post – I Wish I Knew Then What I Know Now! by Rebecca Budd

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – I Wish I Knew Then What I Know Now! – Guest Round Up – Part Two – D.G. Kaye, Sandra Cox, Roberta Eaton Cheadle, Stevie Turner, Dorothy Grover-Read, Terry Tyler, Alex Craigie, Jacqui Murray, D.L. Finn, Re

  2. Rebecca puts together such a beautiful video, only matched by her inspiring positivity. What a treasure she is to our writing and arts community. I also share her belief that life is a story and most of us are free to write our own. It’s not a story to waste. Lovely guest and share, Sally. Thanks to you both for the beautiful post to end my day. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Pingback: I Wish I Knew Then What I Know Now! – Lady Budd

  4. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round Up – 16th – 22nd May 2022 – Hits 1995, Aretha Franklin, Stories, Podcast, Poetry, Guests, Reviews, Health and Humour | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  5. Beautiful video, Rebecca! I’m glad the weather held for your trip to the island, it’s been a windy, wild spring so far 🙂
    Your message is inspiring. I especially like your analogy with life being a story and all of our encounters, facets of that story- beautiful.
    Hope you enjoy your brother’s retirement party, congrats to him!

    Liked by 3 people

  6. I love the idea of telling your 18 year old self to look at life as a story. I think I would have told my 18 year old self to enjoy the ‘ride’ more just as you were enjoying that lovely ferry ride as you were telling your story.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. So great to see and listen to Rebecca tell her story. And so uplifting to hear her speak of her happy life from 18 and still today. And a lovely mention of you too Sal. ❤ xx

    Liked by 3 people

  8. What a positive way to look back, keeping the darker parts away! Thanks for an inspirational message Rebecca, much appreciated and yes, Sally builds a community wherever she goes! She is a light that brightens our blogosphere. 😊🤗

    Liked by 3 people

    • Oh, those darker parts are what built my hope and resilience, Balroop. They are now embedded within my soul, joyfully accepted for the strength that they give as I continue on my timeline. Sadness and grieving are part of the human experience. Robert Frost, who endured many losses in his life, says it better than I could: “In three words I can sum up everything I learned about life: it goes on.” Many thanks for your insightful comments.

      Liked by 4 people

  9. Thank you Sally, for your support, encouragement, and care of the indie community. I am honoured that you would include me in “Then and Now” series, alongside such wonderful writers and storytellers. You create compassionate communities wherever you go – you embrace a global world. Thank you for your support of TTT – I am looking forward to our next conversation over tea. Sending much love and many hugs along with my gratitude for all you do.

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Wow! I just loved this. It made me somewhat homesick as I watched the scenery go by. I have taken that very same ferry many many times and never grow tired of it. Thanks so much, Rebecca for your words of wisdom and hope. My favourite part of the video was “And it turned out even better than I imagined.” which resonated with me because it certainly did. Thank you Sally for featuring Rebecca. The fact that my two favourite bloggers are connected, makes me so happy. You both rock!

    Liked by 3 people

    • I was thinking of you, Darlene, because I knew that you have travelled this way many times. I was also thinking about Marcelle because I want to make that voyage to Mudge Island one day too. Many thanks for your heartwarming comments, for sharing your ability to tell stories, to bring joy to children 8 – 91. My mother, Frances, is looking forward to Amanda in France which I have pre-ordered on March 21, 2022. I love the quote by Colette, “What a wonderful life I’ve had! I only wish I’d realized it sooner.” What I love best about moving on in my timeline, is that I have so much to look back on and can see more clearly, how wonderful my life turned out.

      Liked by 3 people

      • We will. Frances has every one of the Amanda books in paperback and I have in Kindle. I splurged and bought a Kindle. What I found out was that all I need to do press a button on the screen and the book is immediately purchased. It is so exciting and I am practicing my “button pressing” skill sets.

        Liked by 3 people

  11. I loved this! Rebecca has such a calming and uplifting effect and she took your prompt and delivered it whilst in ‘transition’ on a ferrry, in one beautiful and considered response. The allegory of our lives as chapters in a book worked perfectly and I took down the same words as Pete – ‘Live boldly and with great joy’. Another unique take on this series, Sally, and one that was supremely positive and embraced an acceptance of the ‘now’. xxx

    Liked by 3 people

  12. I really enjoyed Rebecca’s wonderful idea answering your question by creating an very touching video, with a great positive impact. Thanks for this to Rebecca, and to you for this very interesting series, Sally! Have a nice day! xx Michael.

    Liked by 5 people

  13. What a joy to see Rebecca and to hear her reflect on her life’s journey. Living in the present and sharing that moment with the ones we love is a strong message and great advice. Beautiful video. Hugs
    Reblogged on Improvisation – “The Art of Living”
    https://williampriceking.tumblr.com/

    Liked by 6 people

  14. Yes it is best to live in the moment, but so hard to do if life has not always been as great as you thought it would be at the age of 18. I love reading all these stories, Sally. x

    Liked by 5 people

    • Many thanks for your insightful comment, Stevie. Life presents many challenges as well as opportunities, grieving as well as gladness. At 18, I envisioned a much different life than the one that I lived. When I look back, I realize that every disappointment, every regret, every decision, every hurt has led me to where I am now and to what’s next. I love the quote by Douglas Adams: “I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be…”

      Liked by 4 people

  15. Living in the moment, boldly and with great joy should be our mantra. Thanks for the words of wisdom, Rebecca.

    Liked by 5 people

  16. HI Sally, it is always wonderful to listen to Rebecca’s podcasts. She is such a positive person and experiences so much joy and happiness in life it rubs off on all of us. Thank you for sharing her video and for this terrific series.

    Liked by 6 people

  17. What a treat to watch Rebecca’s video! I smiled all the way through it and just felt GOOD for hearing such an eloquent reflection on the past, the future, and the here and now. Thank you, Rebecca!

    Liked by 8 people

Comments are closed.